What is this?

http://staging.kenyatalk.com/index.php?forums/all-threads.20/

Everything looks the same as the village but its just news items from nation. Tried logging in but couldn’t.

:eek::eek:
Mystery village!
It’s not just news. Click ‘home’ and you will see the other topics and threads. Statistics ni za this village.

It’s just another sign that we’re in a simulated matrix world, where fellow villagers aren’t really real humans, but sims intended to keep us entertained.

Blame it on Bingwa Kamenchu.

What is going on???

Scumbag profile in KenyaTalkStaging.
http://staging.kenyatalk.com/data/avatars/m/3/3811.jpg?1459989768
[SIZE=5] It’s Le Scumbag[/SIZE]
Money:
KSh 0

Scumbag profile in old KenyaTalk

[SIZE=5]It’s Le Scumbag[/SIZE]

Sielewi…

it’s a testing plartform where sisi admin hucheza na features before tuamue what to implement

:DI landed there about a week ago and just sped out of the place.:smiley:

What a stupid way of testing!!

ni kama your ways are less stupid

[ATTACH=full]101013[/ATTACH]

kwani mnataka tuanze kununua token za kubrowse kijiji

Mnaphishiwa na hamjui

Usuianze kucatch Sato jioni mkubwa.

Instead, think of how you can ‘test’ features in a hidden environment so that you avoid alarming your guests who find their handles and activities in a place other than the Ktalk they signed up for. Also, why not inform them beforehand that you want to test things using Ktalk data, and it will be online and searchable in Google?

which place other than Ktalk are you talking about?

I am yet to see you ever admit fault, but let me try.

This: http://staging.kenyatalk.com/

is NOT this: https://www.kenyatalk.com

You have only ‘explained’ after people found themselves on a site they do not recognize. It’s like opening a bank account in Ruiru and then when you go back, they tell you that the account has been transferred to Kisumu.

Furthermore, now I notice that [B]http[/B]://staging.kenyatalk.com/ is PUBLIC, but it does not use a secure protocol.

[SIZE=6]HTTP vs. HTTPS: What’s the Difference and Why Should You Care?[/SIZE]

Hii ndio shida ya kupayuka yet hakuna chenye unajua

https://Google.com
https://Mail.google.com
https://Plus.google.com
https://Maps.google.com
https://Docs.google.com
https://Drive.google.com

you signup in one but can log into all of them using the credentials you signed up with in one.

now go google about Domain name system, Domain, Subdomain. read about what they mean and how they work.

So, what are you trying to say with all these Google links? They bear no similarity to what you ‘explained’, and they are all encrypted (safe). In contrast, your ‘test’ environment is http, meaning that any hapless Ktalker who thinks they are on the original site can try to input information and get it intercepted.

Besides, Google has a TOS that tells anybody willing to read what the extent of their usage of user-supplied information is. They do not explain only after being caught abusing that information.

I am not planning to go and Google anything at your behest. We are discussing something you did without informing your users, creating the questions raised in this thread.

Punguza hasira na kufurafura kila saa.

@Deorro sasa hii ndo kushika nare vipoa. Unatandika mtu na fact plus reason. Si kujamjam kama…ama wacha tu. Sitaki ujamjam.

@It’s Le Scumbag,

So, from your understanding of facts, what exactly is the purpose of the other Ktalk site with strange references to money?

Scumbag profile in KenyaTalkStaging.
http://staging.kenyatalk.com/data/avatars/m/3/3811.jpg?1459989768
It’s Le Scumbag
Money:
KSh 0

Scumbag profile in old KenyaTalk

@Deorro is defending his actions very passionately but has in the meantime removed the contents of the weird site. He’d rather do that than admit that it was not wise to use real members’ information to experiment. :D:D:D

Guys calm down, staging.kenyatalk.com and kenyatalk.com are basically the same domain and not different places.

@Nattydread and @It’s Le Scumbag , if you want to confirm that they are both the same place, you can tracert or ping them and you will notice that they both resolve to the same IP.

On the issue o making users aware of the staging sub domain, it’s been discussed here multiple times since it was first discovered by a talker (I think it was gio) a long time ago.

On the issue of testing with real data, it’s industry standard practice to simulate as close a real environment as is to what will be on production.

you are one dumb person, did you input your credentials there and had them work?

Hebu onyesha a Gmail, Yahoo!or Microsoft site that uses actual user information to test, makes that information available on-line on an unsecured connection, and available to search engines.

Usually, standard practice is to use ‘John Doe’ accounts, and test sites DO NOT go live:

[SIZE=6]How to duplicate a live site to use as a test site[/SIZE]

As I said earlier, I landed on those pages several days ago and simply ignored them because they could have been cloned by some copycat out there. I avoided trying to log in or post there because the details were obviously off. It is only @Deorro’s strange explanation that made me interested today.

Enough on this. The offending site is now empty.