Why Is It That Turkana County is hungry with all the Money it has Received Since its Inception?

Why is it that Turkana County is hungry with all the Money it has Received Since its Inception?

The reported claims of hunger and drought in Turkana should be put on its leadership right from MCAs, MPs, WR, Senator to the Governor. Since 2014 Turkana County has received more than KSh50 billion since its inception. I highly suspect that much of this cash has been wasted or mismanaged under Governor Josphat Nanok’s administration. But since he’s an ODM Governor of course the blame will always shift to national government.

For the financial year 2013/2014, Turkana County was allocated KSh7,664,402,594 as equitable share. It received additional revenue as conditional grant from national government’s share of revenue totalling KSh229,995,474. The total amount comes to KSh7,894,398,068.

The County Allocation of Revenue Act 2014 allocated KSh9,143,334,208 to Turkana County as equitable share in the financial year 2014/2015. Additional funding in the form of conditional grants from the national government’s share of revenue totaled KSh91,802,418. The total allocation comes to KSh9,235,136,626.

Turkana County was allocated KSh10,479,033,426 as equitable share and KSh208,793,792 in conditional grants in the financial year 2015/2016. The conditional grants comprised KSh176,237,092 from the national government and KSh32,556,700 in loans and grants from development partners (World Bank, DANIDA). The equitable share and the conditional grants add up to KSh10,687,827,218.

The County Allocation of Revenue Act 2016 has allocated KSh11,307,010,771 to Turkana County as equitable share and KSh305,112,887 as conditional grants for the financial year 2016/2017, which is the current financial year. The conditional grants are KSh231,818,905 from the national government and KSh73,293,982 from development partners. Therefore, the final allocations to the county in 2016/17 are KSh11,612,123,658

For the financial year 2015/16 and 2016/17, I have omitted the conditional grant for leasing of medical equipment allocated to Turkana County that totals to KSh95,744,680 and KSh95,744,681 respectively. This is because the money for leasing of medical equipment does not go to the counties. The Ministry of Health implements the fund on behalf of the county governments.

Total revenue allocations to Turkana County in the last five years are KSh50.429 billion. Adding all the allocation to NG-CDF of over 100M that goes to each of the six constituencies in Turkana plus the WR office. The claim by the media mandarins of neglect should go to county government. If anything agriculture is a fully devolved function.

Nanok should take full responsibility for why his county that has less than 200,000 is that broke and hungry!

Turkana were neglected for years. Devolution money is the first money they’re getting since independence.
So marginalized are those Kenyans that Uhuru just gave wazungu wa LTWP 140,000 acres of their land for free without consulting them. [SIZE=1]Nairobi County is 172,000 acres[/SIZE]
And they will never benefit from that electricity generated.
Yaani ni kupigwa then unakojolewa ukiwa chini

And still they receive massive infrastructure support from the International NGOs as refugee host county

Turkana deserves more than just short term hand outs nobody chose to be born in a desert BUT then it would take way more than 50b to transform it into productive land …so they are fucked either way

Hii swali ya Turkana na ingine @Purple aliuliza ya Baringo na greener pasture inahusu policy framework ya serekali. Counties spend most of their revenues on reccurrent expenditure that is salaries and services like fueling their vehicles. It leaves very little for other essential services. America has states like Nevada and Arizona which are primarily deserts. They also suffer water shortage; however, the only difference is their residents usually hoard food stuff early enough. I have seen desert ranches in Australia where they make good use of undeground aquifers. Turkana is endhowed with the largest aquifer in Kenya while Baringo has Perkerra river and underground streams. So these residents have what they need to get by without the need to relocate. But, their problem has to do with a policy framework that is designed to keep those people poor because they sit on vast pools of natural resources.

Their culture has everything to do with their suffering.

If they can sell that land to Kikuyu, I think the human tractors will turn it into farmlands. But there has to be security for Kikuyu to agree to move there. Also individuals must get title deeds the work of taming that land will not be lost by envious locals.
Lamu used to lie fallow until Jomo Kenyatta sent landless/displaced Kikuyu people there. Today Lamu kuna farming

Do you really know what you are talking about? When was the last time you were beyond lodwar…or even kainuk?

I saw some blogger write this…makes some sense…I have been in turkana before and after devolution and I know the challenges faced by nanok.

“I covered #Turkana famine a few years ago. Turkana people can be self reliant but they’re kept poor for business purposes. Relief food supplies is big business in that part of #Kenya. Find pictures l took in Turkana here, the good and the ugly. Images of the poverty and famine in #Turkana should be shared alongside the images of the obscene riches their leaders have. Some own hotels, private planes and palatial homes while their voters die of preventable deaths. Find poverty pics here” https://www.dropbox.com/home/Boniface Mwangi/TURKANA #SemaUkweli

With all the monies they’ve received,can someone point out something the governor has done for the county.Just one and i don’t mean paying county staff

Counties are made of the same fools that were in the national government. The idea that you can give someone a few billion and they suddenly turn into a magician of development is both backward and naive

The day they’ll look for other economic activities apart from cattle rustling everything Will be smooth

Gadaffi built the world’s largest irrigation system. Kwa Waafrika hiyo ni meffi

[ATTACH=full]229862[/ATTACH]

That man was great he also created a network of artificial rivers.

As I type this nanok ako live KTN news akijaribu kusave face

Probably paid KTN to be there. Anafaa kuwa Turkana like last year… Akisave huko

He’s live from Turkana

Serikali ya kaunti na ya kitaifa zimeshindwa na kazi. But how will we get good leaders when “leaders” are imposed on the people? Until we get credible elections we will continue “electing” bad leaders.

I wonder why he can’t use some of the devolution billions to drill water from the underground pacific that Tullow oil discovered in turkana. May be bangi yangu imefikisha akili hapo but in his position I would do that, unless I was somehow benefiting from the annual hunger related deaths

LTWP iko Marsabit.