Xiaomi fanboys……….Redmi note 7 user review and rooting guide.

@Jimit ,@Deorro , @tall mnyama everywhere , @Soprano , @Deez Nuts @Nyamgondho and all other enthusiasts,
First of all big shout to Check out Xiaomi Kenya (@Xiaomi_Kenya): https://twitter.com/Xiaomi_Kenya?s=09 ahead of their grand opening on Sunday at the ihub. Very honest fella he just met my bro and after bro confirming the phone was legit I sent him money and my phone was shipped from kings landing to summerfell (I know its lame but fuck it).

Anyway after numerous procrastination I finally got my hands on this mid range device and I must admit that it’s a decent phone for the price range and the specs it packs( I wont dwell much on that) So far two weeks in I cant complain the 4000mAH battery gets me through the day without the need to recharge. The phones selling point is the camera and I will attach some images for your perusal you be the judge. I have three camera apps installed, the stock cam, google cam and the open camera( for 4k 30fps video recording) and am yet to test all the different mods.

The cons so far, I still believe xiaomi should have done better with the screen to body ratio (here Samsung A series wins) they left a “big” edge around the top and bottoms! and the notch is big as fcuk! i thought when they said a tear drop it was a tear drop ! its a godamn hail stone!
Secondly the ads will kill you! Every app contains them and even during installation of apps they are pushed down your throat! You have to turn them off in the advanced settings of each and every app! Am still looking for a one click solution. I know when you buy a xiaomi device they reduce the price in exchange for ads yaani you are the product not the phone but they have gone overboard.

Onto the important subject …rooting the redmi note 7…….Just like I predicted earlier on in another thread I would brick it flash eu rom unbrick flash stock rom etc that’s exactly how in played out !..to start with I had to wait for 125hrs so that xiaomi could let me unlock the boot loader. If you need a tutorial on how to unlock boot loader follow this guide
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sx8WT2VtogQ

Rooting a phone requires a stable fast internet since everything that could go wrong always goes wrong (murphys law) and in my case it did. First of all there is a difference between redmi note 7 pro(exclusively sold in china and india) and the redmi note 7 sold globally. They use different TWRP files, one is code named lavender and the other violet and any attempt to flash and interchange TWRP file on the other will leave you with a boot loop just like yours truly smart ass did! I had to brick mine so that you don’t have to brick yours but in case you do follow this guide
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FqDanVquERA

I Will attach the relevant files in a link.
So here we go :
[li]Extract the adb folder[/li][li]Place the TWRP FILE inside the adb folder (the file here is called “recovery.img”)[/li][li]Double click on the cmd in the adb folder to launch command prompt[/li][li]Boot your device into fast boot by shutting it down then pressing the power plus volume down until uone the fast boot android icon.[/li][li]Connect your phone to your pc (I assume you have all the necessary drivers installed before hand and USB debugging turned on)[/li][li]In the cmd wind type “fastboot devices” without apostrophe and hit enter you should see a random number plus fastboot know your phone has been recognized![/li][li]Type “fastboot flash recovery and drag your recovery.img file into the cmd window” please note there is single space between the commands and hit enter.[/li][li]You should see some info with words OKAY on two lines know the TWRP file has been flashed successfully on your device.[/li][li]Boot directly into TWRP by pressing the power button and volume up button and realease the power button when you see the redmi logo but continue pressing the volume up button until you see the team win menu.[/li][li]Click on install go back to the pc and copy the magisk file into the root folder of the redmi click on it swipe right to install. Sometimes you may find the files on the redmi encrypted click on wipe data button that’s why its important to backup important info before attempting to root your device.[/li][li]After install of magisk click reboot then do not install twrp as a system app.[/li][li]You should now be rooted and your magisk app should appear in the app drawer. It should work with all your banking apps as for my Safaricom app just hide root for it and you are good to go.[/li][/ul]
NB: Flashing TWRP overwrites the stock recovery so make sure you first update your device to the current miui version before proceeding since if you don’t your devices wont receive OTA updates so UPDATE FIRST THEN FLASH TWRP NOT THE OTHER WAY ROUND!!! Trust me I tried what you are thinking!! At the time of penning this thread there is no known method at least to me on how to receive OTA updates with TWRP flashed on your device.

I have tried to shorten the procedure to keep the post not long any questions are welcomed in the comments section.
I will not be held responsible for any bricked devices and for whatever reason if your phone is stuck in the boot loop but can access the twrp recovery don’t delete the system partion!!! Don’t ! just find a way to unfuck yourself. Links will be provided to necessary files Nice weekend
And Welcome home …Check out Xiaomi Kenya (@Xiaomi_Kenya): https://twitter.com/Xiaomi_Kenya?s=09…….mi band 4 loading hii kitambi itajua haijui! meffi!
[ATTACH=full]247932[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]247933[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]247934[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]247940[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]247941[/ATTACH][ATTACH=full]247942[/ATTACH]

Perhaps it is because my Mi Mix is Chinese version? Why don’t I get to see the ads people keep on complaining about?

Depends some people change region and that works for them

That looks like Moyale town

I like its camera. works wonders

Install F-Droid https://f-droid.org/en/
Download Adaway from Fdroid https://f-droid.org/repo/org.adaway_40207.apk
add these to Adaway host sources

[CODE]https://raw.githubusercontent.com/StevenBlack/hosts/master/hosts
https://hosts-file.net/ad_servers.txt
https://easylist.to/easylist/easyprivacy.txt
https://easylist.to/easylist/easylist.txt

optional one for porn
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/Clefspeare13/pornhosts/master/0.0.0.0/hosts[/CODE]

download, let it apply, reboot and enjoy adfree experience

Asante will do that kesho

Powerful.
And a powerful, wonderful review up there, Friend! Eye ️ opener.

Hii layman kama mimo naeza fanya ivi? Hizi ads za xiaomi are killing me

Nice review.

Gold.

@bishopheahmund what are the pro and con of rooting a phone.

Very good review … Will soon be getting the maxed out Chinese Variant ‘Note 7 Pro’ or the K20 Pro still Chinese( which I’m still trying to justify whether I need)…but will drop a review.

[ATTACH=full]248252[/ATTACH]jumia is offering the 128 gb ver cheaper than the ihub opening

Ads zinaniua pia.
Hapo kwa ku add sijui nini kwa adaway host sources ndio sijaelewa.
Nitatuma mtu tusker mbili mkipatana masehem

has LTE band 3 and 20?

Some further info:

1. The remove ads feature from lucky patcher and adaway apps seems to have greatly reduced the number of adds.
  2. If you want a greater variety of fonts and themes from the theme app set your region to India. This will also activate other apps previously frozen like mipay, getapps and more

I have tweaked everything to my hearts desire except two things,

1. I can’t Instal xposed framework the ones I get seem not compatible with android pie.

2. You tube vanced : tried to flash it via twrp and also via magisk in both instances everything goes fine and successful however it doesn’t show up in the app drawer, I followed all the tutorials carefully but I guess kuna script inanihangaisha veterans saidieni

Rn7 wins EISA award as best flagship
https://www.eisa.eu/awards/xiaomi-redmi-note-7/

online naona watu wakisema kama hutaki ads change to EU Rom

1. Install Edxposed framework it’s fully compatible with pie atleast 95% of apps behave with it.
  2. If you must use miui after root i would suggest you install miui.eu. Most of those region specific item are unlocked.