Will Kenya Ever Create a GOOGLE , SPOTIFY,FACEBOOK , TWITTER etc ?

Are there any successful Kenyan tech startups , products , innovations right now coz i can’t see any activity in the kenyan tech space ?
What’s the oulook ?

… msiseme MOBIUS , JUMIA and M-PESA , they are not even African !

OSHENI MECHO KIDOGO !

[ATTACH=full]246369[/ATTACH]

WTF? How do we osha mecho with this ???

Google company inaitwa mode.

there you go sir …

[ATTACH=full]246377[/ATTACH]

sande sana

Kitu 3yrs ago pia kuna dame aliuza ecommorce website yake for a cool 100m… unfortunately i cannot remember her name/ website.
Jazapay pia ni ingine…

Noogle do something instead of asking questions. If you succeed it will be Kenya did… if not you chew the bullet alone. Comprende?

Little cab

Noogle ni wewe , nikikushika nitakurarua shingo…
[ATTACH=full]246384[/ATTACH]

Nigga Kenyan startups have collectively collected more VC money than most countries in the continent.

We are only behind Nigeria and SA. The issue may be black led startups

Kina Tala, Branch, MKopa Solar, Twiga Foods, Flare, WeFarm etc

Only TALA & BRANCH are popular for obvious reasons …i wouldn’t call that true innovation but enhancement of what banks do …The others are not viable in urban settings… Yaani hakuna unique tech huku

:D:D:D:D Not a chance if Our so-called “successful” are the likes of Box Headed Itumbi and his paid servants soiling this website. :D:D:D

lakini apart from the us can you name any country that has produced a visible mass tech product

We have a Kenyatalk Mpesa and a sportpesa

Yeah, you created them from scratch- didn’t you? :stuck_out_tongue:

They are all partly Kenyan , hata kenyatalk is owned by people with dual citizenships …

same as :
-M-PESA (ni ya VODACOM)
-SPORPESA (ni ya Bulgarian / european drug lords)
-JUMIA (ni ya french guys , registered in Europe… wtf)

SPOTIFY (Sweden)
HTC (Taiwan)
SONY ( Japan)
HUAWEI (CHINA)

Guess I was looking more at the software side, hardware is not one of those working from the garage to come up with something type, needs a big head start compared to the Google and Facebook type tech.
Spotify is not a mass product, compared to the Google and Twitter and the likes, maybe cause it’s a paid product which limits it’s reach.

But if you look at the level of Google and Amazon, you can hardly count other countries that have had such a massive influence in that type of tech,

Majority of Sportpesa is held by Kenyans. Bulgarians own 47% against 53% held by Kenyans.

Wacha ujinga. Wefarm is used by over 1million farmers. Mkopa solar has gotten close to 15bn shillings in VC funding. There is also AfricasTalking and Mode. Africastalking alone does over 15million daily API calls. It powers SMS for both Tala and Branch as well as other companies. Mode was recently sold to a Swedish firm but even before then it was powering all of the Airtel kopacredo initiative across the world i.e. not just Airtel kenya.

We also have Bitpesa which Safaricom has tried very many times to kick out of the market through litigation of their key Kenyan partner Lipisha.
I am wondering, have you ever created something important being used by even 100 people?