Wtf is happening in laikipia?

Hio mambo ya kufuga ngombe na mtu hana pasture ndio sijawahi elewa. They should only keep cattle they can efficiently graze on their communal lands without encroaching on ranches and peoples farms. Sasa hizo ngombe zao wanazifanya kuwa everyone's problem mara ndio hizo tao ati ni grazing leaving sh!t everywhere. Pia wasonge na muda wajaribu other money making ventures
Funny enough hizo ngo'mbe zitakuliwa hapa nyairoffi na environs:(:(

sio kwa ubaya but hawa maasai herders they unleash their cows even in the estates, huoni binadamu mahali but ng'ombe zinakula fence yako vile zinataka hadi zishibe. dare you chase those cows away, you'll see some camouflaged figure appear from the bushes somewhere shouting. saa hii wanangoja saa zile nyasi ya hay na silage imemea, then they unleash their cows ati ni ancestral land. this thing is political. the moment you see the likes of lempurkel complaining jua kuna jambo. they probably own the cows and just want to create a media frenzy.
..:D:D:D, kuna zingine nimeona zikikula a well maintained hibiscus flower fence hapo kwa gas station just after kabete police station and the herder is actually across the road and on phone! Weeeeueeh

i don't know. spraying poison in the environment is akin to poisoning a well. but i guess such problems are why we have laws.
the following is a true story. its 2000/2001 i cant remember right, one of the worst droughts has hit the country and the pastoralists are on the move again and this time they do not stop in Laikipia but proceed across the dry bed of Tigithi river into Kieni. Remember that time mzee moi was the president, ole kaparo speaker and the guys had guns. everybody is afraid, rumor has it that they are just employees grazing Moi and ole Kaparo cows. s
so these guys are grazing cows on anything green( remember kieni is known for farming cabbages and french beans) and if your cows interact with their herd, you cannot separate them. You don't argue with a man with a gun, more so a 'ruguni' . after a few guys recorded losses,the wazees met and a solution found, furadan, glamaxon and other potent agrochemicals became a short commodity(haikuwa imewithdraiwa then), mix it with water, sprinkle on a strategically placed cabbages on the roadside, lock up your livestock.
none of them lasted two days.

Last edited:

gashwin

Village Chief
the following is a true story. its 2000/2001 i cant remember right, one of the worst droughts has hit the country and the pastoralists are on the move again and this time they do not stop in Laikipia but proceed across the dry bed of Tigithi river into Kieni. Remember that time mzee moi was the president, ole kaparo speaker and the guys had guns. everybody is afraid, rumor has it that they are just employees grazing Moi and ole Kaparo cows. s
so these guys are grazing cows on anything green( remember kieni is known for farming cabbages and french beans) and if your cows interact with their herd, you cannot separate them. You don't argue with a man with a gun, more so a 'ruguni' . after a few guys recorded losses,the wazees met and a solution found, furadan, glamaxon and other potent agrochemicals became a short commodity(haikuwa imewithdraiwa then), mix it with water, sprinkle on a strategically placed cabbages on the roadside, lock up your livestock.
[email protected], did you know that Kabaru is a corruption of the word Kaparo, the old man told me that himself, those fertile lands belonged to his father.now you know
desperation measures...but matters should not be allowed to get there.

Yaani you thinj tgat people will pay money ti follow a herd of cattle?
not follow cows, but to experience the culture, there is an unexploited niche in cultural tourism, but first the pastoralists must settle down, then they can put up facilities to host tourists and make the additional income then. the maasai name is famous world over, it wouldnt be a hard sell. @spear ongea na wakumbwa juu ya hii stori. na mssahau kunirushia kakitu mpesa.

mshale

Village Elder
This whole saga is political. Most of those cattle belong to the political class and thats where they hide their ill gotten wealth. They supply the herders with weapons and provide the muscle to rescue them whenever the law enforcers cause too much trouble to the detriment of the small scale farmers. Therefore to deal with the menace the "sponsors" must be hit where it hurts most, hence the wanton shooting of the cattle.

kah tony

Village Sponsor
I usually go to Ruai almost every weekend on various missions. I have a friend who owns lots of land in the area. Around June, the friend called me midweek and asked me to accompany him to Ruai urgently sounding very agitated. On hooking up with him, he told me his caretaker had called him saying maasai herds men had let loose their cows on his crop of maize and were refusing to drive them out. By the time we arrived, the cattle were out of his land but the devastation left behind was terrible. We traced the herders and attempted to ask them why they had let their cows destroy someones maize and they started playing their stupid games of pretending not to know what we were talking about. We ended up at the local police station and reported the matter, the police said they will track them and make them pay for the damage but nothing happened.
What would you do with such people if it was you?
Your friend must be one of those colonial barons. Smh. I actually feel your pain because when those guys encroach they don' ask if the land is owned by white or african.

kah tony

Village Sponsor
Waafrika tuna shida... so these 'hunt to extinction' turned conservationists land grabbers ndio tunatetea badala ya kuwasaidia hawa wenzetu? We have to accept that not everybody wants to live in a slum in the city eti ni kuishi kisasa..this land belongs to us the natives
It is not about black or white. I'e seen it hizo side za Kiserian. Ngombe zinafagia shamba mzima na ero hapana tambua.

kah tony

Village Sponsor
This is why I like ktalk.

It started off as a mzungu arudi kwao then ended up as a very objective discussion and now we know hizo Ngombe committed suicide

WuTang

Village Chief
How did the 'innocent' nomads react afterwards?

for reasons i don't understand, they did not take revenge on the locals, i heard of the maasai herders committed suicide. the others just took the little livestock left and were given access to Mt. Kenya forest by the government to graze. they didn't shoot people or burn houses as expected. there is a saying in kikuyu that goes like if it gives birth to fire it will breastfeed fire. i guess they didn't want a war and decided to preserve the few cattle they had remaining.

D

Deorro

for reasons i don't understand, they did not take revenge on the locals, i heard of the maasai herders committed suicide. the others just took the little livestock left and were given access to Mt. Kenya forest by the government to graze. they didn't shoot people or burn houses as expected. there is a saying in kikuyu that goes like if it gives birth to fire it will breastfeed fire. i guess they didn't want a war and decided to preserve the few cattle they had remaining.
hizi I heard ndio zile za Changaa den