While f*ckers are still on debt and tax driven economy : *GHANA SHIFTS ATTENTION FROM TAX DRIVEN ECONOMY TO PRODUCTION DRIVEN ECONOMY*

GHANA SHIFTS ATTENTION FROM TAX DRIVEN ECONOMY TO PRODUCTION DRIVEN ECONOMY

While some African countries are considering increasing Value Added Tax (VAT) also known as Goods and Services Tax (GST), GHANA is already thinking outside the box.

To save us the boredom of reading long stories, let me summarize here:

*Ghana has abolished VAT/GST on real estate sales.

*Ghana has abolished VAT on financial services.
*Ghana has abolished capital gains tax on sales of shares on the stock exchange.
*Ghana has abolished import duty on spare parts.

*Ghana has abolished the 1% import levy.
*Ghana has abolished VAT on domestic airline tickets.

*Ghana has reduced very significantly VAT on small traders from 17.5% to 3%.
*Ghana is going to abolish all import duty on raw materials and machineries imported into Ghana.

*Ghana is embarking on a massive industrialization drive called One District, One Factory. And there are 216 districts in Ghana. There is now a focus on production.

*Now, Ghana has two major advantages: power issues sorted out and a peaceful democracy.
Ghana with a population of 28 million generates 4,577MW as at 2017. Nigeria with a population of 200 million generates 5,500MW and Sierra Leone generates below 500MW. Meanwhile, Ghana is currently working on 2 power plants- a 400MW LNG-fired plant and a 600MW plant being built by Siemens.

Others are thinking. Rwanda has taken the lead. Ethiopia has put on its thinking cap. Ghana has started an upward trajectory.

Small portion of a big thing is big and a big portion of small thing is still small

FOOD FOR THOUGHT.

This is great thinking. In Kenya when they see you making money, they come to finish you with taxes

How are they going to cover the resultant revenue shortfall?

This is something Germany mastered long time ago. However, Baafrika hawawezi fikiria to save their lives. We have people in Treasury who still believe they can tax some more for Kenya to prosper. Add to that numerous busybodies in county governments who only think of levies and never of ways of creating an business friendly environment in the counties.
I once challenged a pretty senior Treasury mandarin to explain why Kenya levies excise duty on imported motor vehicles while we have no auto industry to talk of. Ninja only mumbled incoherently before dismissing me as a Raila sympathizer.

Very sad indeed

kenya ni kama ile lanye unachota alafu asubuhi anakuabisha eti hukulipia senyeste,all along kumbe aliona kale ka ATM slip balance sasa antakautoe kila kitu uko nayo .All seems well,economy is booming but deep down the ferker is comig for you

Whether they will succeed or not ,atleast their leaders have the citizen best interests at heart

The revenue shortfall will be in the short run. Their focus is on the mid to long term where benefits will accrue progressively. In the short run, they will borrow and sell parastatals as they await to reap big.

stop being myopic,I am sure they have that catered for.

Hapana funua mdomo usikike tu umesema kitu. Those are policy measures that have immediate negative impact on revenue yields but can only lead to higher revenues in the medium to long term.
The catering for is what I am asking for lakini lazima ungerukia.

Let me quote what @magreb just said up there.There is no way they would not have foreseen what you are airing while going for such a big project.

Its not going to be all rosy,but am assuming through their strategic plan they have pointed out areas that are going to give them challenges and how they are going to overcome them.
This kind of project is what need to be looked at in long term as opposed to just looking beyond the nose.

depends a lot on the citizenry also, if the citizens can show the political class what we want, they’ll put measures to get it, in Kenya immediately after elections,we begin campaigning for the next one, now we’re focused on 2022 and from the current set up, it’s do or die.That’s why 2 years later no politician has bothered to put any sensible bill that will uplift Kenyans, but liwe liwalo 2022 lazima.

Hakuna haja. Ulikuwa umekosa kusema hivyo kwanza kwa nini?

Wakanda forever

This is impressive!

It was my fault to assume you are wise enough to get the point,next i will even extrapolate

Did this happen gradually. Or did their gavanment announce all these changes suddenly…

May be even as KE citizen we don’t know what we want,making our problems bigger

Ghana a country i admire which has been ruled by Kwame Nkrumah, Jerry John Rawlings and now Nana Akufo-Addo who all in my opinion are great men is on the right trajectory again.

Kubali tu you didn’t know zilch before you read @magreb 's post.