Whats your take on kenyan football as per now?

if you have been following up, maybe you’ve noticed sony sugar a team playing at the top most league has given out 3 walk-overs this season meaning they are automatically relegated from the league.
Today wazito fc parted ways with their head coach just after 3 matches since he was appointed.what is not happening?[ATTACH=full]271734[/ATTACH]

Sportpesa aftershocks

Kenya football was hijacked by politicians and that’s how it was lost.
I recall the kadenge days, Henry mutegwa, matches used to get jam packed, iat nyayo stadium, it was similar to what you see on the premier league matches.
Sadly that generation of Kenyans, aged and we the offspring have no time or love for local sports.

Club officials are just lazy like Kenyan politicians (and voters),they just can’t think

Few years we offered to market KPL during it’s formative years

We presented a proposal to the jack oguda led team

They were in wrangles with Nyamweya

Supersport was giving them about 100M a year
Sporpesa,KDN and another French company was giving them cash

Barclays wanted to sponsor KPL,they were sponsoring…sijui Ni Zimbabwe au Zambia PL

Jack oguda aliangalia proposal yetu akacheka

Akatwambia vile almost every corporate wants to sponsor KPL,mpaka analenga wengine

Hata saf gave them conditions wakaambia bob collymore akwende!!

AZAM wanted to screen some matches
A Spanish TV station,the one that has rights to most la liga matches wanted to sponsor KPL

Just look at it three years down the line

Nick Mwendwa came in na supersport wakajitoa
Sportpesa wakafinywa makei

Sahii hakuna pesa

Kenyans don’t support their local teams yet blame Nick Mwendwa, Amina or PS Kaberia to support the teams. We can’t even Marshall 5,000 fans for Mashemeji derby yet gate fee ni rwabe. The same Kenyan will demolish 5 tuskers in 90 minutes watching Arsenal play Burnley. If we fill Kasarani, corporate sponsors will be scrambling to sponsor the local teams.

Kuna siku waliweka mashemeji derby same day Arsenal were playing Man utd. Stadium ilikuwa almost empty. They have never repeated that blunder again.

True, am very sure most talkers here have never been to a stadium for a football match…and don’t mention violence since it only applies to a handful of matches. I used to be kama nyinyi but siku hizi am doing something…I became a lifetime member of a club and I even went one better by applying to join an fkf committee though sikupata. Sportspesa imeenda na pesa yote…don’t forget we went to afcon after a very long absence.
@Bigfish1, yes I also used to attend those matches. I loved Kenya breweries a lot…when they had the likes of shollei and motego…but remember we didn’t have much to do back then…we had no phones, no internet, probably no colour tv and we had no premier league and champions league…the only soccer we followed was football made in Germany. What am saying is that we have lately been distracted, I included…the only live matches I attend are the ones in ruaraka and maybe ulinzi at afraha…we have simply left soccer to people with zero passion for the game .

I can relate

The last time I attended a football match here in Nairobi was in 2017
The mashemeji derby

But nikiwa ocha,I never miss kakamega homeboyz games

Maybe as u said,we have been distracted

Na western stima pia…but the best action is usually in the fkf super league…very entertaining…from hapo kwetu kuna vihiga United na vihiga bullets

1. Government is not supporting football: Money to build stadiums is being eaten by Ministry officials. Without proper stadiums , fans will not attend. Teams lose money. Kasarani is good but too far for many fans. Gava needs to build city stadium and Nyayo and make them suitable. Going to a stadium should be an event people look forward to

2. Gava needs to support youth development. Without it, the country cannot play high calibre football which can attract fans

3. Officials are very corrupt and incompetent. Everybody just wants to eat

[B][U]Read this article [/U][/B]

I think the only way for soccer to regerminate is to create super stars in all the teams, people love associating with superstars. Take for example women volleyball when they had Wanja. Get guys with sex appeal to the ladies, create a buzz around soccer, with superstars sponsors will rush in to pay top dollar.

You don’t watch Barcelona because they pass the ball well, you want to watch Messi,

The ball is in FKF court, asking for money every time yet no cooperate can see the benefit of putting money in soccer.

Shit!!! can’t you see what’s happening to the economy, commercial companies zinafunga virago, if you expect kenyan football fans, to buy tickets and fill the stadiums you are mistaken, personally I believe for sports to fully thrive in a country, the economy must be stable, otherwise wacha wakale watu represent Kwa marathon polepole… also I think Nick mwendwa has more progressive ideas than the archaic Sam nyamweya

The thing about nywameya,sijui Ni uchawi au nini

But nyamweya akiwa,somehow sponsorship huwa,though yeye hukula almost pesa yote

Akitoka,corporates hujitoa

Sijui ni kwa nini

Which sponsorship is this?

And exactly how do you create superstars?

SuperSport wins battle for Harambee Stars broadcast rights – Nairobi News

That was in 2015
Kumbuka startimes and azam wanted to sponsor harambee stars

Fight for Harambee Stars’ match TV rights gets murkier

Star times was giving harambee stars 450M in TV rights

Though supersport bulldozed them

Sahii je?

How was motego, Kadenge, Abbas and Mulamba created? I hope you know their motivation was not Money.

I dont think you know what you are talking about. Sponsorship had nothing to do with the creation of these players. During the 1970s and 1980s, stars learned how to play with jwala balls mitaani. Thats where they honed their skills. Some like Abbas were then recruited to play football in secondary schools that took football seriously. Abbas went to Khamis secondary which was a football power back then. Thats where they honed their skills.

Motego was not much of a player. He had poor ball skills. But he was very adept at using his sheer strength and powerful shot. He was very effective. He is an example of missed potential. If he had learned proper ball skills as a youngstar he would have become a true legend.

Mulamba was lucky to have been spotted by German coach Bernard Zgoll who then invited him to the no defunct Olympic youth centres. Thats where Mulamba sharpened his skills under a qualified coach while he was still a teenager.

The case of Mulamba is exactly the point I am making. To develop good players you need structured youth development. Johana Omollo is the best player in Kenya today because he was at MYSA by age 12 and then went to train in Belgium when he was 17. Same with Ayub Timbe.
Olunga also benefited from being part of Jacob Mulee’s Liberty Youth program.

The point I am making is that you can’t just create superstars. It requires long term development starting as early as age 10

And yes Money should be the key motivator. There is nothing that motivates players to work hard on sharpening their skills like money.

You are citing sponsorship that never materialized to praise Nyamweya ?

The other day, a Kenyan footballer suffered an injury while on national duty, but had to solicit funds from fellow teammates for treatment.

That should tell you a lot already.