Whatsapp exposed as an Israeli spyware platform

The popular instant messaging system WhatsApp—owned by Facebook—has been revealed as an Israeli spyware platform using malicious code from the Jews-only state’s infamous NSO Group, according to a report in the Financial Times.
According to the FT, the security breach in WhatsApp—which is used by 1.5 billion people worldwide—was discovered in May this year. Hackers install surveillance software on iPhones and Android phones by ringing up targets using the app’s phone call function.

“The malicious code, developed by the secretive Israeli company NSO Group, could be transmitted even if users did not answer their phones, and the calls often disappeared from call logs,” the FT reported.

NSO’s flagship product is Pegasus, a program that can turn on a phone’s microphone and camera, trawl through emails and messages and collect location data. NSO advertises its products to Middle Eastern and western intelligence agencies, and says Pegasus is intended for governments to fight terrorism and crime.

The WhatsApp vulnerability is a buffer overflow weakness, enabling malicious code to be inserted into data packets sent during the process of starting a voice call. When the data is received, WhatsApp’s internal buffer is forced to overflow, overwriting other parts of the app’s memory, and control is given over to the application.

http://newobserveronline.com/whatsapp-exposed-as-israeli-spyware-platform/

Hii ndio maana not everyone should blog, especially those who missed their English lessons

Security is a myth.

Say and repeat.

Are the houseflies also secret drones. Oh my.

[SIZE=1]I know they are laughing at my stupidity back at hq[/SIZE]

Whatsapp, viber, almost anything you use can or has been compromised. so chill…

alafu tilambu anaogopa washaina kumbe meffi chosen people are the worst:D:D:D:D:D

all these socio sites and free tools we use are data harvesters. They know our locations, sleeping patterns, what we love to watch…they can even tell you what you dreamt last night. Deep state!