Wtf is happening in laikipia?

L

Luther12

The morons even have the audacity to carry pliers with them to cut through barbed wire fencing.
He..he...no chills. However they are also known to kill those who resist the invasion especially the Samburu warriors who have AK 47 not spears and arrows. The misconceptions here is that they only raid white ranches. If they do that their embassies and foreign media would be active in a second. The most affected are small scale farmers who easily lose their whole crop in one raid.
Exactly! Those are criminals and economic saboteurs and should be handled as such. Upuzi wa masquerading as desperate nomads haiwesmek.

patco

Village Chief
This wazungus never bought these lands but their grandfathers grabbed them, they are idle lands and instead of govt helping the pastoralists to get water and pastures, they are busy protecting the inheritor of the land that belonged to kenyans.
No wonder when you go abroad these people treat africans as less humans.
sio kwa ubaya but hawa maasai herders they unleash their cows even in the estates, huoni binadamu mahali but ng'ombe zinakula fence yako vile zinataka hadi zishibe. dare you chase those cows away, you'll see some camouflaged figure appear from the bushes somewhere shouting. saa hii wanangoja saa zile nyasi ya hay na silage imemea, then they unleash their cows ati ni ancestral land. this thing is political. the moment you see the likes of lempurkel complaining jua kuna jambo. they probably own the cows and just want to create a media frenzy.

kalel

Village Elder
I won't even bother reading your comments because most of you have never set foot in laikipia but I'm also an expert in matters Antarctica though I've never been. Samburu herders are an entitled lot and when they see a healthy patch of grass, land ownership, title deeds and trespassing are just words.
Picture this, 400 herds of cattle invade your land where you're rearing livestock and another part of the land you have a couple of acres of tomatoes. In a matter of hours uko na hasara ya millions but nobody cares.
Shit is real down here but apart from that kaincident, it's all good....... GGMU

Nixer west

Village Elder
Hio mambo ya kufuga ngombe na mtu hana pasture ndio sijawahi elewa. They should only keep cattle they can efficiently graze on their communal lands without encroaching on ranches and peoples farms. Sasa hizo ngombe zao wanazifanya kuwa everyone's problem mara ndio hizo tao ati ni grazing leaving sh!t everywhere. Pia wasonge na muda wajaribu other money making ventures
It is culture. They should be supported in all means to sustain their nomadic life. It can turn into a tourist attraction in future.

Nixer west

Village Elder
sio kwa ubaya but hawa maasai herders they unleash their cows even in the estates, huoni binadamu mahali but ng'ombe zinakula fence yako vile zinataka hadi zishibe. dare you chase those cows away, you'll see some camouflaged figure appear from the bushes somewhere shouting. saa hii wanangoja saa zile nyasi ya hay na silage imemea, then they unleash their cows ati ni ancestral land. this thing is political. the moment you see the likes of lempurkel complaining jua kuna jambo. they probably own the cows and just want to create a media frenzy.
He actually owns the herd that is part of the nuisance.

montecarlo

Village Elder
So how do you deal with invaders?
I once spoke to a civil servant akaniambia the reason Kenya in the 70s and 80s hakukuwa na hizi issues ni good Range management. Kuna corridors and such like terms and factors...I forgot. To be sincere pastoralists huwa na ujeuri sio ya kawaida. To argue that land yote ni yao ni upumbavu wa hali ya juu. The government also is terribly failing since kila kitu Kenya is being done based on political expediency. This will go on for a longtime. A disclaimer before mtu aanze kuongea vizi...I come from Nanyuki and I have interacted with maasais na samburus.....

4makind

Village Elder
I once spoke to a civil servant akaniambia the reason Kenya in the 70s and 80s hakukuwa na hizi issues ni good Range management. Kuna corridors and such like terms and factors...I forgot. To be sincere pastoralists huwa na ujeuri sio ya kawaida. To argue that land yote ni yao ni upumbavu wa hali ya juu. The government also is terribly failing since kila kitu Kenya is being done based on political expediency. This will go on for a longtime. A disclaimer before mtu aanze kuongea vizi...I come from Nanyuki and I have interacted with maasais na samburus.....
I know what you are saying....... they perceive everything from a cow/shoats eye view ** Shoat -from sheep and goats

Nixer west

Village Elder
I usually go to Ruai almost every weekend on various missions. I have a friend who owns lots of land in the area. Around June, the friend called me midweek and asked me to accompany him to Ruai urgently sounding very agitated. On hooking up with him, he told me his caretaker had called him saying maasai herds men had let loose their cows on his crop of maize and were refusing to drive them out. By the time we arrived, the cattle were out of his land but the devastation left behind was terrible. We traced the herders and attempted to ask them why they had let their cows destroy someones maize and they started playing their stupid games of pretending not to know what we were talking about. We ended up at the local police station and reported the matter, the police said they will track them and make them pay for the damage but nothing happened.
What would you do with such people if it was you?
Your friend is Parr of the problem. just like we allocate space for social ameneties like toilet and parks, the same should be done to the indigenous community. Allocate them grazing fields leased out for them by the government.

Mathaais

Village Chief
Your friend is Parr of the problem. just like we allocate space for social ameneties like toilet and parks, the same should be done to the indigenous community. Allocate them grazing fields leased out for them by the government.
Ruai is in no way part of Masai land. It's in Machakos County not Kajiado.

Mzee mzima

Village Sponsor
What's is more important Cops lives or cattle? If bandits use cattle as shields, should the cops just remain as sitting ducks and die.
View attachment 136861 View attachment 136862
This statement is nonsense, the police want to say that there was a gunfight, there were no reports of human injuries or deaths. Yaani the herders used the cows as shields, bullet ya polisi ilikua inagoga ng'ombe inarudi sio?

spear

Village Sponsor
This statement is nonsense, the police want to say that there was a gunfight, there were no reports of human injuries or deaths. Yaani the herders used the cows as shields, bullet ya polisi ilikua inagoga ng'ombe inarudi sio?
Sawa boss, they were shooting at walls. Happy now. Fokojembe wewe.

panktcha

Village Elder
my take,
1. pastoralism has no place in the 21st century. its time these people agreed to settle down and embrace modern ranching, take their kids to school and contribute to national cake. right now we have a scenario where every time there is a drought we have to give them food aid and yet they dont seem to want to change their way of life. they sell their cattle when they are dying rather than when they are fat. what sort of a business model is that?
2. rangeland management. the single biggest cause of drought in northern frontier is not the climatic condition but overgrazing. you will find a person has over 1000 goats and hundreds of cows whereas the land can only sustainably support half of that. County governments need to something about this seriously.
3. while i do not condone the action of the police, it was the only way to get them out. @imei2012 i know you are familiar with the concept of fait accompli, and i believe that this is what these herders were up to. Remember they moved in sometime in April and have now come back. before long they would have become a permanent presence in those ranches and would be harder to get rid of them in the future and thus establishing new facts on the ground.
4.land tenure. you forget that this is not idle land that the herders are moving into but land owned by individuals. how they acquired that land non withstanding, the person enjoys all protections offered by the law unless a lawful process is followed to dispossess them of the same. it is not just ranchers who are complaining but alo small scale farmers who bought shares/land in laikipia.
5. wildlife. laikipia has the second largest population of elepahnts in the country after Tsavo. the rate at which these pastoralists were killing them was crazy. had this not happened, you would be here complaining about elephant poaching.
all in all, it does not look good but it was the best decision to make , any delay would result in future action at a higher cost.
Very well said.