Yes, teachers shouldn’t go back to Northern Kenya

So, the TSC and the ministry of education are threatening teachers who persist in their refusal to go back to their work places in northern Kenya.

While I think Kenyan teachers have become too much with their unrealistic monetary demands, I strongly support those teachers who’ve refused to go back to potential bloody butcheries in the northern parts of Kenya.

The government, as usual, is always and I mean always too eager to tell citizens ‘ we’ve provided enough security’ when in fact, gangsters/terrorists are always ready to prove this assertion wrong.

Ordinary Kenyans should know this: The government doesn’t protect the ordinary mwananchi; the government only engages in some reactionary hot air when citizens are killed. Note: citizens not citizen. The government pretends to act only and only when we the ordinary Kenyans are killed in large numbers. Today, if you are shot dead by gangsters, the government wont even notice. But when, say, 30 of you are killed, then there will be some reactionary noise from government officials.

So, whenever you wake up safe, don’t assume it’s because of the government; it’s just that thugs decided not to break into your house or, if you are a believer, it’s because of God’s protection and NOT the government.

So, back to teachers: just don’t risk your lives because of some vague government promises on security. Those senior officials who are telling you that would rather spend their night in Tsavo at the risk of being mauled by lions than spend a night in Northern Kenya with no protection. And remember once you are butchered by the militias, the government will make noise for a few days and, hopefully, buy for you a coffin and, well , your case is done.

What is puzzling me is that, they are forcing teachers to go back to work in those areas and yet at the same time they are arresting quarry workers for risking their lives by returning to their work stations in those same areas.

I like your argument Karl, bt what ua option on these teachers, shld they change career ?

Well, changing careers is an individual decision: i know many people with BED degrees who work in the private sector(not necessarily teaching). Personally, if i were among those teachers, i would rather quit and venture into business. The problems with many Kenyans though is the belief that a job, a ‘permanent’ job, is the key to success. It is not like that. There are so many business ventures out there that can make one a millionaire.
I would seek employment from well paying private schools while at the same time operating serious side hustles until such a time when my business is stable enough to enable me quit teaching altogether.
I know death is inevitable but i can just imagine myself losing my life because of a psychotic imbecile from Somalia, especially when i had a choice of staying out of Northern Kenya.

I think that there are many underlying issues i.e ethnic and religious bias, a total lack of respect from the students(cases of teachers being assaulted by students) and the perception that any civil servant posted to the n.eastern region is either being punished or doesn’t have the right ‘connections’.These factors cant be solved by the security apparatus but by changing the mindset of the locals…so yes wasirudi

Problem is the locals. They are alshabaab sympathisers and openly treat ‘nywele ngumu’ (non locals) with contempt.
Its a punishment to be posted to this unfriendly and harsh area yet one is as qualified as say, a starehe boys teacher. WE should have ‘rotational’ postings so that every teacher is posted to a harsh area at least once in five years.

hata afadhali nijaribu biashara…lakini sio kuenda huko.

@karl… U have a valid point…

afadhali niendeshe bodaboda gichagi kuliko niende mandera

I can’t believe I’m doing this but I guess you’re right on this one @karl.