Wtf is happening in laikipia?

and that's why they haven't taken the moral high ground like ur god ojinga of calling for a press conference to condemn just a bit of property destruction and not the whole lot.
They haven't condemned it meaning, they condone it. Anyway, the poster asked, politics aside what could be happening in Laikipia?

I ain't profiling lakini kama kuna watu arrogant, ignorant and proud then they are the Maasai, Samburu and the Pokot...very difficult to reason with. But the government should shun the neglect and find long term solutions to their problems.

uncle nyam

Village Elder
Hio mambo ya kufuga ngombe na mtu hana pasture ndio sijawahi elewa. They should only keep cattle they can efficiently graze on their communal lands without encroaching on ranches and peoples farms. Sasa hizo ngombe zao wanazifanya kuwa everyone's problem mara ndio hizo tao ati ni grazing leaving sh!t everywhere. Pia wasonge na muda wajaribu other money making ventures
HOUSE NEGRO PERSONIFIED

K

Kimakia

Ladies and gentlemen regardless of your political leaning this is just wrong! Over three hundred cows shot bana! I have lived amongst herders and I know how they treasure cattle! The conflict between conservationists and herders is slowly slipping out of control and it's high time it's nipped in the bud!
View attachment 136853
Noone supports killing or joking around with someone else's livelihood,however people should learn to respect other people boundaries.Let alone maasai in Laikipia there are some grazing their flock within Kiambu and advertenly let them stray into peoples plots to graze ,when accosted they switch to primitivity.In Laikipia I am sure the victim provoked the incident

mikel

Village Sponsor
my contribution is just one question, no, two actually; (i) would a small contingent of police officers, under the command of an inspector or NCO go maliciously shooting not ten or twenty animals but three hundred? ((ii) when the story broke Friday night we had three different herders each claiming to have lost "more than 200 animals" to the shooting...that in my silly head translates to more than 600. So how many animals were shot?

before nirukiwe for defending the police "even where they are wrong", although i actually haven't, wacha niungame dhambi ya kupenda kuuliza unpopular questions when we could swim with the current and condemn the police....
The numbers would most likely be exaggerated for obvious reasons. But for your 1st question we know what our policemen are capable of, recent events do not help their case.

emali

Village Elder
Waafrika tuna shida... so these 'hunt to extinction' turned conservationists land grabbers ndio tunatetea badala ya kuwasaidia hawa wenzetu? We have to accept that not everybody wants to live in a slum in the city eti ni kuishi kisasa..this land belongs to us the natives

L

Luther12

I usually go to Ruai almost every weekend on various missions. I have a friend who owns lots of land in the area. Around June, the friend called me midweek and asked me to accompany him to Ruai urgently sounding very agitated. On hooking up with him, he told me his caretaker had called him saying maasai herds men had let loose their cows on his crop of maize and were refusing to drive them out. By the time we arrived, the cattle were out of his land but the devastation left behind was terrible. We traced the herders and attempted to ask them why they had let their cows destroy someones maize and they started playing their stupid games of pretending not to know what we were talking about. We ended up at the local police station and reported the matter, the police said they will track them and make them pay for the damage but nothing happened.
What would you do with such people if it was you?
Why, I’d spray the maize and leave the gates open. Hawangewahi rudia.

spear

Village Sponsor
Why, I’d spray the maize and leave the gates open. Hawangewahi rudia.
He..he...no chills. However they are also known to kill those who resist the invasion especially the Samburu warriors who have AK 47 not spears and arrows. The misconceptions here is that they only raid white ranches. If they do that their embassies and foreign media would be active in a second. The most affected are small scale farmers who easily lose their whole crop in one raid.