When Shall We Transition To Be A Manufacturing Economy? Mpaka Peremende Tunaagiza Kutoka China?

Hii imeniuma sana. Eti mpaka sweets tunaleta kutoka China. Hatujui kama zimetengenzwa na Radioactive waste water kutoka kwa powerplant zao. Haki nini mbaya ni sisi negroes?

[ATTACH=full]367092[/ATTACH]

We manufacture sweets kama @patco, tropical, Eclairs etc and many other things even vehicles. But WTO regulations say there should be free trade among countries. So as you are happy to “manufacture” or process tea and sell to the Chinese, you must also accept their products.

Achana nazo ununue kSL na patco. Nobody forced you

Until the day we do away with Capitalism, we shall remain slave to the so called Free market.

Tunaelewa hiyo yote about bakance of trade, lakini it is heavily skewed in favor of the Ching chongs. Hata Samaki tunaimport tilapia from China that is laden with preservatives eti ili kuwe na trade balance.

Patco

Why can’t we import CNC Machines kwa wingi badala ya peremende?
[ATTACH=full]367096[/ATTACH]

Uganda, TZ, SS, Congo are also complaining that their shops are full of kenyan manufactured products, that trade is skewed against them. That you only want to sell to them but dont want to buy anything in return eg you have banned eggs and chicken from UG which they have in abundance and want to sell to you.

We have imported millions of boda bodas, egg incubators, water pumps, solar equipment, milking machines etc that have transformed our rural economies. So imports are not restricted to sweets and fish.

Who is we?
And how many have you imported yourself?

We should instead build the CNC machine itself. 70% of the parts can be fabricated locally and the critical parts sourced from Germany or Japan.
A DUV lithography machine costs like $150M and GOK can buy a few for shared use…but hizi bonobo zina expect we leapfrog from agrarian to service industry without passing through the industrialization phase.

This is the whole aspect of trade.
Someone identified a market for these sweets, invested money to buy the product in china, spent money on shipping to Kenya as well as the logistics for distribution until you saw the sweets being sold.

There is absolutely nothing preventing Kenyans from doing the same. The thing is the cost of production of the sweets is very very low in china as compared to Kenya that it makes business sense to import from there.
What a clever govt should do is to lower cost of production so that Kenya matches that of china. Secondly make sure that there is demand for the sweets locally by empowering the potential consumers. This will give the factory owners a good incentive to produce high quality products for the customers.

I believe this is already happening at the Numerical machining Complex. These are the guys repairing those old and broken down locomotives and getting them back to service.

Hahahaha…ati bodabodas has impacted our rural economies. Kwa wizi labda.

Yes. They have greatly eased transport in rural areas and also farmers are able to move their produce to markets.

https://oneacrefund.org/media/images/0AF_1314_A02ehqa.original.jpg

Reverse engineer…that’s what any one does…then improve…ask North Korea…Pakistan…China walisoma wakajua…hata hizi covid…unasoma vaccine unajua kuunda…shida tuna D- ya Almhesrt called Konyagi till 22…kijana hata ametry kuchange KE
constitution…woiiii…tunakamia mali wizi ya na utapeli lol…wakiwa na Ojinga…kuiba haitamake…Wanjiku amewasoma

They have. They are affordable and offer fast and convenient transport.

I can’t believe I’m agreeing with JohnPombe

Bangi na pombe bado hazijatoka kwa kichwa?

Why don’t you start by importing the first one? Better still, why don’t you start manufacturing them instead of importing?

It should all start with cottage industries. Then move up. Even if we buy all the machines in the world unless it’s is modeled in such a way that itagusa the village folk who are more than the town guys it will all be in vain. If you ask a farmer what the milk he buys is used for 99% will tell you ni ya kuweka kwa pakiti. You’d have to remind them about yoghurt and other products. If you go to say Kiambu and tell a farmer that anaweza tengeneza cheese with his milk and make more atafikiria umerukwa na kichwa!! I am not saying that the bottoms up method that might be employed by Lootall is it because I don’t know the intricacies and it kinda sounds gay. But unless we start village to town it’ll be in vain. If you make something in Nairobi, you need to make sure that the lad in the village has purchasing power otherwise you will be making for export only and where will you be exporting to if your market target is the person/country that sold you the equipment in the first place. There is a shortage of quality cheese in Kenya right now. A while back I tried making it in our farm 300 acres with cows and goats and sheep with some horticulture area and an extra leased 300 acres! I went in to the nearest towns looking for cheese cloth, and I couldn’t get in Nanyuki, Narumoro, Nyeri, Nyahururu, and all the towns near them. In fact in most agrovets they would ask what in devil’s name that was! I got some and started making it.
If you look at when there is a bumper harvest of tomatoes, farmers start throwing them by the roadside, because no one told them that they can be processed cheaply at home for sale immediately or later on when the season is over. The list goes on and on and on.
Processing and industrialization should start in the villages up or should go concurrently.
If you want machines to make finished timber products then you need to start by having farmers planting quality trees, otherwise in times like now with the government trying to protect the little forest cover we have you will have the machines with no raw materials.