Why healthy eating notion is wrong and altogether misleading to the mass.

It’s 21st where media are dictating how we should live and eat and for the most part, the general public is just as confused about nutrition as it was 5 or 10 years ago. With the urge to shred/ rip/ modelling etc , poor eating habits have been mainly associated with the fat lazy ferks around. Mostly in a sub Saharan/savanna country(ies) where we only have 4 main meals, i wonder when the whole nation will add oats, straw berries cauliflowers,cucumbers etc to the main meal just because we are being stressed out by the chapos and chomas we get once in a while.

I was reading a post earlier today, and reminded of a topic I’ve talked about a couple times. And that’s about how children don’t really stress about food the way that we do as adults.

When I (and probably most of us) was growing up in the slopes of Abedares, i can’t really remember worrying about meal frequency, Or macros, Or micros, Or clean foods. There weren’t really foods that were evil:-Ostrich eggs, wild rhizome roots, the maize sugarcane etc. Of course many things are different when you’re an adult, but there was no emotional attachment to eating certain foods or certain quantities. Heck, food was more of an afterthought to - god, I can’t wait to finish eating so I can go back outside to play.

As adults. There’s a heck of a lot of baggage attached to our relationship with food. The self-punishment in our minds is worse than The physical consequence of our “slip-ups”. We worry so much about food despite being better educated, having more access to knowledge, and having money to buy the foods we think we should be.

But, As children, we just ate what our parents fed us - and we didn’t really trip about it (for the most part). We were much more focused on activities and less focused on our bodies. -
There were countless days where probably so many of us just ate Pure “junk”, but back in the day we didn’t think much about it. Talk of chips, sausages, soda,chocolate candy etc whenever your uncles were around or if you were lucky to come from blessed family, it was order of the day to have chips as breakfast . Looking back, of course that probably wasn’t the best thing to do - but do you remember how you felt about it? You probably thought nothing of it. nyam choma was delicious. You ate as many pieces as you could.

Should we become child-like again? Will that solve all our issues? No. But when it comes to our relationship with our bodies and food, we may benefit from easing more towards the emotionally unattached defaults that we may have had as children.

so guys, keep off from the healthy eating guys they are just out here to make money, eat and drink whatever you get but don’t sit on your sofa whole day watching G.O.T.

image courtesy of https://www.facebook.com/chefraphael/
https://scontent.fnbo3-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t31.0-8/15138537_1235286373200010_3962580041195190257_o.jpg?oh=bb28b8fcb57dd8fb5c35d345f781a617&oe=59FA7894

Kwani hii G.O.T ina nini? Every bugger around the corner is all GOT…

got is a hill in Westeros part of Kenya

Not Much. Just people tryn hard to fit in a Convo. Never mind some even ssn 6 never watched.

And where is Westeros in Kenya?

hata wewe, you have decided to go dutch, for a moment there i almost thought you were trying to write vasteras

I came here for marinated tortoise.

west, onger

mkuMBWA you lost me. I do not watch GOT…

east, west, north, south

You suggesting adults eat like Kids? That’s the number one reason why most urban dwellers are getting fatter.

As kids/teenagers most of us had high levels of activity , high metabolism from all activities of that age as we grow older, our activitity levels, physical activity levels go down and most still keep the eating habits of their earlier days. The result obesity!

You have to eat as per your activity levels. Every time am at Kosewes or most ‘African Foods’ hotels I wonder why does the average Nairobi office guy needs to eat a whole large deep fried Tilapia (about 600 Calories), Large Ugali ( About 1000 calories) and wash it down with a glass of mala (300 Calories) that’s about 2,000 calories consumed by a largely sedentary person no wonder life style diseases are catching up with us.

chukua hii na utafute @Gio
[ATTACH=full]114570[/ATTACH]