WOULD YOU LIKE TO START A BUTCHERY BUSINESS? HERE IS ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW

[ATTACH=full]230787[/ATTACH]
If there is one thing Kenyans love, it’s having a great meal inclusive of meat. Whether it’s meat stew, nyama choma, wet fry, mshikaki, meat balls or even meat in delicacies such as shawarma and burgers.

This is what makes a butchery business both attractive and profitable. Operating a butchery is extremely easy but before you start up, it’s important to have these questions answered;

What operating licences will you need?

Where will I get a good supplier?

Which location is appropriate?

How much capital do you need?

Getting Started

One key thing to figure out before opening a butchery is where you’ll get your meat. If you are starting out, you don’t need to stock a wide variety of meat, focus on beef and chicken and grow to other varieties gradually.

The best places to get your meat supply is licensed slaughter houses in your area. For those within Nairobi, you can find a trusted meat supplier in Dagoretti, Kajiado and City Market. For those out of Nairobi, ensure you find a slaughter house or supplier that is safe and licensed.

Licences

To operate a butchery legally, ensure you have these three licences;

Single Business Permit – The cost varies from county to county. In Nairobi, a permit for a medium trader is Ksh.10,000 valid for a year.

Food Handling Certificate – It costs Ksh. 600 and is valid for 6 months.

Fire Safety Certificate – Valid for a year and costs Ksh. 3,000.

Total – Ksh. 13,600

Basic Equipment

When starting out a butchery, you will need some basic equipment to start with before expanding to more equipment with time;

Meat Cabinet – Ksh. 75,000

2 Butcher’s knives – Ksh. 2500 each

5 Butchery hooks – Ksh. 500 each

Cutting block/Wooden stump – Ksh. 5,000

Digital weighing scale – Ksh. 5,500

Wrapping materials – Ksh. 500

2 White lab coats – Ksh. 850 each

Cleaning materials – Ksh. 1000

Total – Ksh. 96,200

All prices are approximate.

The most profitable location for your butchery should be a high traffic area preferably shopping centers within estates which are at a close proximity to households.

A decent space will cost between 20,000 – 40,000 monthly rent depending on the location.

Once you find a suitable space, you can renovate and brand according to your preference.

Investment vs. Profit

Considering all the expenses listed above from licenses to equipment and rent, the total approximate investment we are looking at is

Licenses – Ksh.13,600

Equipment – Ksh. 96,200

Rent – Ksh. 20,000

Total – Ksh. 129,800

Now let’s assume your butchery is at a busy neighborhood and you bring in 200kgs of meat that you bought at a whole sale price of Ksh.250 a kg. That comes to Ksh. 50,000.

If you have a good day and sell 150kgs at a retail price of Ksh. 400 per kg, you make a good Ksh.60,000 daily and make a Ksh. 10,000 profit. In a couple of months you’ll have your return on investment and can expand to better equipment and a variety of meat.

[INDENT][/INDENT]

Hekaya za abunuwasi

hehehe nugu hiyo business idea poa sana

Hujaweka salary ya wafanyi kazi

biz most za butchery mimeona huwa hata hazikai 3 months

toa hapo kwa profit ya 10k per, watakula Ksh 600 each

what might be the reason monene

@nichonasri sasa fanya ya cleaning services company

starting capital ni how much

2m

lemme contact my boss ruto

Safi sokwe…actualize hio plan basi

Most butchers and 99% of consumers do not know the difference between prime, choice and select cuts.
They don’t even know which part to identify the best part for the best cut depending on the meal they are cooking or mode they will use to cook the meat.
Well me I don’t have that problem. I like going to butchers that don’t know the difference between different cuts and the price is the same per kg… There I get a bargain.
Supermarket butchers and wale wa malls wanaelewa. They charge different price per kg for different cuts…
When choosing meat, the part of the the animal that moves the least is the most tender and nutritious. [ATTACH=full]230791[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]230792[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]230795[/ATTACH]

Thanks a million.

An associate originally wrote this piece: http://www.kuzabiashara.co.ke/blog/would-you-like-to-start-a-butchery-business-here-is-all-you-need-to-know/

Ati butcher, business nishawahi fanya na nikaipenda ni ya kuuza njugu.

quite obvious you are not well vast in the fields of accounts and finance

we know

kwani ilikua aje

nataka mahali nitauza hatakama ni 30kgs kwa siku,stand alone butchery hata kuuza 30kgs kwa siku ni ngumu labda zile ziko ndani ya vilabu za burudani