Cleared High School circa the turn of the New Millenium? Were you awake in class?

Neff @WuTang is true on this
1 Head of the family gets a SlayQueen at the moment he needs a real bullet
2. All men are killed by author in very weird ways and even on their journeys the odds are against them
eg Surviving a world war as an african was very slim
3. Ladies in the book are potrayed as very hardworking and most have virtues if not beauty and color
4. Men are also portrayed as Inconsiderate and Unkind, the case where a lady was accused of Juok(witchcraft) then exiled and she had to get back to her Matrimonial home kujipanga (Matrimony=Umama)
Ni haya tu tho, i read this a century ago and i only remember Owang Sino, so cu us some sluck and give @WuTang a cookie on my behalf

@Colombo-Combolo I’m not talking about the book. That whole explanation you just did is sigh … its just.
Also, didn’t read once it hit me that you didn’t really get what I was driving at

@WuTang when can we expect a thread on the deeper issues which push you Mr. Pragmatist?

Oh, i took it literally and dived in the wrong end of the pool, Pole mumy

Margaret Ogolla and Marjorie Oludhe Mcgoye, this two women, knew how to author books

HAPA WAZEE NDIO WANAONGEA VIJANA MULIZALIWA 1999 PRISS TOKENI KWA HII THREAD

ungekua umezaliwa 1990 kuja mbele, ningekuita tufanye collaboreshen kwa song ingine hapa but you already too old to be considered an ancestor, jaribu mugithi na nyatitit

Damn kweli nimezeeka wth? eti which books? hehehehe :D:D:D:D no wonder most times I never get the mentality of almost 50% of talkers. Wah! Wacha niendelee kuwa spekteta wa threads na comments:D:D:D

Kwani miaka yako inakaribia ya @gashwin

Whats your angle here son? Was that shot aimed at me?

Exemplary! I had almost lost all hope in Kenya, but someone is actually awake at the wheels. Yeah Becky was that girl who got AIDS or something.
So the baby was Akoko, and she came to epitomize the quintessential African matriach in during that confusing phase the country went through at the tail quarter of the 19th century through the post-independence era.
The se

Absolutely correct. I genuiningly though only thge rabble rowsers are left in these forums.
Burdens with by John Ruganda. That was a materpiece! Actually I was just on the verge of putting the Waragi wins Thighs thing and the vote valor one,…but abstained in light of majority of the scarily disoriented people that flock the walls…Vincent Kanagonago…probably the founding father of Busaa and Cham Drinking or at least I think Waragi was the equivalent in UG.

They had some soft core porn in there too with the sexual escapades and what not. You know that coindicent to the lowering of the Union Jack, there was a subtle, right about simultaneous sexual orgy of sorts that appeared to be a part of the whole bonanza during Independence celebrations.
Africa has got some seriousy skilled Literature Gurus. I remember other well known and televised ones such as Things Fall Part with akina Okonkwo huko Umofia.
The mother of all of those as far as providing perspective of the geopolitical scene was none other than the satirical “Shamba La Wanyama” from the English version of “Animal Farm” from back in the 40s. It brought me closer to understanding the notion of ongoings in Russia in the Vladimir Lenin, through the horrors of Josef Stalin, before I had ever taken a stab at world history. I remember coming across the “Animal Farm” by George Orwell English book right after KCSE and devoured all its pages. “Mkimwa yu Sahihi”. I pitied that one horse with unflinching loyalty, the exact name of which I can’t remember, which was worked to within an inch of death, then sent to the slaughter house. It his from this series that I came to learn of the notion of “First Among Equals”. The animals had rebels against the humans, but by the end of the book, the animal elites were indistinguishable from the human beings. Probably the single piece of authorship that is my all time favorite.
You know I am not sure if many people are really aware of just how evil Josef Stalin was. This guy, in my mind, almost made Hitler’s activities to sound like child play. Stalin’s soldiers, were MUCH MORE AFRAID of STALIN than Hitler. The reason for people don’t know about the sheer evil that Stalin symbolized, was simply the fact that he was in cohort with the allies to clinch victory that effectively ended Second World War activities in Europe, before Japan almost got blown back to the age of Flintstones on August 6th and 9th 1945 respectively. Stalin once described a perfect mission, which, to paraphrase, went along the lines of “The perfect mission, is one where you plan an operation for retribution against an enemy or disaffected friend, and then going to have a night of very peaceful slumber after the job of elimination was done”.
There was a very good series on youtube, and you just won’t believe the things this guy did! He essentially wiped out all versions of dissent, and then always wiped away those who were used to carry out the mess, so nobody could amass power. Germans had Stalin’s son in captivity and tried using him as bait, and Stalin more or less intimated that they either free all or none of his people, and he committed “suicide by homicide” by making a run away from the guards or something.
One thing I hadn’t realized back then was how vividly some of these works symbolized the issues Africans had to grapple with, from a relative “vacuus” skill disparities when whites left, with no proper training of the Africans to jump on the wagon, and through clever deficiencies, they primed the wheels for neocolonialism, while fomenting discord within African societies through divide and conquer policy in colonization, best exemplified by the tribal hatred that came home to roost in the 94’ Rwanda genocide. Corruption is very closely linked to the notions of tribalism, and such offshoots as nepotism and so forth.
Anyone who keeps their eyes wide open can also see the emergence of quasi-monarchial families at the apex of power in, say Kenya.

Burdens: Doing this doing that and doing everything.

I know of the General Ulhysses Grant from Civil era but not sure from what purview your “Ulysses” was borne out of…

Contextualize:
=>“a sword shall pierce thy heart” : In whose context was such uttered?.(this one I barely remember but there are two candidates, one much more likely)
=>His heart bled for her (bled for who)?
=>“the long snaking metal road”…
=>The young men were being recruited to go and fight for the <???> and <?????> powers.
=>…at dawn…the orange flaming <???> of the sun.

SIKU NJEMA:

<?????> itakuja siku njema?

Nilishangaa <?????> <????> kushangaa

Google is your friend

seems we did the same lit books…:D:D:D
looking for a rain god was the short story book… mami wota manenoz

You’ve taken me back to high school, thank goodness those days are gone. The River and the source was very well written and an enjoyable read. What I hated with a passion was kuchambua lit books. Like really? Can’t we enjoy a story without the pressure of exams? I loved math, history and all the sciences juu it was 100% factual not the upusi guesswork of literature where no one really has a clue what the writer intended!

I loved lit( basically coz I am an arts person though I majored in a science field later…Thankyou mum and dad ! :mad:)

Getting the deeper meaning and relating it with the modern world was fascinating… Example , George Orwell’s Animal Farm …wonderful work there about communism and democracy.

achia watoto Animal farm. Orwell’s best work is 1984

Sure ni ya watoto…it is the one I did in high school.

I read 1984 later, it was an awesome read. We could sit for hours with my gal discussing communism , one party states, suppression of democratic rights…yada yada and “the ministry of truth” was a by line in our arguments.

Did you read Fahrenheit 451 ?

Reftlect on what you just said again, then gauge how much sense it makes . As 8 year olds that’s the way we sized up Popeye vs He-Man prima facie; that was pre-pubescent, unless you succeeded in time travel…teleportation.