Why KenyaTalk Needs Better Moderators If It Wants to Survive

[SIZE=7]Why KenyaTalk Needs Better Moderators If It Wants to Survive[/SIZE]
https://secure.gravatar.com/avatar/5049660498b0b217b9f31e894b31da79?s=80&d=mm&r=gby Angeline Mbogo

May 27, 2020May 27, 2020
https://afritechnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/christina-wocintechchat-com-LDap559l-MU-unsplash.jpg
KenyaTalk might have once been a decent forum but it has been rapidly degrading as members freely spread tribalism, political propaganda, social stigma, and sexism with little to no moderation.
In this guide, you will find out what is wrong with KenyaTalk and why its moderators need to step up for the forum to survive.
[SIZE=5]What is KenyaTalk?[/SIZE]
KenyaTalk is an online forum where Kenyans can discuss a wide range of topics like politics, relationships, sports, business, and entertainment. The forum is available on the web and mobile thereby enabling members to share and discuss content with ease.
If you have not heard of this forum or used it, then it is probably for the best. Here is why!
As you browse through the many threads, you will come across offensive content that will make you cringe. For instance, a common trend that will stand out within ten minutes of browsing the threads is misogyny.
Furthermore, it is easy to spot offensive language because it is in the headings of the threads, the content itself, and the replies.
[INDENT]A member of the forum wrote on a Reddit thread: “I dabble between KenyaTalk and Reddit. For me, KenyaTalk lacks quality moderators and the content is often crass and often too insensitive.”[/INDENT]
[SIZE=5]Where Are the Moderators?[/SIZE]
A lot of offensive content is going unnoticed on KenyaTalk and one can only conclude that the moderators are either inattentive or lack the time to sift through all the content. This could result in members moving to other forums where distasteful language is intolerable.
Interestingly, KenyaTalk has published terms and rules of use on its website. For instance, one statement warns users as follows: “You agree to not use the Service to submit or link to any [defamatory content], promotes hate speech, abusive, hateful, threatening, tribal, spam or spam-like, likely to offend, contains adult or objectionable content, contains personal information of others, risks copyright infringement, encourages unlawful activity or otherwise violates any laws. While participating, it is important to keep in mind this value above all others: show enough respect to others so that we all may continue to enjoy this platform.”
https://afritechnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Rules-1024x524.png
Sadly, members are violating several of these rules like:
[li]Impersonating someone in a misleading manner[/li][li]Sharing photos of others probably without consent[/li][li]Using abusive language when starting discussion threads or when replying to comments that other members have posted[/li][li]Using adult images as profile pictures[/li][li]Abusing members of staff[/li][/ul]
While it is a good thing that the forum has created a set of clear rules, it is ironic that the moderators are ignoring members that violate them. But why would they do this?
Forums like KenyaTalk depend on ads for their income. Therefore, to drive as much traffic as possible to their websites, they may refrain from applying strict actions to users that violate their rules.
[SIZE=5]Is It All Bad?[/SIZE]
KenyaTalk is not all bad.
You can find decent discussions on matters like Coronavirus and corruption but, frankly, such threads are uncommon. If you are looking for decent content, you will have to dig deep through the pages or simply go elsewhere.
https://afritechnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2020/05/Thread.png
Unless KenyaTalk manages to improve its moderation process, the forum is destined to spiral further and users will likely end up going to Reddit or other social media networks instead.

Courtesy of Afritechnews.com

Nice marketing. Nothing people love more than filth and degradation. The village is ungovernable

Picha ya mboozee na guitar tafadhali.

Damn those feminist neckbeards

ukweli ni eti Afritechnews.com will die first.

Lol juzi I watched a thread grow to 3 pages of adults insulting and sexualising a child (Kyalo’s daughter) and before that, the same happened with a thread on Nameless’ daughter.

I don’t know who that article is supposed to appeal to and i dont know why we even have mods on this site.

True, check in old Kenyatalk posts and you’ll realize there are mostly old names except maybe a few guys like @Touchlyrics , @Simiyu22 etc. And there were also plentiful of pink handles

But they left.

This village went to the dogs after akina Deorro na Makonika crew left. Thats why unapata they can tolerate such nonsense ya Trumane Capote posting 50 threads in a day with 0 replies, and pinning 8 useless posts in a section.

But hey, atleast we now know the latest brothels in town, and whoring charges. Thats Ktalk cesspool for you.

Na niaje wewe si village sponsor:D:D

Sisi tuliingia kijijini time ya corona ju ya kuboeka lockdown indoors na already tuko ligi moja

Spoken like 10 sane men.

Deorro naona amekunywa femiplan mapema na kusambaza misogyny feminist propaganda. Ghaseer

KTalk is surviving. The title should have been “Why KenyaTalk needs better moderators if it wants to thrive”.

Kenyatalk iko sawa tu

Haha. Huku ni kujuana na corruption, just like the society we live in! Walk around utapata watu wako na 500 messages are sponsors. Hiyo criteria yao ya titles ni umeffi tupu. But some of us are not really bothered with useless titles that dont pay bills.

Kuna thread somewhere watu wakizusha.

Should it also limit how much content one can post in a day?
And truly, admeans need to reign in on brothels/lanye stories and vitriol against females.
And finally, kitambo you’d stay on this forum for hours consuming news and getting entertained. Siku hizi you just pop in for a few and leave.
But still, asante kwa wale sisi hustruggle kupost

No alternative. Other sites you find three or four people caressing each others ego

There used to be very lit hekayas them days. @administrator , call your mods muingie round table.

Ktalk is a great site, but you really need to do some fumigations. At times hata huwezi fungua ktalk in public juu uta fungua upate arse kubwa ya momo imejaza screen watu washangae kunaendaje.

Many pink handles cannot take the shits thrown at them every 5 minutes by the same characters who recycle their handles. Multi-handlism that is rampant here is one of the reasons the site has a bad reputation.
Misogynists ni wengi sana hapa. Along with stalkers, bullies and trolls. Hail the IGNORE button.
The MoDs are also extremely lazy. Having said that, some people do not contribute a bean. They want others to write for them. Then complain about the content.

Deorro played a huge part ya kuangusha KT.