While America slept, China gained a stranglehold on the Panama Canal

Not just our petty Mombasa Port, China wants to control Panama Canal. Most people have no idea, but the Panama Canal is owned by China since 2016. Landbridge Group is building four lanes for ships to go through. According to CGTN, China is already talking about charge the US extra to cross the canal or to use the Margarita Port. The game of trade war is getting interesting.

Decades have passed since tiny Panama ranked among Washington’s big national security concerns. The 1989 U.S. invasion notwithstanding, the two nations have enjoyed largely cordial relations since the Panama Canal handover in December 1999. A boom in canal transits that include two-thirds of cargo ships traveling to or from the United States helped keep Panama and its globally strategic canal well within the U.S. sphere of influence.

[ATTACH=full]242888[/ATTACH]
Until now.
Under President Donald Trump’s watch, Washington has stood idly as China rolled into Panama and established a major hemispheric foothold alongside a waterway essential to U.S. commerce and national security. Much as former President Jimmy Carter was blamed for negotiating the treaties that handed control of the U.S.-built canal to Panama, it was Trump who allowed China to sink its claws into this highly strategic asset

Read More
https://www.stltoday.com/opinion/editorial/editorial-while-america-slept-china-gained-a-stranglehold-on-the/article_30203f97-8324-55f0-b878-351e945c2e1c.html

this hekaya i will take it with a pinch of salt considering uncle sam has been eyeing the canal since the bay of pigs fiasco of '61

http://www.globalconstructionreview.com/client_media/css/images/GCR_logo.png.pagespeed.ce.MM7TaD7CTU.pngGCR global construction review
http://www.globalconstructionreview.com/client_media/images/x846ship_passing_through.jpeg.pagespeed.ic.mTzcsvu2-N.webp
[SIZE=6]News[/SIZE]
[SIZE=7]Chinese firm starts work on $1bn Panamanian megaport[/SIZE]
12 June 2017 | By GCR Staff | 0 Comments
[/ul]
[SIZE=5]A $1bn project to build a new deepwater port and container terminal near the Caribbean entrance to the Panama Canal has begun. Both its developer and the firm building it are Chinese.[/SIZE]
China Landbridge, a privately owned company based in the northern Chinese port of Rizhao, bought Panama’s largest port, at Margarita Island, in May last year and announced that it wanted to expand and modernise the facilities. The new high-speed, deepwater port will be called the Panama Colón Container Port (PCCP).
[INDENT]“With the canal expansion, the future of Panama is bright”– Kenneth Zhang, PCCP[/INDENT]
In line with China’s grand One Belt, One Road global strategy, the plan is to capitalise on the doubling in the capacity of the canal, which can now handle the New Panamax container ships that can transport up to 14,500 teu (twenty-foot equivalent units). That work was completed in June last year.

The first stone of the port was laid on 7 June by Panamanian president Juan Carlos Varela, who commented that the port was the most important Chinese investment in Panama so far.

Ye Cheng, the president of Landbridge Group, said during the ceremony that the port would become one of the most important in the world. He said: “Landbridge’s ports in Asia and Oceania together with PCCP on Margarita Island will be efficiently connected to exploit maritime cooperation, contributing to the economic development of all countries.”

Kenneth Zhang, a representative for the PCCP, said last year: “We look at the project on long term and we feel pretty good with the investment. With the canal expansion, the future of Panama is bright, even though we know the maritime sector presently suffers a global crisis but we have a different reading for the future.”
http://www.globalconstructionreview.com/client_media/imagecontent/x846pccp.jpeg.pagespeed.ic.mqDqdo4nS3.webp
Landbridge hangs its shingle at Margarita Island (Thomas Avila/Twitter)
The work will be carried out in three stages. The first will increase the port’s handling capacity to 2.5 million teu and add a liquefied natural gas terminal.

The contractor will be China Communications Construction Company. When the first stage is complete in the second quarter of 2019, PCCP will have four berths with a total quay length of 1.2km and a depth of 18m.

The second and third stages will add a logistics park and more cranage to the port. According to Panamanian website [I]Critica[/I], the final port will have a capacity of 11 million teu, making it the 13th largest container port in the world.

Its construction is expected to create 800 jobs. Some concern has been raised in Panamanian media that local workers may not benefit from this increase in employment.
The Panama America website quotes a stonemason called Reynaldo Bermúdez, 33, who intends to apply for a job, and who called on the project’s managers to hire Panamanians rather than “bringing in cheap labour from other parts of the world”.

China Landbridge hit the headlines in May last year when it acquired a 99-year lease on the northern Australian port of Darwin for $361m. This prompted the US government to express concern that the Chinese presence could be used to “facilitate intelligence collection on US and Australian military forces stationed nearby”.

Apparently while Trump builds walls on the Mexico border China is building ports to facilitate trade with the world…

Very interesting sikujua hii inago down

America hawajui kujenga roads au ports. Wanajua kubomb watu na kuua watu. Satanic evil minded devils.

Really? I think you are exaggerating because how were interstate highways built? And some key American highway networks are more than 60 years old.

Na hii China yenu kwani iko na pesa mingi aje za kutupa? Is it that they have ended complete poverty in mainland China and now all they are remaining with is to throw money around to other countries? :D:D

China has bought over 50 international ports. Not to mention the insane infrastructure they are building around the globe.

Haya tuseme 40% of these countries default on repaying their Chinese loans and then Trump blocks Chinese exports to the U.S. … kutaenda aje?!

You know China makes a sweet 18% of their income from exporting to the U.S.

China makes a sweet $550 billion exporting to the U.S annually. Ikakatika je? And at the same time China has money tied up in projects around the world.

Hata kama you are the smartest business man on earth you don’t invest in a million things at once.

Sijui niliona wapi ka article fulani kameandikwa China Class A roads, Class B , Class C…sijui ilikuwa barabara ama ni railways.

Well basically in Class A the top Chinese road on offer featuring concrete and what not walikuwa wameandika : China Class A /the American Standard. :D:D

Jijazie hio. And you know in the U.S concrete humwagwa hadi wewe mwenyewe unaskia uchungu… ati hio ni barabara inapewa simiti kama maji. Lakini na wewe ukipita hapo juu. Wacha tu.

I saw some roads been laid down in Texas, pretty amazing, only country I can think of that can match up to that standard of road building is Saudi Arabia.

@patco hating as usual.

All lubbish you post inakuwanga kusifu threats from your moron. Get it inside your thick head: the ship left the doc kitambo. These useless threats of tariffs is nothing but just fart from a donkey. China is the NWO. Si juzi ulisema how the Chinese have been pushed to a corner and all they have to do is accept orange head won? Why isn’t there a deal mpaka leo? Mnachukulia watu ufala sana na hizi MAGA politics zenu

Wewe butt tickling bandit uko na kasoro. Si saa hii tu umetoka kuwika vile unadai kufyekwa na mwanaume mwenzako ? :D:D

Not more than an hour ago…

Sasa tena umerudi politics?!

Americans are some wasteful bastards.:smiley: Kila kitu ni excess na supersized. I guess the thinking ni hio barabara ibebe those enormous peterbilt trucks.

Which makes me wonder is it that materials are cheaper in the U.S or we are just corrupt in Africa. If we made roads like those in the U.S. … aii labda barabara moja ingekuwa 10 trillion shillings. You look at the insane amount of timber used in their housing and furniture construction … why is that not possible in Kenya? And the amount of options available in construction there is perplexing. Why can’t Kenya have that?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bTYmz6lPXGQ

Yaani after all those machine ngurumara lazima?

Where has the U.S ever built roads except inside the U.S? U.S is a selfish useless country that bombs the crap out of other innocent countries. U.S has never built airport, port or roads for other countries but CIA has conducted over 30 coups in the last 50 years and started fake wars in Libya, Syria, Afghanistan, Iraq twice, Korea in the 1950s and Vietnam where they were defeated by vietcongs. U.S haijengi, inabomoa. Afadhali China mara mia moja juu wanajenga.

Americans

America’s investments is for 100 years to come . Kenyans investment is up to the next election cycle probably 5 years from election date today .politicians will need something to show they did so as to be electable

Unasema ukweli but chezea Chini kizee

I once worked like this people when I needed quick bucks but I tell you I quit the second day. Then they used to pay $30 an hour . I made my $500 na sikuwahi rudi. Those guys are on constant pain killers man . It’s not easy doing that job

I come from a region that supplies timber I think the whole country. These mofo have paddocks ya miti. They have little subdivided farms and each farm produces tones and tones of timber. Each subdivision is planted trees at an interval of 6 months meaning every six months there is a bunch being harvested from each subdivision and planted immediately after harvesting.That way they produce timber throughout the years.

Mbosiwe ile financial aid yote tumepewa na U.S tangu 1963… si ni hawa wahuni wetu wamemanga hio pesa yote!!

Hio pesa ingepeleka Kenya mbali sana if it was well utilised.

If you were to count the billions Kenya receives including from other countries like Japan or European countries hio pesa ni mingi sana. Including FREE expert advice in numerous sectors.

I remember Kidero saying Japan offered to build Kenya a garbage recycling plant YEARS AGO. Design ilifanywa years ago!! And not just by Japan but by countless other countries and institutions before that. Rais anapewa copy, city hall wanapewa copy but wanalenga juu they prefer projects they can eat directly.

You know you can take a donkey to the river but… well you know the rest.

So many Kenyans were educated in the West for FREE so they could jump start their young republic… but instead wengine walikuja kuwa wezi.

And let’s not forget the support our military gets from the West including free training. AIDS ndio hio dawa zinatoka kwao. Huwezi sema they have done zero.