When is Tesla hitting the Kenyan Market?

I can’t wait to buy a model X or whatever will be the best at the time they get here. Since it is clean energy hopefully all taxes and customs duties will be waived, so price probably around 8m new or 5m refurbished, good times ahead…

Wenye mko mayuu tuambieni timelines zinakaa aje tuanze kutafuta pesa

Not happening anytime soon you are better of buying a different model …

Why not? They supply you with the High power wall connector charging unit, all you need is a 120V connection and an electrician.
And you can import Right Hand Drives from the UK, China, Japan and pay taxes for it.

Is there anything like clean energy ?

It was popular in norway before but not now. To many problems that cant be fixed

Hii itaekewa restrictions zingine za ajaabu na serikali, to discourage its importation. This clueless govt always makes money by increasing fuel and alcohol prices to cater for deficits.

Fuel tax being one of the biggest govt revenues, hii sidhani utaiona Kenya in the next 10 years.

Google is your friend. Zero emissions. Sustainable energy is the future. Fossil fuel is finite unlike renewable energy.
Dubai saw this and conformed, they’ve modelled their economy as an international business hub and tourism.
Saudi Arabia watalilia chooni 10-20 years from now. Tesla is launching a million mile battery in September. Watch this space.

Demakufu has answered you… goverment takes 43bob from every litre that and oil cartels lobbying the government will have them retailing at some ridiculous amount.

That tesla is fast as fuck. Blisteringly quick. The age of subarus, sijui tuners is over.

Goodbye Japan and Germany. Goodbye Subaru, Evo, Supra and Nissan GTR. Tesla ni mambo mbaya.

There’s also that electric sports car called a Rimac the one that almost killed the Top Gear guy, hio gari sio mchezo.

In one night a Croatian kid with a computer killed the petrol powered Bugatti that took years and an army of engineers and billions of dollars to develop. Digital disruption and electricity.

Kenyan electronics engineers, Mechanical engineers, Mechatronics and electrical engineers the time is now. The gate is wide open.

Anyone can make an electric car. The Ugandans are already onto it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YO5vbojiPLc

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xgcZhmxgBJc

Actually I heard there are less taxes on electrical vehicles

Expound on that last part please.

Its the first and last time you are speaking sense

the government should promote local car manufacturing (not assembling) , zero taxes and lots of subsidies ,

Yawa ! ! ! You need to ask around how to use Google in a productive and efficient way.
Electric car is the final product, but before that, getting the raw materials that build that car , equally degrades the economy .
Then afterwards, when the massive batteries are done, how are 3rd world countries gonna handle their disposal ?
Africa should ban the importation of 2nd hand electric cars.

Kahuni you do realise that petrol cars also use batteries. Kwanza highly corrosive batteries.

Your phone, remote, watch, clock, torch, laptop… kwani huwa unatupa battery wapi zikiisha? Do you even remember?

The question here is, how are we disposing these batteries, in 3rd world countries, before we start thinking about electric cars ?
Then, after X amount of years, when these batteries in Tesla cars start wearing out, do they start risking the health of car occupants ?

The future is here boss it can’t be stopped. :smiley:

Of course you will expect reports financed by Opec and other powerful Petroleum corporations saying how EV batteries are harzadous, dangerous products. :smiley:

It is expected. If this was the 1920s Elon Musk would probably be dead or in jail accused of being a communist. Oil cartels hawatakagi upus , they killed the electric trams that operated from the late 1800s to 1930s. Oil cartels are worse than drug cartels. Much worse.

There was talk of building a hydrogen powered car… BP killed that one. Today the HPV is slowly being revived.

Others proposed water, others solar… hizo zote zilibaki ndoto.

I don’t understand your last question, do you mean if the battery runs out and leaves you stranded on the road???!

I’ll stick to your first question and ask are tesla (EV) batteries more harmful than chloride batteries?

Remember that Electric Vehicles (EV) use Lithium ion batteries like those found in smartphones.

And rechargeable Li-ion phone batteries can last for over ten years if it’s a good genuine phone.

Infact rechargeable phone batteries do outlive the phone so I imagine that electric car batteries will continue to work for much longer than current lead acid car batteries.

Car manufacturers guarantee 100,000 miles or 8 years on Electric Vehicle (EV) batteries.

Meanwhile hii taka taka inaitwa chloride exide hata haimalizi 2 years. Where do all those car batteries end up? I once had 4 just lying around, dead as a dodo.

I think that will sort itself when that time comes, just as has been mentioned above, the same way the laptop or current car batteries are disposed is most likely the same way the disposal of the full electric cars will be disposed

Najua kule unaenda. Electric vehicles use a motor that is controlled by a computerized controller therefore that is considered digital disruption.

Modern cars are more or less computers on wheels. And anyone can make them. A Croatian kid in a garage somewhere has invented the fastest hypercar in history : the Rimac concept car.

The Rimac has defeated them all.