Why isn't Nairobi Investing in a Metro system?

[CENTER]They’re only two cities in Africa with a metro system aka underground trains. And that is Cario, Egypt, and Algiers, Algeria. No any other city in Africa has such systems.

The cost of constructing the 22km Algiers Metro cost about 900million euros or about 1 billion dollars or in local currency 100Bn Kenya shillings. If President Uhuru wants something like done in Nairobi he should go and visit and benchmark from Algeria. (someone send him this link) Look at the pictures below and don’t tell me that doesn’t look like Europe capital? But yet that is an African city committed to moving its people to the future. Guess what Algeria’s population is only 41 million people… If Kenya wanted to do a similar project maybe we can use Algerian Construction firm [SIZE=5][B]Cosider group[/B][/SIZE][SIZE=5] [/SIZE][SIZE=4]to come and do something similar in Nairobi.[/SIZE]

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/18111403392466139.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034142374074.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114033840230190.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034142530371.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114103018900123.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034139826321.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034106589074.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034118259103.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034129717159.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114102959763832.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114034133535702.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114103014303013.jpg

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/11/14/181114103008414907.jpg

In the same note in 2011 Algeria constructed a tramway system in the city of Algiers for about $394 million dollars between a partnership of Alstom and Turkish engineering firm Yapi Merkezi who are building several rail projects in Africa for a very affordable price. The Algiers Tramway which is1 6.2 kilometers and constructed of superior quality than the Ethiopian system. Is the type of urban rail network we should be building on Thika Rd. [COLOR=rgb(235, 107, 86)]While on Ngong Rd and Juja/Jogoo Rd should be entirely BRT based commuter system. [COLOR=rgb(85, 57, 130)]And the Metro System should go underground between CBD-Uhuru Highway-Mombasa Rd-JKIA, [COLOR=rgb(250, 197, 28)]And the Commuter Rail System should connect the counties with one another.

[COLOR=rgb(0, 0, 0)]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cc_BPh7xEPQ

https://farm3.staticflickr.com/2820/13533974103_21a1b433a3_b.jpg

http://www.vitaminedz.org/photos/42/02-42072-tramway-alger-les-bananiers.jpg[/CENTER]

https://farm8.staticflickr.com/7335/16507287072_908c24438f_b.jpg

Its no wonder these guys consider themselves not Africans. This place definitely looks like some cities in Europe. But if Kenya would try this, I think it would have to be in Isiolo/Machakos…basically in a new underdeveloped city. Can you imagine the chaos of doing this in Nairobi? Whether it be land costs or even space?

the lords of corruption in the transport industry gain immensely from the status quo and would never allow for their gold laying goose to be taken away.

1 Good suggestion but you will be asked "utataka matatu industry iende wapi?
2 where is planning in Nairobi. It’s crowded mpaka watu wamekula road reserve wapi space ya tram/ subway
3 kama BRT is over politicized sembuse hii?

You seem to have forgotten who the governor of Nairobi is

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcSuOCYNNnq0xI4zOGIQVA_76d4t-KZys8Grb5qS44s5I6MZfs5m

Maybe in Isiolo and Lamu… Nairobi County under Mike Sonko just forget.

Mtu ka Sakaja akichukua hio kiti naona ataleta good development.

Fedha tuombe nani tena

Nairobi was well planned by the brits. Unfortunately when kenyans took over the fucked up everything. Kenya needs a complete new city

we elected a thug as governor and now all he cares about are his damn hawkers …wamejaa kila mahali

Mimi, ningependa takataka ziokotwe kwanzia Kawangware, CBD, Gikomba, Dandora, Githurai… everywhere , Jiji liwe safi kwanza! All potholes na pavements zirekebishwe asap! Hakuna haja ya new infrastructure wakati what we’re already using ziko dilapidated.

Besides, all the plans, all the blueprints, and all manners of maendeleo promises nimewahi kusikia za kumordernise Nairobi zingekua implemented Nairobi ingekua a true Wakada!

Sample these…
[ATTACH=full]224539[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]224540[/ATTACH]

What happened to them?

Sasa kama kutengeneza safe high rise buildings ni shida, how are supposed to build underground metros?

Niggers do nigger shit

Arap Moi alisema mpange uzazi mkasema ni siasa…

I agree on 1 and 3.

Space ya subway? So which Kenyan owns the land say 50 metres below ground. Show me one nimpatie Kuona Mbele award…
They needed space for Thika Road,you know what happened. All we need is to give the job to the peoples president.
Its no coincidence that even AU recognized the genius and gave him a job to do with infrastructure…

Which genius ?

The people president…:smiley:

Hawa wanavuta bhangi gani
Note it’s 1920s

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkqz3lpUBp0