Yangu ni swali

How can sugar produced in Brazil packed in ships and moved halfway round the world be cheaper than sugar packed in mumias and moved in a mitsubishi fuso, how now? that should be our concern not this protectionist crap.

Even kuku from brazil is way cheaper than za kenchic

Eggs from South Africa are cheaper than those coming Kiambu poultry farmers.

cost of production

Inefficiency.

Economics , cost incurred in production of that sugar in mumias is higher that the cost of importing

it all boils down to production cost and intermediaries before the product gets to the end consumer

Corruption.

nunueni hio mayai ya south africa na sisi tukunywe sukari ya uganda,stupid mod, kwani south africa iko eac,ugandans are not asking but demanding

True. It doesn’t add up.

Sasa weweeee, kwa nini unanirukia asubuhi hivi? Of all the comments on this thread, yangu tu ndo imekuoffend?

Exactly, which raises the cost of production. For example just try to be a poultry farmer in kenya and you will see the cost of feed and farm implements is too high. Why? Because we want to overpriced our fuel, in turn kplc overprices it’s power, feterlizer barons overprice their product, the feed manufacturer not wanting to bear the brunt, overprices his product. The farmer ends up bearing the burden of all this gluttony and barely makes a profit and this is by overcharging the consumer for a product which costs a quatre of the price halfway around the world.
The government needs to wake up and protect all farmers otherwise the young generation will fear venturing into the business… This corruption is counterproductive even to the government and the cartels themselves because if they provided a condusive environment for farming, more and more guys would venture into it thus the losses incurred by lowering the prices would be recovered and surpassed by the simple economics of scale. Instead of importing eggs, we would be exporting them to another african hell hole which is like us currently.

@Wakanyama GROW UP…

For those supporting the open market economy,in your reasoning wouldn’t it be better for us if we imported everything that is cheaper than what we have in kenya? It would be nice for the consumer don’t you think?

yes,and the money you will save will help you in other things,e.g if we import cheap maize for animal feed production the cows will increase milk production thus lowering the price

Mahindi will be the next big fight. Hawa barons buy maize from Tz and Ug for less than a thousand and dump it at NCPB at 1800-1900 sa hizo farmers wanalia ati selling maize at 1900 ni hasara kwao

Thats a brilliant idea, but the death of a growing economy (read ‘nation’)
Where would the youths get employment if all products came from foreign companies?

There is also the question of high farm gate prices and high labor costs.

ION, it bothers me that the court awarded teachers a basic salary increment of 50%. That is insane! The net effect is that the labor costs in the country will spiral out of control in the next few years . The economy of this country should not be controlled by the courts and nefarious labor unions! One of the reasons KQ is in ICU is because the management gave in to the demands of pilots and other airline staff, which resulted in a high wage bill.

Last I recall, there were some tourist hotels importing tomatoes from Spain and potatoes from Egypt (!!) while our farmers in Mwea, Timau, Kinangop etc were throwing away theirs for lack of a market.

On the issue of sugar, why do we have to plant sugarcane that matures in 18months while there are varieties that mature in a third of that time? Brazil hata ni mbali sana, have a look at Kenana in Sudan.

Our taxation regime is simply ridiculous and thoughtless. A country cannot grow on taxes. A country grows on production and trade. Our technocrats at treasury beleive in more taxation so every budget taxes keep going up. More products are included in the vat threshhold. Sin tax is raised. All manner of levies on power and fuel. Prohibitive taxes on vehicles(a product that we do not even produce). All this hinders growth. Im yet to understand why we tax capital goods that we do not manufacture like commercial vehicles and machinery. Its nonsense and on this i can say confidently that Uhuru Kenyatta has no clue on how to turn around a country. Very little policy change aimed at growing the economy. Very little. And the cost of production will not be brought down by massive infrastructure projects until we change our punitive tax regime

11 Likes