Why is Tiktok not a Kenyan company

Tiktok is a Chinese company. What are some of the reasons why we Kenyans can’t come up with something like Tiktok.

How many people would have such a company sucked into employment.

This world is a man eat man society. If people in a country can’t come up with solutions for the world, they will die poor!!

Wacha kwanza serikali imalizane na shughuli zake then tuone

[ATTACH=full]312091[/ATTACH]
Do u know even facebook shutdown their version of tiktok… Likee bado inahema vile kucatch up… Byte is dead… So wacha kujitusi hata kama wewe ni takataka ghaasia

yes sir

Tik Tok is just a matter of time

because we don’t have people willing to risk 100 million dollars to invest in an app that might not even take off.
You probably think tiktok is a simple app that can be built with less than 100k.

Hii IT ya Kenya banaa, it leaves a lot to be desired. You would think by now, scholars in this field would be revolutionizing the day to day processes and procedures.
For instance, why are kiosk/ retail in Kenya operating the same way it did in 1940 ? Matatu the same way as in the 60’s, yet we pride ourselves as East Africa power house on matters IT ?
I can take the rest of the day to pinpoint on areas that ought to be revolutionized.

Some things need capital and a market. Gani tuko nazo hapo?

a small city in china can give Tik Tok over 20 million users. Kenya mko na numbers?

Most solutions developed are geared towards profits. Local tech companies want to cash out hapo kwa deployment. Very few applications are targeting scaling users and value added services to bring in the cash. But things are changing, it’s a young industry after all…

Our IT sisters and brothers are not the problem. Kenyans are. Hizo vitu umesema kulikua na solutions like MY1963 nfc card from Safaricom… Almost no one used it. Masoko and Jumia are struggling because physical stores are still preferred or Kenyans will con you online and hike prices. There are bus shuttle services in Nairobi like Little and Swvl. You can’t keep burning cash in a market that is not ready.

Not online stuff, a software that will help a Duka owner, or that Mutumba seller keep a tab on his stock.
The use of bar codes, by 2012, scanners were incorporated into smartphone, what is needed is a way to generate barcodes, and smart fone.
The problem with Kenyans, is that we want get out there and hit it big within a record time.

They keep tab on their stock through accounting software… but many Kenyans are slow to any technological adoption or outright reject it cuz of perceived KRA tracking. You don’t expect a duka owner to download a software and subscribe to stuff to “organize stock.” If you’re just talking about keeping tab on stock, there’re many solutions out there. Many small dukas even don’t entertain lipa na Mpesa, they ask you to withdraw cash through them. These things take time, that was my point, it’s not tech that is lacking. Kubali tu we’re on global south :smiley:

kwanza , TIKTOK is not easy to make , and it’s not cheap if you will hire software engineers… if you make it you will have to allow porn ndio you get attention ya kenyans… africans are not loyal pple and they look up to foreigners to influence their lifestyle… si unaona kenyatalk tuko kumi na tatu regulars …third , we dont have the cool factor , a chat app from the jungles of africa wont be that cool to the racist world…(hii ni 50/50 chance) …but UN , redcross and ntv 's the trend will recognise you in the end…

I love this discussion! Any big innovation always solves a major problem. Tiktok fulfilled a gap which the biggest live streaming sites in China didn’t do then! Live streaming is a norm in China, everyone live streams e.g farmers, cooks, restaurants, etc Then came Bingolive which took over Asia by a storm. Bingo live was like what Xtian Dela was doing on Instagram. Girls in BKK loved it a lot but it was not fulfilling all the needs as most college girls got scared to use it. Then Tiktok took that opportunity to launch a clone of Bingolive in china specifically targeting the youths 18 to 25, and they interrated into the current version! Plus they have huge support of CCP. Now considering the Kenya market, apart from few celebrities who live streams! who else is doing it? Can our farmers Livestream? Can our butchers Livestream? Can our restaurants Livestream? Do they have data?

Kenya kuna skills, talent, a fair level of technological exposure and a ready market. Shida ni venye hakunanga investors wa maana. Our highly acclaimed Lions’s Den sidhani kuna msee ashawahi secure funding ya kutosha to scale.

Na siku hizi unajua sheng’.

Next naona ukisahau useme, “Here in my hood in Ruaka…”

Sijasahau ulisema you live next door to Zack Snyder in Hollywood.

All those lies just fishing for a
[ATTACH=full]312205[/ATTACH]
I hate the states…everyone here knows that… why would i stoop to live in such a boring pile of peed haystacks

We can only export “corruption” , a typical kenyan only think of hitting it big “jackpot” ama kuiba kwa tender ya gava,
Wengine is to meet a rich mama was harrier, na kutwerk

I mean who uses the word ‘haystacks’ ??? That word is as American as one can get.

You can’t seem to stop associating with Americans! All your gifs (including this one) are American.

Hadi ulikasirisha some talkers by being too “African- Americanish.” Of course ulikuwa unachezea watu saikolojia.