You Need an Induction Cooker (Re-post)

I posted this thread yesterday, but it mysteriously disappeared today. Haidhuru, Lemme repost it because I want everyone to learn about the power induction technology in the kitchen.

I have been using an induction cooker for a while now, and I think I’m qualified to talk about this tech first hand. For those who don’t know, induction cookers are cooktops that heat cooking vessels using electromagnet induction. Due to this property, they require ferromagnetic Sufurias to be useful, e.g. stainless steel or cast iron.

Why you Need Induction Cooker

The main advantage of this tech is that it is extremely fast compared to gas cookers and traditional hot plates. Further, induction cookers are also cheaper in the long-term compared to other types of heating methods, including gas (butane, for non-Kenyans). Induction cooking only heats the Sufuria and will automatically stop cooking when the vessel is removed from the cooktop. Any temperature set is reflected instantaneously since hakuna residue heat from the cooker.

Best Options in Kenya

Currently, there are three options for you locally: Ramtons (Ksh4200 + Pan), Xiaomi Mijia (around Ksh8000), and Bosch (Ksh80k for pure induction, and 90k for induction plus gas). Their pictures are linked below. If you are on a budget, I highly recommend you take Xiaomi Mijia because of more temperature controls for Ugali and slow cooking. Ramtons is okay, but it has only six temperature sets; 60 degrees on the low end and 240 degrees on the highest setting. In comparison, Xiaomi has 99 sets, ideal for any cooking.

Cooking Sufurias

If you’re on a budget, you can buy stainless steel Sufurias at Naivas for around Ksh1,900 (4 pieces, really nice). Otherwise, get any other ferromagnetic vessel. Enamel and Granite pots with Iron inside also work.

Savings

Ramtons option has 2000 Watts rating, Xiaomi Mijia has 2100 Watts. Considering that power usage (tokens) is measured in kWh, you will consume around two units by cooking for one hour on either (Maximum setting). However, induction cooking is so fast that I doubt you will spend more than 40 minutes in the kitchen. You can time the cooking process on these cookers, and they will turn themselves off after a specific duration (Xiaomi’s option also has WiFi and app control). Induction cookers are also great when gas is exhausted usiku na kuna curfew, or you are far from refilling station.

PS: Do not confuse induction cookers with ceramic halogen cooktops. Both have a ceramic top, but ceramic halogen cookers use heating element to cook, which makes them sort of improved hot plates. Induction cookers DO NOT have any heated element inside them. Sorry for the long post.

[U][B]Ramtons[/B][/U]

[ATTACH=full]294564[/ATTACH]

[B][U]Xiaomi Mijia[/U][/B]

[ATTACH=full]294565[/ATTACH]

[B][U]Bosch[/U][/B]

[ATTACH=full]294566[/ATTACH]

[B][U]Bosch (gas + induction)[/U][/B]

[ATTACH=full]294567[/ATTACH]

Considering the reliability of KPLC, i don’t think so

You can get the budget ones (especially Xiaomi) as a back up for your gas cookers. Unaitumia tu when unataka speed

The combine vision is the best option… we installed one for a client back in 2015 but at the time i never bothered with it. Nikipata picha nitaweka.
In 2017 kplc was promoting the tech at the show ground they had some on sale . Thermal image ya yenye unatumia?

I do not have an infrared camera but as I indicated earlier, induction cookers do not emit any heat, they cause ferromagnetic materials to heat up through electromagnetic induction. But the Sufuria’s position will be hot or warm to the touch cuz of the heated sufuria

Unaeza buy option 1 or 2 ya back up. Ni ngumu ikue siku yenye gas imekatika bila notice, stima pia iwe haiko. Lakini kama ujawahi katikiwa na gas usiku time tu yenye umemwaga unga kwa maji…huezi elewa.

But option ingine pia inakuanga kukua na meko ya backup.

My bad, apparently you is new to this place … Thermal image in village language means provide pictorial evidence.

Asking Kwa kama fala ako ocha hiyo ferromagnetic haitaleta cancer.

:D:D:D infrared camera

Badala ya hii nunua rice cooker iko na cooking option. You will only spend 3K

When you are buying a stainless steel sufuria, carry a magnet and try to stick it to the bottom of the sufuria. If the magnet does not stick, that sufuria will not work with the cooker. Further, the stainless cookware in most supermarkets is Indian (poor quality). You are better off buying sufurias from second hand shops that sell ex-European cookware.

I use a midea induction cooker. Not going back to gas anytime soon. It has around 8 cooking options each with its own time and temperature options. Only the sufuria gets heated, you remove the sufuria and the cooker surface goes back to room temperature immediately. No energy losses.

An induction cooker seriously mumunyas elec like there’s no tomorrow. All three meals in a day plus some warming up here and there would cost you at least 4 units.

Thought it was self powered or economical with power. So what are the benefits over common hotplates?

Its only that it warms the pan quickly and its surface does not remain hot. Microwave is cheaper and faster.

I don’t know what type of induction cooker you are using but that is wrong. It is very efficient. Unatumia gani?

Trust me, hot plate ni crap and its the reason most people think induction might use power…but nop. They are very different. wacha aseme which one he uses, maybe anasemea ceramic halogen cooktop

Unakaanga chakula aje na microwave wewe, ama ugali? :D:D:D
Microwave has its use cases.

haiezi, unless useme speaker uleta cancer… ama amplifier with old school step up/down transformer

Hii, not wrong from the user experience.
https://africasokoni.co.ke/smart-cooker-double-plate-induction-cooker

Of course, ugali sio ya microwave. But on that thought I’d rather use a gas cooker for ugali than the induction cooker.

What’s the wattage? Generic brands might give you a bad impression tbh, but I would like to know more of your story

The reason you claim that is because of ulitumia an induction cooker which is not that good for Ugali. Naona it ranges from 80 to 270 degrees with just 5 power levels. That’s why I highly recommend one with more temperature levels like Xiaomi Mijia (9 levels with 99 gears, sorry) for precise cooking.

Bosch on the high end pia is advisable. If you pick an induction cooker with few temperature levels you might not enjoy it that much, unaeza chukia zote unknowingly. But you can buy one just to be safe. Alafu if you can afford bosch, hainaga fan noise, just a hum ya induction process

2200W. That’s high, using same elec like a microwave but longer.