BLACK FRIDAY: Behind The Battle for Kawangware

Ni kuma yako inanuka hivyo?

Retard comment

Hii story, wacha tu. But he is a master spinner

You are damn right

This is a case of allowing a carmel to shelter its head in your tent,soon it is gonna have its whole body in the tent and getting it out will require energy because you will already be down trodden.That is how one predominant tribe will find itself with no place to call their own in their own country.

Unfortunately, it’s true.

I live on the border of this ghetto and the only thing the young men have going for them is that their grandparents owned the land and they have an entitlement mentality which makes them nothing but zombies.

In 2007 a disputed elections was the excuse to change ownership of property in Kibra by force. Houses owned by Kikuyu’s were taken over from them. In 2017 arati tried the same in Kawangware 46 and 56 in the name of election. That’s the narrative the author somehow forgot to mention or missed. The burning and looting of properties was based on tribal profiling. A shop next door is spared, the next looted. Who gets to take them if they leave? That’s where this story should begin.

Hapana ni mcoondoo yako

Personally I blame their parents.They constructed shanties in order to get quick income,little did they know what they were brooding.3yrs ago there was a scuffle at the same place and some landlords blamed their tribesmen for trying to evict their tenant from the place.They were told sawa.Now the same landlord are desperate to get someone to help reclaim their land.
Someone just hinted that Kiambu is going to be the same in the near future,then I remember this https://www.kenyatalk.com/index.php?threads/‘baba-yao’-and-kiambu-county-jobs.63547/ thread which had one of our pinkees being thrashed though she stood firm.The drama continues

It’s madness.

If you manage to walk or drive the breadth and width of that whole area from Kawangware to Riruta (both) you’ll be surprised at the number of young men just lazing, chewing miraa and drinking pombe. My neighbours sold all their land and only have less than 1/4 of an acre and sandwiched between apartments built on what used to be their land.

There are also several beggars, sickos and madmen who will be spending nights in the open after they sold and squandered their wealth. Those with small land are putting up the shanties which is enabling the growth of these slums. Iko shida.

Shida iko na kubwa tena…

He’s not a master as spinners go. Kahura is an experienced journalist who by training is drilled to work on the maxim that “facts are sacred” and therefore cannot be violated. That’s why he is labouring to produce a story to suit a certain narrative.,… The words just cannot flow.

Kawangware and most of the slum areas ought to be suburbs of Nairobi. All slums should be cleared.
Europe cleared them, why can’t we?

“Many local and national governments have, for political interests, subverted efforts to remove, reduce or upgrade slums into better housing options for the poor.[B][12][/B] Throughout the second half of the 19th century, for example, French political parties relied on votes from slum population and had vested interests in maintaining that voting block. Removal and replacement of slum created a conflict of interest, and politics prevented efforts to remove, relocate or upgrade the slums into housing projects that are better than the slums. Similar dynamics are cited in favelas of Brazil,[94] slums of India,[95][96] and shanty towns of Kenya”.[97]

kawangware and it’s environs were not meant to be slums but greedy landlords are making them so with stupid land leases which are leading to erecting of multi storeyed mabatis shanties.nb the so called enemy communities are the landlords trusted artisan and contractors

I believe we have a policy that govern urban planning, which provide directives on the type dwelling that may be constructed. It is probably not enforceable due to corruption.

In Europe greedy landlords tried to enforce the continuation of Slums as a means to make huge profits. Local authorities responded by taking drastic action. Co-operatives and Social Community Societies were empowered to build thousands of good quality low cost houses. Slum lords found themselves with slum houses and few or no tenants, they commence speedy demolition of slum houses and build descent houses to compete with the cooperatives, societies our equivalent to Sacco’s.