Where is Kenya headed?

The idea that a nation’s most wealthy get together to discuss its fate might sound bizzare, but, in some cases it does happen. Having surpassed Angola to become a top economy, Kenya’s economic outlook seems positive. Kenya is also minting more dollar millionares every year. However, the ordinary Kenyan is yet to benefit from the ongoing economic development. It is clear that the distribution of wealth has grown more and more uneven. That said, most people are slowly returning to their farms as their city businesses cannot withstand the pressure. Still, government has to borrow to meet their fiscal deficit. No matter the outcome the big businesses are still making profits. For these big businesses to survive, small businesses are going down to reduce competition. Once smallholder businesses are driven away, people are easier to control thus giving the wealthy an imprealist ticket to do as they will. Therefore, as soon as Kenya start commercial oil production the elite will be the greatest benefactors.

Kenya is being terraformed into a US like nation, na haikuanza jana. But in the last decade it’s gone into overdrive.

Perhaps you mean beneficiaries

The final straw will be increase in price of basic commodities which common man can not afford. The raia will revolt against the greedy politicians. I forsee it in 2 years to come. It will be against the rich and the poor masses.

You know, how exactly is this new wealth being created? Are these millionaires innovators or producers? Have they any special talent? No! Rather they are gov’t insiders and tenderpreneurs.

Now, this wealth is basically a transfer of funds from the public, and public needs (health, safety, education) to the hands of individuals.

Is kenya really rich / wealthy? No! Not ever.

take the family unit, I cannot term you as an individual as rich of your kids cannot afford school fees, are sick and can’t pay medical bills, your roof leaks and walls are cracking…how? No matter how big the car you drive is. I couldn’t logically say that you’re rich unless those basic thigs are taken care of.

Kenya is the base/testing ground for East Africa by the global elites. Eventually we’re gonna be a ‘thriving’ country with crazy advancements and the model would eventually trickle over to the neighboring countries. Guys would be rich and getting richer, to the extent that when a scenario pops up, for instance, the government then proposing a very tiny chip to be embedded as a form of identity to replace the then existing Huduma Number card(argument being that millions of Kenyans are claiming to have lost the card and it’s costing the government millions to retrace someone’s identity), no flags would be raised, coz people will be blinded with how nice life is… Driving fast cars in new highways, living in fancy homes, the common mwananchi silenced with government hand-outs etc. Eventually life would be so cool that the street preacher would be despised for praying and yet the notion by then would be why pray to someone yet we have everything we need.

The reality is that the gap between the rich and the poor is increasing. On our roads nowadays its either a TX and V8 or mazda demio and altos. There is no middle ground anymore. The gap is increasing at a high rate.

middle class being wiped out, proportion of money collected ends up paying foreign debt if not payment of foreign contractors leaving no money in circulation, watu wajipange hyper inflation and sell off of national assets cheaply hako mbali

Kumbe am not the only one seeing that. Prado TX are more than probox or axio

Today is not a surprise seeing a young man in a rural town driving lexus 570…na io time bro wake ni peasant na wazazi wake ni peasants, na kijiji yenye ametoka haina stima.

The concept of economic growth has been abused. We seem to see the problem but we really don’t know what to do about it. Isn’t that a sad thing to think about? how shall we keep the bitter truth? brainwashing is a practical psychological tool that has really worked for the oppressor. I can tell you the truth right now is That if you are in the middle class chances of going beyond sustaining the basic needs for your family is practically almost impossible. Taking a person who earns a gross salary of say 40k a month and has started working at their late 20s at retirement assuming that they were to take loans for development they will actually take about 5 loans worth about 1million shillings each and I can assure you they will always be paying loans until retirement.

Grammar nazi

Yes Sir, now go drink some uji.

@Purple should come up with a grammar OCD award for you.

I do not see it happening. For example, do you see the people of Gatundu revolting (wacha ballot box revolution, a real revolution) against Uhuru Kenyatta?

Spot on! Niliposema 300k net per month is not “high living” income some people said ni maringo. The middle class is being hollowed out, not just in Kenya but the whole world.

…now wake up…

Through looting of taxpayers money.

Vutisha Sisi lain ya kuingia majuu haka kama ni kazi ya kuosha tunyanyeee nitafanya.

Let’s just say middle class is relative. According to KNBS, anyone with a salary above 199K is classified as upper income. In the states, 300k might be peanuts as household income but here someone with such a salary will use his payslip to get a loan to build a mansion in his rural home and buy a German machine. Such a person will also relocate to Runda so that people will ‘notice’ him. Of course, such salaries here are only reserved for top ranking state officers or people working for international firms.
As for our middle class, I know you heard about the Chandarana foodplus crisis.