Why Can't Kenya Refine Turkana Oil Badala Ya Exporting it

Wangwana , ebu terro me why the TURKANA oil has to be exported , can’t a refinery be biult huku alafu we consume our own oil like DUBAI or USA …sande sana and am outa here …
[ATTACH=full]244952[/ATTACH]

Cost of refinery is not supported by what we have discovered.

Because that’s the way we do things.

this makes sense but untrue , the over priced oil pipeline from TURKANA to LAMU is more expensive than a world class refinery , imagine the economic and employment opportunities man …

Watu wamekula pesa, and no one wanna think right. Mwafrika believes that, all that comes from the soil, should go back to the soil, hence grounding everything.

We can only produce 70,000 barrels a day. Not worth investing in a refinery. To put numbers into perspective, Saudi Arabia produces 12 million barrels a day.

NEWS
[SIZE=6]Cost of Turkana oil pipeline now drops by Sh100 billion[/SIZE]
THURSDAY, MAY 31, 2018 7:02https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/image/view/-/4588014/medRes/1707726/-/maxw/960/-/rhv5ym/-/oil.jpg

Mr Andrew Kamau, Petroleum principal secretary. FILE PHOTO | NMG
https://www.businessdailyafrica.com/nationmedia/css/socialIcons/Facebook.svghttps://www.businessdailyafrica.com/nationmedia/css/socialIcons/Twitter.svghttps://www.businessdailyafrica.com/nationmedia/css/socialIcons/LinkedIn.svg
Kenya has nearly halved the budget for planned construction of an 865 km pipeline that will move crude oil from Turkana oilfields in the north to Lamu seaport, saving the economy millions of dollars.
Petroleum principal secretary Andrew Kamau said the cost of building the pipeline has dropped to an estimated Sh110 billion from the Sh210 billion quoted earlier.
The PS said the latest pricing is in step with changes in the design of the pipeline, including a reduction in the pipe’s diameter.
“Earlier studies were based on the original design that factored in Ugandan oil, but now it’s just Turkana oil, making it necessary to reduce the diameter.” Mr Kamau said.
Kenya opted to build the pipeline alone after Uganda, which had originally agreed to partner with Kenya, dropped the plan and went for an alternative line through Tanzania.

The pipeline will snake its way from the Turkana oil fields in northern Kenya to Lamu seaport.
Construction is set to start late next year to be ready by 2021/22 when Kenya is expected to commence commercial oil production and exports. The developers are expected to pump out up to [SIZE=6]80,000 barrels of crude per day[/SIZE] when the pipeline is fully operational.
“We will have the FID (final investment decision) by end of quarter two next year and subsequent construction,” Mr Kamau said, adding that discussions with unnamed international contractors were ongoing and are leaning towards debt financing of the works.
The deep cut in construction budget means taxpayers will carry a lighter debt load and the economy saved from hard currency haemorrhage.
Turkana oil is classified as waxy and sticky, making it necessary to heat it during transportation, a quality that is expected to determine the design of the pipeline.

Kenya is, however, in the short-term gearing up for an early oil export plan meant to test the global supply logistics and determine the price-point for the Turkana oil.
Under the early oil export plan, up to 110 trucks will haul some 2,000 barrels of oil per day from northern Kenya for storage at the defunct refinery in Mombasa in readiness for shipment abroad.
British explorer Tullow Oil, the main developer of the Turkana oilfields, is jointly working with partners Africa Oil of Canada and French major Total on the project.
Kenya last month picked another British firm Wood Group to design the Turkana-Lamu crude pipeline, an exercise expected to take eight months.
The engineering design contract for oil production went to Australia’s Worley Parsons.
Tullow initially struck oil in Turkana’s Lokichar basin in northwest Kenya in 2012, and has since followed it up with a string of other finds, putting the country on the path to becoming a producer of the black gold. The recoverable reserves are estimated at 750 million barrels of crude and considered commercially viable.

it’s actually 80,000 per day …The stupid pipeline alone is 110 billion , add that to the revenues TULLOW oil will pay itself …it’s better if this oil was refined here , the pros outweight the cons despite the low oil volumes …

A refinery costs anywhere between 5-15bn USD. Dangote is currently building one at 13bn usd. Kenya’s total budget is just about 30bn usd.

A refinery at the moment makes no economic sense with the small reserves we have.

You do know that pipe is only costing $1billion than $15billion we would need to do a refinery???.. that is our whole budget less the debts…or the budget for TZ.

How then had we managed to build the one at Changamwe at a time Kenya didn’t even imagine it could produce oil?
If it was feasible to construct it to refine imported crude,the reasons for building it now should be double or triple.

It was not by ‘us’…the colonists did it well when they thought they would stay here forever.

Even then, we didn’t have oil. I seriously think the 80,000 barrels per day is on the lower side.

Hii mjadala ilichambuliwa kwa hii thread

that was 10 years ago my fren :D:D

By the way can’t kenya refine the oil in changamwe refinery ?

Obsolete!!!.. I would compare it to having a typewriter in 2019.

We are not renowned for our common sense but rather, when it’s our time to eat we must eat.

Another option would be to partner with Uganda to build one refinery, just googled nikapata they are building one, i think we have the same kind of oil, heavy and waxy, we should be jumping at the opportunity to refine our oil and reduce our reliance on other people’s oil.

Kwani changamwe was refining KASUKU na KIMBO when it was working ? …ungeniambia turkana oil is waxy and not compatible with that mombasa refinery , it’s still a refinery , process is relatively similar ama ? …