Why do Kenyan colleges just teaching arts?

Well, some of you might have seen my previous post asking if anyone knows a college where they teach codding or lets just say Software Engineering(i guess its almost the same thing, am open to correction). Now, i spend a better part of the day searching the internet but i came to a conclusion that around 70% of colleges courses are just Arts… just business related, media, humanity subjects but few on innovations and computer technologies. yaani this is a country where people thrive in business and religion. no wonder we no longer have companies like Mumias Sugar, Pan paper, Kikomi etc. we thrive more in malls and importing and procurement and tenderprenuering etc… Technology is the driver of production today and i think something needs to be done asap.

PS: Am still looking for a collage offering software engineering and those telling me that i dont need collage should know that this is Africa, not America. every jobs asks for academic certificates

We are a mediocre people with mediocre brains. Our greatest preoccupation is buying and selling at extortionist prices, corruption, riches from nowhere,and miracles.

Blame consumerism and an economy where the service industry is the core driver.

They also teach English.

To thrive, manufacturing needs an enabling environment. In Kenya we don’t have reliable and affordable electricity. Also corruption at the Ports makes it easy for imported products be allowed into the market duty free. This is how Chinese batteries killed Eveready batteries.
A country that has a thriving manufacturing sector is in a very good shape

:D:D:D:D:D:D

you are so mediocre. sasa how does English help and economy? do Chinese know English?

Bado hujashikanisha!? Lawsy laws yenyewe enda hizo college kwanza

Our entire education system is a commercial enterprise. Art courses are cheaper to design, teach and examine. They take a relatively shorter time to complete and also attract a higher student enrollment due to their low entry requirements. Its therefore more profitable to have a college whose bulk of courses are in arts.

Aki wewe. For someone who is interested in programming ‘language’, you have ignored the language part completely. Seems like you are more concerned with schooling rather than learning.
To learn a language; English, Chinese, Kikuyu etc and even programming/computer language in your case, you need to know about the syntax and semantics of the language.
Ever used a calculator to solve a mathematical problem only to find the solution to be “Syntax error”. This is because the order of operation was wrong. Or say building a house, you can’t just throw some bricks and mortar together anyhow and expect to end up with a solid structure. There is an ‘order of operation’ / formula to be followed in order to create something.
Syntax is about the structure or the grammar of the language. It answers the question: how do I construct a valid sentence? All languages, including code have grammars, that is, rules that define whether or not the sentence is properly constructed.
Semantics is about the meaning of the sentence. It answers the questions: is this sentence valid? If so, what does the sentence mean?
compare the phrase “learn to code” with “learn coding”. To learn to program means the student (or trainee) will learn how to write software. If the training is successful, the student will become a proficient programmer.
To learn coding, on the other hand, means the student will learn about programming. This might include, for example, programming principles, theory, and best practices. If the training is successful, the student will have a better understanding of the various nuances of programming.There is a lot of overlap, no doubt, but they are not exactly the same thing.
A programmer must ‘learn to code’ . A software project manager might benefit from ‘learning programming’. After all, even if a manager never programs, such knowledge might help managers better understand the challenges faced by their programming teams.
Syntax is the concept that concerns itself only whether or not the sentence is valid for the grammar of the language . Semantics is about whether or not the sentence has a valid meaning.

Learn to code.