Why Aljazeera disabled comments on aljazeera.com

August 30, 2017

Today, we disabled the ability to comment on stories on aljazeera.com. It’s a decision that we’ve given much thought to, and one that we feel ultimately best serves our audience.

The mission of Al Jazeera is to give a voice to the voiceless, and healthy discussion is an active part of this. When we first opened up comments on our website, we hoped that it would serve as a forum for thoughtful and intelligent debate that would allow our global audience to engage with each other.

However, the comments section was hijacked by users hiding behind pseudonyms spewing vitriol, bigotry, racism and sectarianism. The possibility of having any form of debate was virtually non-existent.

Also, over time, we found social media to be the preferred platform for our audience to debate the issues that matter the most to them. We encourage our audience to continue to interact with us this way.

This decision also comes at a time when we as a publisher need to evaluate what our priorities are. We feel that rather than approaching the problem with a collection of algorithms and an army of moderators, our engineering and editorial resources are better utilised building new storytelling formats that resonate with our audience.

We realise that this move will come as a disappointment to the members of our audience who did try and engage in thoughtful debate on our site. However, we will be working hard over the coming months to figure out how best to bring back debate to aljazeera.com

To continue the debate on social media, please share your thoughts with us on our Facebook page and get in touch via Twitter.

[MEDIA=medium]a9ffbac61f10[/MEDIA]

They are cunts anyway… Always choosing to air our atrocities for ratings purposes…

Another outlet bites the dust!

What do you mean? They are still up and running

This applies to all foreign media. Even the Kenyan media is no exception.

you are an uncircumcised cunt

I wasn’t meant to be circumcised anyway you misogynistic cunt

Anyway UOTP is what I can extract from this article.

kuwa serious bana :D:D:D:D

I dont know why they hate Aljezeera. That media house. I prefer watchin Aljezeera than the rest of the international media. The documentaries are definitely out of questions, well researched…

most media stations disabled their comments section, others like times only enable to some stories

Too many trolls

:D:D ukienda kwa the star commentary section ndio utalia. The vitrol being spewed unaweza dhani kenya inachomeka next minute.

bukusu jinga,kwa debe tena,

Pure blood fake. general mzima ulikubalije hii mambo ifike hapa kirudiwo? bure kabisa

Hehe The Star banned my disqus account. I created 5 more.

Given the recent accusations and allegations against Qatar from KSA and company, its very easy for saboteurs to infiltrate their media outlets via the comments section and advance terror related agenda.

enda kwa kijiji ya jirani uone raundi hii nimejihami mfalme amesema sisi sio waoga ,after that away match hata waende supreme Court hakuna kuheshimu uamuzi Wa koti bandia

Any story i read on the internet i read mpaka the comments there is where yu patana with internet terrorists

Ferk Al Jazeera. Just take a look at this bullshit. Look at the clips they chose for yesterday’s news :mad::mad::mad:

[MEDIA=twitter]903681565028360194[/MEDIA]