Why are Kenyans more likely to ignore upright candidates and vote for crooked leaders?

A conversation in the papers with Lawyer Roseline Odede, she say’s;

[SIZE=5]“Because we lack values and glorify wealth. The voter is so rooted in receiving handouts that a less endowed good candidate rarely stands a chance to win. Our political parties also fail us by fielding corrupt candidates. IEBC and political parties should vet all candidates and bar all persons known to have benefited from corrupt deals from vying. Parties that continue to associate with corrupt individuals lose the moral authority to query corruption, and that’s a big problem”.[/SIZE]

[SIZE=4]
Political Parties lack moral values they present to voters corrupt candidates. We have already seen some +ve changes, the public rejected some party candidates and voted in independent candidates. An independent People’s Assembly to check all Party candidates.[/SIZE]

Because they wear crooked specs that correct for crookedness.

The first requirement in Working in EACC is to be corrupt.

Ata ameandika mob, those 2 words are enough. The current crop of politicians are there for the money. Hakuna upuzi ya sijui humble servant, ameokoka blablabla. Wote wako hapo to gain economically.

So hizo ambitions zako as a voter pelekea mama yako, a politician will never help you.

Na wananchi wako kwa hiyo group. Today people are willing to do ANYTHING to get money. Leaders are a reflection of the society.

After seeing PK loose to Sonko I decided to rest my right to vote in future elections.

They are both “angels”.

But it’s a consensus all over the World that politicians are the Worst kind of people on Earth. Kaka vile @Touchlyrics amesema, all the questions and discussions about values are leading nowhere. If you want people to do good, you put oversight not hope for good people

I once heard a mteja tell - mama wa kupika chai- , “hii chai yako ikona maziwa mingi na nitamu kama ya nyumbani ushago… Una patanga faida kweli?.. Weka maji mingi kwa chai upate faida mob”…

Yani this is a mteja telling the seller to ruin the good tea for more profits… I just concluded tukona shida kama wakenya…

Why is a thief called a crook?

Leaders are chosen by God.

Good bless the King.

Tribalism.

One thing i will never do is to blame looters .If i find myself i waiguru’s shoes i for one know am weak and i would just take a piece of the loot .

“Money above all else” has been instilled in us. Ujanja, which is just lying & stealing, has been glorified and has taken root. We are, like it or not, a tribal nation, with a “rather us than them” mode of thinking. Politicians wised up to this ages ago and that is why they get the electorate to bend over every 5 years. Voting alone will never be enough, attitudes must change. The leadership elite is more or less an accurate reflection of the rest of the nation. We deserve the leaders we got.

short for crooked. because he’s not upright…:slight_smile:

Currently, in Parliament, a committee has been formed, headed by Dan Wanyama MP for Webuye (East I think), to work on how to get 18.8m pension for EACH of the 196 MPs who lost their seats in the last election.

Those who get that must serve at least one term.

If you’ve served 2, you get 125k every month for the rest of your life.

Botha sides, Jubilee and Nasa, supported the move with equal passion.

And then a MOFO will tell you that he supports a certain political side due to ideology.

Collectively as Kenyans, we are inherently corrupt!

The process of getting into political office is dirty and many brilliant and upright individuals just don’t think that it’s worth the trouble. Then you have to factor in, tribalism, cronyism… where majority of voters mainly choose leaders aligned to their tribal Kingpin’s political party, though with the independent candidates option there is a small window for alternative choice.