Where do you draw the line?

Jana Mkenya001 posted a thread about his alcohol addiction. My question is simple. Since many talkers take alcohol, where do you draw the line between an alcoholic and a responsible drinker? Is there such a thing like a responsible drinker or is it just a figment of our imagination promoted by breweries? All alcoholics start out as “responsible” drinkers anyway. Can we then say that all drinkers present are in varying stages towards alcoholism? Is alcoholism inevitable if you drink “responsibly” for long enough due to tolerance? Do you know of anyone who has been drinking “responsibly” for over 15 years without graduating to alcoholism?

sijui wako wapy probably Kwa bar lakini watafika tu

The line to anything ni wakati it starts interfering with your normal life. If alcohol makes you use all your money huna hadi savings you have crossed the line. If you drink every time you have a problem, the line is crossed. The line changes depending on the individual

There’s no specific line, will vary from one person to another, if u just drink for the sake of it even when there’s nothing to celebrate, you know imeanza kukuzoea, not the other way round, if u cant help destroy ur liver on the smell of some liqor, u know u fkd up

yes, me. for about 25 years i drank very regularly but when i said i had had enough i just upped from my bar stool.
some people are more predisposed to alcoholism due to genetic factors.

I don’t have a drinking problem, I have some problems so I drink.

2-3 drinks a week you are a responsible drinker. More than that you are in early stages of addiction, depending on social and genetic clock triggers.

I’ve been drinking for more than 15yrs. To me drinking should be a form of kurudishia mwili shukrani. If you choose to climb mountains, bet, buy clothes… its your choice… for me i’d rather join my friends at my kalocal for a few pints than drive round mt Kenya in the name of having fun ati touring. To me hiyo ni kuwaste mafuta. And sometimes i brew my own shit. So mambo ya brewers kuconfuse drinkers cannot apply to me.

I have been drinking once or twice a week for the last 17 years. But it’s nothing to be proud of.

Definition ya a drink ni nini? I drink maybe once in two or three weeks, but at times I over do it, kukunywa till ile point ya memory loss

A drink = 1 beer.

hakunanga kitu kama drinking responsibly,at least from what i know out of experience,drinking moderately is like walking too close to the edge of a road that has no fence and that borders a deep valley. Just by staying close to that edge,you run the entirely unnecessary risk of slipping and falling off.

“First the man takes a drink, then the drink takes a drink, then the drink takes the man.” – Japanese proverb

Wueh!!That’s almost my entire lifetime. Congratulations.

Rule # 1: If you drink before noon then you’re an alcoholic.
On a serious note, it’s hard to define a clear point. People have different alcohol tolerance levels. But generally, if your drinking is affecting your ability to control your finances/cater for basic needs, or is affecting your job/ career or health, you’ve got a problem no matter how many drinks you’ve had.
I’ve been drinking for 20 years but I don’t consider myself an alcoholic (by different standards, someone else might consider me to be). ‘Responsible’ drinking is a matter of personal opinion. The reason I don’t think that I’ve a problem is that my drinking is a glass or two every other day (not more than 4 times a week). Having said that, I drank some heavy stuff in my late teens through my 20s, but considered myself responsible because I didn’t cause any trouble.

This has to be the stuppidest justification i have ever heard from anyone. You have an alcohol problem. You cant substitute nature with a pub retard! People save all their lives to travel and experience nature kama Mt Kenya, Mara etc but hakuna mtu atatoka germany or cambodia kunywa muratina in your drought striken village! And you are foolish to think you are spending time with “friends” kwa pub, those are not your friends baba nani. Wewe kwanza ata infaa upewe Uji sio pombe! Most useless comment i have ever read.

Don’t judge and you will not be judged.

Oh really… i have grown up kids, i believe i’ve brought them up well despite being stupid as u claim i am. I still insist i would rather drink on a weekend than go climb mt Kenya with the Cambodians. By the way i have properties near mt Kenya… and i started drinking in 1986

Guys, even as you imbibe remember that alcohol has been linked to cancer.

[SIZE=7]No Amount Of Alcohol Is Good For Your Health, Global Study Says[/SIZE]
Countless scientific studies have espoused the idea that a glass of red wine a day can be good for the heart, but a new, sweeping global study published in The Lancet on Friday rejects the notion that any drinking can be healthy.

No amount of alcohol is safe, according to The Global Burden of Diseases study, which analyzed levels of alcohol use and its health effects in 195 countries from 1990 to 2016.

While the study’s authors say that moderate drinking may safeguard people against heart disease, they found that the potential to develop cancer and other diseases offsets these potential benefits, as do other risks of harm. The report urges governments to revise health guidelines to suggest lower levels of consumption.
https://www.npr.org/2018/08/24/641618937/no-amount-of-alcohol-is-good-for-your-health-global-study-claims

The thing about drinking too much when you’re young is that you think it will not affect you when you get older. I’ve seen first-hand what alcoholism can do to a person. It can run you to a ground too deep for you to recover. Liver cirrhosis is probably the worst case scenario of long-term drinking and you would be very very very rich and lucky to get a liver transplant.

Wewe, wacha wazee wakule mali pole pole.