Why TZ SGR is cheaper. The only info I could find.

[ATTACH=full]131039[/ATTACH]
Look at the Standard of track. That immediately gives you the idea of the tonnage it will be hauling.

Swamps. I don’t have to remind you about the bridges that crossed over the mangrove forest so as to protect the habitat and for safety concerns.

Structure gauge, single stack, unlike kenya double stack.

Embankment height. I believe Kenya we had to pack soild and rocks to raise the ground.

Cost of cement and finally the major factor. Number of bridges. Only one in Tanzania. Kenyan SGR you cannot even count.

Guys, urgue from facts not blind hatred.

ongetha land compensation

Thought land belongs to the state in TZ

Huezi argue facts na Nasarites utachoka akili bure alafu jamaa waanze ‘mamako’ ‘butt scratcher’

Hapo umenena. They can never go wrong . Safi kama pamba. Hizo juju za wazimu mkuu ni nomaa sana.

Give up already, my Friend!
No use trying to convince them when they already have an angle of their own!

As things develop i’m pretty sure the Ugandans will settle for a diesel line.

And eventually transition to an electric line in the future seeing that they’re building new power stations.

You obviously wouldn’t expect any of them to admit they are wrong. But at least the info is out there now.

These are some of the facts that @coldpilsner could have added to his article titled, ‘jubilee is a failed government…mpende msipende.’
What he attached was a biased newspaper article the same way his seniors take newspaper cuttings as evidence in courts… I never heard his honest opinion apart from insults here n there…

In the capacity section, I thought ours is 17-22m?

You seem to look at this from only one side. What about facts za Jubilee?

OMG the lengths we go to defend bullshit. The Kenyan diesel SGR costs almost double the electric rail in Tanzania,and only 50km longer,let that fact sink in first.

Land Compensation that everyone keeps singing about only took up 15-20Bn of the project cost. Good luck justifying the rest of the 150+ Billion using swamps,bridges and sijui height.

The Jubilee government will not be here forever but their costly blunders will be with us for a very long time,so cut the blind sycophancy and stop defending the indefensible ffs. It is Kenyans and their generations that will suffer in repaying a loan for an expensive and already obsolete railway line.

@denis young, if you want to go abroad for cranial pressure release, then continue arguing with guys who cannot analyse and come up with a well reasoned argument for or against.
I’d though of answering the “Tv line is cheaper” message but decided not to.

In TZ and Ethiopia where we are always compared to, when the govt wants your land they just take it. In Kenya the govt must compensate you hence that cost is factored in the final cost making our project more expensive.

You have to add the number and size of stations, number of trains and the ‘public participation’ leading to changes in route and design.

If you were to build a 3 bedroom bungalow or a 6 bedroom mansion, what do you think would cost more?

As is, the Kenyan SGR can be electrified at an extra cost, and it will still be double stacked with double the load capacity of the TZ one…

In the document you can see that to Kampala kenya transports about 8000 plus containers a day, the tz line ati inabeba 216 pekee because even their port facilities are shit.
Nowonder kenya we improved our cargo handling and expanded the port.

Hii sweep Jo…:D:D:D:D ati newspaper cuttings…

It’s tiresome trying to hammer logic into an empty cranium. Ukileta facts wanazicounter na gibberish. Anyway deep within their souls wanajua ukweli lakini accepting it ni shida kwao.

I once asked for a case study where a purely electrical line is strictly and the only one used to haul massive cargo from one end of the country to another. Hadi was leo sijawahi pata. The only ones I know are light rails and high speed for passengers. Cargo still remains a diesel locomotive thing. Tupende tusipende. Unless there is one that exists but has never been archived. On top of that the size of intended cargo goes hand in hand with the expected design and local factors that change from country to country say compensation, environment into which it’s being built…etc

UG and Tz are making the same assumptions on Electric train yet they don’t have the 800-1000MW needed to power it. That in total is nearly all the power they produce in each of their country. They will go diesel just like us until we all finally tap Ethiopian power. FYI Tz say their SGR will be powered by Ethiopian power with a 400KVA line from Suswa Kenya to Dodoma. They are depending on us to get it. Alternatively they wanted to use their natural gas plants but that contract has not been agreed and recently megafools suspended it all together until all contracts are redone afresh. It will also take 10 years to build and get them ready for production. Kenya SGR electrification will initially be using Ethiopian power from Gibe 3 hydro plant until when we finally fully exploit the 1000MW menengai geothermal plant. menengai plant is due for tender by PPP. It takes roughly 7-10 years to build it as well.