Why isn't Kenya a leading tech hub?

I’m new to Kenyatalk and i thought there is no betyer place to ask. Kenya is one of the most developed countries in East Africa? Which makes me wonder why we arent leading in growing areas such as technology and development. The infrastructure exists and the fibre cables from the UAE provide a stable connection to the rest of the world. I just want to get to the root of the issue and maybe start a drive to push for Kenya to take its place as a leading country in a field that no country in Africa has dominated in yet.

Ever wonder why EABL (Diageo) and Coca-Cola are household names yet we have Keroche and Softa? Now apply that to the tech sector… Despite having the necessary infrastructure, the incentives in place favour international corporations and not local talent…

IMO, Kenyan elites are the gatekeepers in the Kenyan tech scene. They’ve realized that working with multinationals is more beneficial to them than working with local talent… Local talent will supplant them over time while expats have to work under the terms set by the elites… Just look at the tendering of the large tech projects during the Jubilee era

your perspective is from a person with a victim mentality.if you say the system favours foreigners what about cellulant,technobrain,craft silicon,jambopay,coretec,innova etc who have all become pan african software giants?and the multinationals win the tenders cz of corruption they are willing to to pay the hefty bribe amounts usually involved which many kenyans surprisingly either refuse or can’t afford.

Izi CAPI za census zimeundwa humu humu

Stop behaving as if you are more clever than anyone else, ati you have come up with an idea which no one has thought of before

How is Konza city coming along ? The city as Envisioned by one Emilio Mwai waKibaki , wachani na hii ya Jubilee development.

So what you’re saying is that the system is set-up for multinationals to thrive as they have the financial muscle to afford parting with the bribes that local companies cannot?

Speaking of multinationals, do you know how many government contracts that Google, Amazon, and Facebook have? Tech companies have to work in concert with their respective governments to access cheap funding. The U.S government prioritizes its own tech companies when it comes to its own contracts, same case applies to the UK, China, and others…

Lakini, Kenya the reverse applies… Then you’re calling this victim mentality, I call them simple facts that you’re refusing to acknowledge… The Kenyan tech scene is setup for multinationals, not local talent

The Kenyan tech scene is exploitative to local talent while it handsomely rewards expats and anyone who works alongside them… I remember there was this running joke that if you ever wanted your startup to get funding, you only needed a Caucasian as your CEO during presentations…:D:D:D:D:D

You’ve just regurgitated what muchatha said

One word : funding , if these people building malls started investing in technology and science research it would have a multiplier effect…
the money spent right now is not enough, but the numbers are rising, though in a snail rate…

Money, and the right managerial skills will attract talent…

Kenya is a tech giant. If you’re in Kenya (or visit regularly) you should know that. Great innovations and entrepreneurship. There are many global tech firms that operate from Kenya. There’s still more room for advancement, but I think that Kenya is on the right track.

We are leading in all the aspects mentioned at the regional level and still well positioned at the continental level, where maybe south Africa with the Dutch are far.

Corruption, hefty taxes, lack of government incentives are some of the reasons for this lagging behind.

Kenyan tech companies are known to hype their business when they want to nyorosha foreign investors. Mike Macharia of SST is a good case