Young Kenyans/Africans Can Own the Future..........Here's Why....

Over the last few days, I have had reason to hope that young people in this country can own their future. Two things on this site have built my confidence:

1. The emerging questioning of blind religious faith
    Nothing has perhaps underdeveloped Africa, and Kenya, like religion, especially the White Man’s religion. It has subverted both social and economic development by selling an incredibly dubious illusion of eternal bliss.

In every village and town, you will for example find huge cathedrals built with funds contributed by poverty-stricken masses, but no schools or dispensaries. Millions of these ordinary people are routinely conned of their hard-earned money each day in the name of a foreign god. Thousands more refuse to take their children for immunisation in the name of the so-called god. Others refuse condoms and contract HIV, in the name of the same god. And thats just the start of it.

Imagine the man hours wasted in useless prayer. Imagine the failure to take responsibility in avoidable accidents, deaths, etc etc because “its an act of god” - my generation elevated religion into some sort of wichcraft that explained everything as the will of this silly god, and absolved everyone of responsibility. So if Moi wanted to become a dictator, he said leaders are chosen by god. If a matatu driver caused a fatal accident by stupid driving, we said it is an act of god! The social malignacy this has spawned will take years to cure.

So how do the young come in.

More than at any other time, THEY ARE QUESTIONING THE ILLOGIC AND SILLINESS OF RELIGION. They want realistic solutions to real problems, not some mumbo jumbo about a Jewish myth. No, leaders do not come from god, we elect them and if they are bad we should remove them, they are saying. If a driver causes an accident and he is to blame, let him go jail.

This is the beginning of a new start.

1. I will be short in the next reason - Mabenda’s listing.
    When I was in a national high school, so many years ago, the speaking of vernacular was banned and looked down upon. Yet, we could speak French and English in school!

The net effect of this was to create generations of Africans with a sense of inferiority complex - our languages were vulgar, dirty, primitive. I could say ferk, but I couldn’t say guthicwo without blushing. Even today I suffer this embarrassment.

Looking at Mabenda’s thread, though, I was taken aback at the depth of understanding of vernacular by the young people of today. Many spoke with the confidence and wisdom of their forefathers, using proverbs and ageold anecdotes to spice their contributions. That many could write fluently despite never having been taught the language shows an acute awakening of cultural identity.

This is symptomatic of all Kenyan communities, AND NOT JUST THE KIKUYU.

Now, you may wonder what this has to do with development of a modern state like Kenya?

The fact IS THERE’S NO COUNTRY IN THE WORLD THAT HAS MADE SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC PROGRESS BY ADOPTING A FOREIGN LANGUAGE. YES, English is the universal language of business, BUT IF YOU GO TO ALL THE ASIAN TIGERS they speak their own languages! Han Chinese, Vietnamese, Korean, Japanese, etc etc. Even the little new European states that have emerged over the last 20 years - Estonia, Croatia, Lithuania, etc etc know this.

The re-emergence of our indigenous languages should make us go one step further - to elevate Swahili above English. Our indigenous languages should also get pride of place. I do not understand why our schools offer French and German but not Maasai and Luo to say Kikuyu kids. I would have loved to study Maasai in high school.

The fact that young people are by themselves starting to redress these colonial hangovers means well for our future.

It means that we, as Africans, are starting to shed those yokes that have for centuries put us down. We are starting to reclaim our pride. Am I reading too much from these two simple things?

I don’t thing so.

23 Likes

Adopting a foreign language marginalizes 99.9% of the population. I am yet to find a single technologically and economically advanced nation that uses a borrowed language. I see pride in Tanzanians who have decided to adopt Kiswahili as the teaching language at all levels. It only takes the sacrifice of one generation to reap the benefits of using one’s own language. It is cruel to deny children knowledge simply because they were unable to pick a foreign tongue.

This has to be the most Insightful Thread that i have ever read here on KTalk.
I shouldnt add anything to it ;Lest i Dilute it But i cant help but mention that what you said about the Asians is Absolutely Right and as far as i can see,that is the main reason they Recovered Better and Faster from Colonialism as Compared to the Africans.
They quickly retracted to their own Religious beliefs and traditions as soon as they regained their independence Where the African is Just waking up to that mindset.
Even after they immigrated to Europe and America,they taught their children to be proud of their Traditions,Religions,Cultures and Most importantly; Their Language.
You will find in places like Britain today a 4th Generation Born Pakistani , Indian,Chinese etc. who would dare Not address their grandfather in English.
Infact they switch from fluent Pakistani tribal language to the "Queenss English" in one Sentence. We Africans have only had our first generation of Children in Europe and Non of them can say "Jambo" and we think that that is an Achievement. "Free Your Mind and the Rest will Follow" - I cant Remember who “fucking /Guthicwo” said that!..

your sentiments are almost similar to that of Cord principle Raila Odinga. Hr even proposed for county assemblies to adopt mother tongue in their debates/policies etc

I have never understood why people/parents fail to teach their kids the language of their catchment areas.
Why should i be Kikuyu and my kids not learn a single word of Kikuyu? Or am living in Nairobi and the only language my kids know is English.
Aje sasa?

Two Fossils think alike?

Manki, please give us the Big Bang Theuri on bananas and trees…haya mengine ashana nayo tu.

I beg to differ on your two points.

1. Involving God in my life times me courage to soldier on even when things are thick. For the sake of argument, assume you have a watchman who falls asleep the moment he notices you are asleep. By imagining that your watchman is watching, you sleep soundly. So is religion. I always soldier on in faith that my God is guiding my actions.

2. Local languages have never taken anyone anywhere. Dont be deceived by China’s economy size. Look at their population too and consider the per capita. If speaking native language was proportional to development, pokot would be a first world.

you old man just got yourself a ticket to new villager status

To me ending tribalism in kenya is to wipe out vernacular kabisa. Am glad I was brought up in a fam tht only engaged in swa n english. I cannot speak nor understand my mother tongues (lunje or kale) and napenda sana. Ainisaidii na kitu after all. I hv added one more language to my CV which is German. Currently learning polnish thru my poland buddies. Kurva

I grew up in Nairobi huko Eastlands and though my parents did not teach me Kikuyu I mastered it from listening to them talking plus listening to Kameme FM. I can write coherent Kikuyu though I’d like to be able to converse in it fluently like I do English and sheng.

While the above points are positives when we learn how to channel the masses voice into actions that is when we will see progress.

Tribalism is a state of the mind just like many other …isms like patriotism. How does understanding one’s language make one tribal? Or rather how does my understanding of Swahili make me less tribal?

Kurva Maje!
Cheshch?
Shemash?
I used to bang a Polish Chick!.. Nilipenda Sana… kalikuwa kanawika Kurva. kurva!..

Identity is the most important Defining aspect of who you are and where you come from and if it is lacking in anyway,it undermines your “adequacy” rendering you worthless and definitely affects your Self Esteem.
You cannot have Confidence and a good self esteem if you don`t know your identity.

Fo exampo…u go to a party…wewe tuu ndio non kikuyu and rhen peeps start conversing in Kyuk…that makes one feel out of place and to make matters worse wengine uku sengenya in the process…wacha our children and grand children eradicate vernacular…waongee juu swa and english then from there ukabila itaisha

Kurva…this wotd means b!tch or poko but has so many meanings…like when one is cursing…e.g when something bad happens to u…instead of saying fuck they say Kurva

Cheshch…hii nikusema whats up or masalami

PS: polish chix are hot…kwanza wale blonde haired…napenda sana…wako tamu sana and they like ruff sex…TERMINATOR STYLE

Tanzania is reeling in poverty and ignorance because of shunning other languages in pursuit of swahili… They have isolated the masses from external influence and this has led to a false sense of well being. Most adults can not even read an English newspaper or watch English news bulletin…
This is not development!!

While at it can we revert back to this listing by @karl marx everyone was againt Ngugi wa Thiong’o and Raia when they proposed the use of vernacular language in Kenya and today almost everybody is heading the opposite direction in support of it. Which way to go wanakijiji.

http://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/ngugi-wa-thiong’o-and-intellectual-hypocrisy.5311/

I agree with those two points completely. I however feel that we are seriously losing the war on the second one. Today i do not know of any kid under 10 within my family and friends raised especially in Nairobi or other towns that knows how to speak in my vernacular kyuk language. All of them speak swahili and english forcing even their grand parents (our parents) to struggle to speak to them in those languages. Where they meet their great grand parents (my grand parents) then communication is totally cut. Many kids can only understand when spoken to but cannot utter a word and can only reply in english or swahili. Those who can are mostly the ones raised in shagz near or by their grand parents. I find this sad.
Anyway, the gist of these two points is that when africans start questioning what has been deeply ingrained in us by imperialists then it shows that we are now thinking critically and its only through thinking that we will emancipate ourselves from mental slavery. For we are supposed not to be blind followers of foreign religions, languages and ways of life but pick the best of the foreign to merge with the best of our own.
Religion is important as a source of hope and inspiration and as a mobiliser of positive socialisation. But when overdone as is ao common today, and is mixed with money, extremist ideology and personality cult then it becomes meaningless and destructive.
Knowledge of our local languages does not promote tribalism. It gives us a unique identity and even promotes interest in our history and preservation of the same which can make us tons of money from cultural tourism. It does not promote teibalism coz as someone said tribalism is a state of mind exploited by politicians. Even if we all spoke english we would still find ways of alienating one another by using stupid features like the short people vs the tall, dark vs light, urban dwellers vs rural, eastlanders vs westlanders etc Africa must rise up and think.

Wiping out vernacular is a prelude for wiping out entire tribes as we know them, including the traditions that define us. That is like throwing out the baby with the bath water.

There is no harm in being luo or kalenjin or Kikuyu, diversity can actually be gainful. I can tell you for instance that luos are the best artisans I’ve met, if I want a bed nitarudi Kwa Otis tu anijengee kitu swafi. Most of us are not even haters anyway only that good people let bad people have all the limelight

And when baba suggested we use mother tongue in assemblies people were quick to rubbish him