Windows 7 Users, You Are On Your Own As From Yesterday

The Windows 7 End of Life is now here. On January 14, 2020 Microsoft stopped updating or providing support for Windows 7.
While Windows 7 entering its End of Life phase doesn’t mean your PC will suddenly stop working, it does mean that Windows 7 users will need to start thinking about finally moving on from Windows 7, either by upgrading to Windows 10 (or a Linux alternative), or buying a new PC.
We’ve put together a list of everything you need to know about Windows 7 End of Life, and in this guide we’ll show you how you can prepare for Windows 7 End of Life, and upgrade your PC with the minimum of fuss.

This decision by Microsoft isn’t surprising. The decade-old operating system, which launched in July 22, 2009, may have been incredibly popular – and it still is with recent reports from Netmarketshare suggesting that Windows 7 is still being used on 39% of all PCs. However, in the shadow of Windows 10’s success, it only makes sense for Microsoft dedicate all their time and effort in improving the new OS.

Wannacry anyone?

They launched it at the Museum of Kenya :D:D in 2009. Time flies.

Bluekeep is what people should be on the lookout for.

we are not going to buy windows 10. hahahahaha

Dual boot ubuntu

Still on windows xp na sijistress

Why though? XP runs like shit on Core i processors. Everything is slower… encoding video, photoshop, copying files etc. Plus it chews through battery.

Iko tu sawa , checking mail na kutumia office. All the functions I need ( basics )

Niko vista banae

It’s all in the script…upgrade to Windows 10 means (in most cases) upgrade of both hardware and sofware… Microsoft might just “force the hand” of XP/Win7 users by creating a malware themselves .

Mtu was service pack 3 nakuelewa kabisaaa:D

Windoz 7 yangu nakuaga nimeweka updates OFF because it is a pirated version. If I download updates inaaza kusema you are a victim of counterfeit software. I don’t like Windows 10 at all

Imeniuma lakini nitazoea. I’ll upgrade to windows 8

Just avoid update “KB971033” like the plague and you are ok

I used XP up to mid 2018 bila shida. Still running Windows 7 on two other machines. And this involved heavy computing. Rigged my machine with a higher RAM and all was fine. I was running Power BI, Visual Studio, Macromedia, Netbeans, Java SDK, Heidi, Mysql, Crystal reports and a bunch of other softwares. I don’t like how Microsoft always seek to force our hand. If it works don’t fix it.

win 10 has been out for 5 years, how does an update hit you so hard?

Linux mint 19 + wine