Why I Would Never Vote For Raila (And What Some Kikuyus Don't Get)

My first Anti-Kikuyu “Hawa Watu” moment was in 2002. At that time, it was a foregone conclusion that Uhuru was going to be president, something that really pissed me off. The opposition was in disarray, and it was obvious that neither Musalia, Kalonzo, nor Raila was going to make it.

As I made my way through the streets of Nakuru, a kikuyu tout grabbed my arm trying force me get into his matatu – of course while speaking in Kikuyu. When I protested, he rudely told me that “Uhuru ashakuwa president; ni nini?” At that very moment, I had my “Hawa watu” revelation.

Previously when I was ineligible to vote but was so eager to kick out Moi, I had asked another relative why he would vote for Wamalwa instead of Kibaki when he knew very well that Wamalwa would fail. He told me “Hawa watu huwezi kuwaamini.”

When a senior opposition MP chose to work with Moi during the IPPG and betrayed the hardline stance of the opposition, he explained “Wacha sisi wote tumwage supu, hawa watu sio wa kuamini.”

When our Bukusu-dominated high school shopkeeper came with news that the surrounding center was evicting Kikuyus (It wasn’t an election year,) the loudest shouts of “Waende!” came from my best friend. One of our mutual friends who was a kikuyu was shocked. He asked “Ata wewe unasema hivyo?” My friend was embarrassed and said “ Sio wewe, ni wale wengine.”

So how do these stories relate to a Raila presidency? Simple: There is a huge Anti-kikuyu sentiment in the country. That’s why the 2008 PEV was so deadly. Nobody needed to pre-plan anything at the top. People at the bottom planned and financed the war because they had a reason to: “Hawa watu wametuzoea.” IT WAS spontaneous. It was after supporting Raila in 2007, that I realized that the only way Raila can thrive is through division. The easiest way to divide the country is to use the existing fault lines. Look at his history and you’ll see that a leopard never changes his spots. This year, that has been difficult: and so, he resorted to Christian/Muslim divide.

If God forbid, Raila ever becomes president, The Kikuyu will suffer the most. Raila supporters will remember how Raila was forced to pick Karua. At that moment, Kikuyus will understand the meaning of Junet’s statement “Nyinyi mtakuwa wageni kwa hii serikali.” Unlike UhuRuto supporters, Raila supporters worship Raila as a demigod. He can do no wrong as he’s always right. Current political convenient statements like “You cannot buy a Kikuyu, you can only rent one,” will become deadly rallying cries. Raila’s rabid dogs will attack Karua and Kikuyus just as they attacked Kalonzo. The only difference will be that this time, their hubris will be backed by state power.

I’d rather vote for Uhuru for the third time than vote for Raila. Uhuru will take us in circles, waste our time, and steal from us. But Raila will take us back. He will destroy our concept of statehood and it will take a really long time to come back to our current pathetic state. And that’s why I’d never vote for him, and that’s what some Kikuyus who have never gone beyond Kiambu do not Fully grasp.

We thought Kenya would be a paradise by electing uhuruto.

The alternative is too terrible to contemplate.

Ama typical kikuyu and ill vote Baba 100%. And dont think am doing this because of Uhuru, NOP !!

Your recollection of 2002 is way off. Raila campaigned for Kibaki, a kikuyu. Have you noticed that without Raila in the picture Ruto has nothing to offer the kikuyu community? It’s the same old trick of demonizing Raila that is being used to prevent the Kikuyu from thinking through their choices.

Anyway, it is a general Kenyan problem.

The alternative killed and maimed hao wengine.
Small biased mind,stick to insulting fellow talkers

“Raila will destroy the concept of statehood”
My ribs.

Itumbi has just realised that twitter if full of bots and he himself being one. The real ground does not know that twitter exists. Shit has hit the FAN

Most convoluted thinking i have come across in quite a while. Now I understand why your post are full of ojinga this ojinga that, I think you are better off issuing insults, leave thinking alone. But remember, Raila’s people didn’t burn women children and disabled in church. Remember that.

Raila phobia iliisha, tuongelee mambo mengine

Just say that you dislike RAO.
Don’t give us long stories.
Huyo ndiye tutachagua.
If DDT win (Dynamic Duo Thugs) this election (@God forbid) at leastI will live with a clear conscience that I voted for a better option after the country goes to the dogs.
As someone said hapo juu, this alternative is too scary to contemplate.
Tukutane kwa debe Wadau.

Am from the Mountain and i decided a long time ago that i can never support Ruto for any seat…
i will vote Raila

Using high sounding sound bites to validate their bias. Some people need to reinforce their wavering convictions.:D:D:D:D

Meffi post. A meandering tale that makes no sense. Ati “hawa watu” moment. What the fuck is this idiot even talking about?!

I am a Kikuyu and I support Raila.

keaho saa mbili usubuhi pale Mukurwe-ini, nawekea baba. Ūhoro wa aici nī hapana!

In case you’ve forgotten

[ATTACH=full]456442[/ATTACH]

you are right about the anti-kikuyu sentiment in 2006, 2007, 2008. it was almost palpable.

I have a close friend of mine who works for Ruto,lets call him X (Hes a Kyuk). Ruto calls him Engineer X , just a fascination name. I think the highest course he has attained, its a Bussiness Course Certificate hapo Mama Kamaus University (MKU). So X, his work with other compliances akina Sudi ,its looking for potential investors who want to invest here in Kenya and especially foreigners so that they can con them.
You recall the case of that Turkish man who was deported, X were the master minds behind him being here, there was a fake project they wanted to facillitate and rake millions from the Governmnet. X has a Kale chick who works in Rutos office,she is among the secretaries there., dame anapesa kama njugu.

X told me that Ruto is a big con and if given this government ataikula aimalize.

@SaltyLight , But Raila will take us back. He will destroy our concept of statehood and it will take a really long time to come back to our current pathetic state. i wish you used your whole writing to explain how this will happen , Hakuna kitu umetwambia hapo, Child hood biases you shouldnt carry to adulthood.
Am from central ave grown up being told RAO is bad , so i ask what he did tu Mount kenya no ones can actually point something all is that he said this he said that . Am voting blue .

Nilisemanga hapa the average UDA voter is not very sharp and everyday I am proven right.