What is the employment criteria for some companies?

I’ve been summoned for tech support in various companies, jobs simple unashindwa hawa wasee wa IT alipata hizi job aje? These people earn maybe thrice as much as I do but they use guess work while troubleshooting machines. My cuzo, receptionist a certain company, pushed a repair job my side that the IT guy couldn’t handle. Kureinstall tu drivers za graphics. She told me he clocks 80k/mth. The no. of doors I’ve walked into to clean up after someone is overwhelming. Good money though.
I wonder what some companies look for while hiring individuals because I doubt their credibility.

[ATTACH=full]326669[/ATTACH]

Without these companies hiring incompetent people, where would you get your side hustles?

Our IT guys can’t even install a mouse. Good for you

IT is wide and it’s like saying our health guys can’t administer drugs or cure typhoid or our health guys can’t take care of a patient well.

People (including managers of small companies) have stereotypes and think that any guy learning about computers may just know how to troubleshoot any computer problem. There are people learning about embedded systems, distributed systems, software development etc and in each field you have no interest/time to venture into another.

Now about in that field you’re talking about, people need certifications on troubleshooting, windows or ubuntu os etc

And sometimes (again due to ignorance) you find a guy who is doing everything because the managers can’t understand the differences in the field.

So you find the guy is probably a web developer and is being asked to fix other computer issues

Instead ufurahie unanukisha kitunguu we uko hapa una complain. enyewe mkenya ni mtu mjinga sana.

Kama ingekuwa mimi I would be dancing to the bank because of fixing incompetent people’s work.

To some of these managers IT is a simple thing.

Correct, at some point he will understand as he advances in the career. That field like any other is wide. IMO, the IT guy he is talking about akianza kufix machines he may not meet his KPIs. Those are things to call a technician to fix and leave.

Learning computer skills like the networking - LAN, WiFi, OS, should be basic just like knowing how to type in things in a calculator.
I have seen kids here in Europe as young as 12, assembling computer parts from scratch to creating their own OS.

Which country…?

So,you make kitu 27k as an IT support? Ingia TZ ama rwanda

Kama ni head of IT department, he may not know how to code, but if he cannot even install device drivers in MS Windows (Unix/Linux can be tricky), then he has no business being head of IT.

Germany and Denmark.

True. In IT, unapata mtu anakuletea simu ati ime haribikia. Question is “Who told you mimi ni fundi wa simu?”

Kuna msee fulani who was tasked with fixing printers pia coz ni mutu ya IT

Can you troubleshoot OS system for a large organisation with over 200 computers connected to the www?

Wira inaanza saa ngapi na stage nashukia wapi?

I first have to consult the wakubwa but there is a job in the offing. Ikitokea I will consult bro