Why family should always be important

I read this story and thought of sharing. It’s copy /Paste

[I]I used to work as a senior manager in a foreign owned based here in town 2017. So Last year immediately after August elections were nullified my boss comes in the office .I remember it was on September 25.morning And tells us “were are closing down today tell everyone there’s no reporting tomorrow “.
We thought it’s a joke he end up explaining due to political uncertainty they have to close down till further notice but for the next 4months. We going to be getting just something to keep ourselves moving as they decided whether they going to come back to Kenya or not…
This must be the most shocking message I have received in my life. I call my wife she thought it was a joke. Until the reality of what was ahead dawned on us… Actually that day the company T. Prado SUV that was using was taken away… I arrived home later in a matatu that when my wife believed.
We had to change our lifestyle as soon as possible from everything. Fast forward Me October 5days. Away. We had to leave our posh apartments and we end up somewhere in wangige in a good house but relatively cheap…

The hardest thing was to break the news to my friends and family that I had lost my job. I never told anyone that we still getting maybe 25% of our salaries I just told them I lost my job… Basically with my wife and 2kids that was enough to manage life for the time being .Apart from that we still had our savings.

Now the real story begins. I never thought people I called friends and family would run away from like plague… Weuuuh. My phone that was once a call after another went silent…My calls went unanswered. I even got blocked on WhatsApp by someone…In a span of one week…
I used to have a creek of friends that we used to hang around bypass every day nyama chom and one for the road every day. Guys even stopped going the joint we used to meet… I remember a friend I went to see in his office. on being told am at the reception he left the office via back door and told the sec to tell me he’s away not knowing I had seen his car on the parking lot. …For once I thought I was dreaming.
I remember someone who refused to open his gate… Yet I had bailed him out when he was almost auctioned. To some who we could meet they could always tell stories how economy ni mbaya. Or I wait next month… To me this was an eye opener people I helped secure a job were nowhere to stand with me.

After November my boss called me and told me by February we were getting back to business. From then I just had nothing to worry.

The craziest was own family my bros who are doing well for themselves all I heard from them were empty promises my elder siz and hubby people I once housed and helped secure a job .I remember her telling me I need to go back to the village.
Forward on December when we all go for xmas in the village I call them to come pick us we had together only for them to complain they had no space in their car and we took a matatu.My own mom wouldn’t call and come and visit us like she used to.infact when we’re there my wife and I weren’t received like we used to be received. I loosing the Job gossip was what was the hot news among my good relatives.

Wifey and I we could just watch everything in silence. But off course very few people about 2couples who stood with us all through they kept our children in school and more so counseled us First forward April this year I got back my job back in a senior position than I was. Calls were back …I didn’t know even got then information. I learnt the hard way. My circle I reduced it with 90%. Every day I had to sign the weekend register along kamahis and bypass like every other well doing man in this city.
These days straight to the house spend the time with wife and play withkids.or drop around with them for dinner to our couple besties or for a dinner together as family. The only people that stood with me all my worst. To those men esp bypass and kamakis gang. You know your true friends the day you lose what you think you have.
Never mistake those gangs for friends… Go back home to build your life around that That Lady and kids you hurting there .After all they are the only ones who can be with you on your worst days. Stop peer pressure .Of course I hear them say “nimekaliwa na bibi that’s why I don’t hang out anymore.
That doesn’t make me a lesser man As long as my queen and kids are happy am good no room for fake friends .I learnt my own lesson learn from me b4its too late.[/I]

I was lucky to learn this lesson at a young age through my parents experiences when hard times fell on them. Its the reason why i have a maximum of four good friends the rest are aquaintances.

it’s easy for family to screw you over,i’ve been there

https://memegenerator.net/img/instances/55023265.jpg

You are wise . Nilipitia hii mchujo but I was being seasoned .

Been there done that. I do not have friends outside my family circle.

Well i always help out expecting nothing in return from friends.I pray nisifike hapo.

Is 4 the magic number?

I have written countless times about friends, many people are only friendly to you going by what they know they are likely to gain from you.
Remove that and you have very few genuine friends left.
And those guys who know you and your life inside out will be the 1st to laugh at your circumstances.

Btw mathice ulihama Thika road? ama bado uko nikununulie moja hapo kasarani

Credit, good one

‘’…We had to change our lifestyle as soon as possible from everything.‘’
Wanawake wengi huwa hawapendi hivi and usually leave as soon as thry can. You have a great one

And what gives you the idea that I live along Thika rd?

Hii nilipitia …people you thought were friends gleefully spread the news of my miseries and even started hitting on my woman, now wife. Luckily for me I had a few guys who stood by me through it all…two were lady friends…immediate family also helped a lot.

There is a post you did about 4 years ago describing some joint hapo kasarani where you were a regular for their choma na pombe…

Not necessarily …

Not me, probably you are confusing me with aviator.
Last time I used to hang out along Thika rd road was still the old dual carriageway.
And that was around 2006.
Your head needs to be knocked hard to reset.

Ok. When I have time, I will check and see if I can dig something up.

What I remember is that ulikuwa murefi sana you used to drink from Thursday to Monday so there is a chance umesahau. But I’ll try and see if I can get something.

Bado sijaokoka and my memory is still clear.

Same thing happened to me in 2013. I lost my job February that year and was jobless for 6 months. It was the loneliest time of my life but I didn’t despair. I talked to a guy who was a freelance graphic designer and told him I could take on his web design work if he got any. By God’s grace the guy gave me 5 web design gigs that were enough to sustain me for the 6 months that I was without a well paying full time job. Around June that year, I got a job courtesy of my one true friend and it was paying more than I was earning at my former company. Within a few weeks, all the ‘friends’ that used to ignore my calls and texts came looking for me but I didn’t want anything to do with them. After that experience, I made a decision to start my own business on the side so that I would never have to undergo that experience again. I also cut down on outings and begun looking for a genuine lady to settle with (ndio niachane na kungurus :D:D:D). Now I’m a self employed happily married matapaka. Mwisho wa hekaya.