Cost of architectural design - drawing

This is so pedestrian, a basement you say, unajua kuna structural reasons as to why basements are included in residential houses and they don’t apply to most of Kenya.
Stone is a better material to brick, so where stone is cheaper, it’s a no brainer. Places kama Kisiri where hakuna quaries karibu utapata alot of brick houses
Hizo zingine za funny rooms very likely hazikufanywa na an architect worth his qualification

Arent included or included? Structure has nothing to do with it. Unless useme the cost of digging a deeper foundation. Structure is only as solid as its base and pillars.

Hiyo ya mawe najua. Bricks za clay sijui if they are more expensive than mawe za kware.

Haya alafu hiyo ya room size hakuna kitu umesema.

You see basements on nyumba majuu and think it’s a requirement kila mahali. Majuu foundations have to go below the frost line, and the ground floor slab cannot be built directly on the ground, that’s why houses there have basements. Hii kiherehere yako imekuambia even here all house need basements, at whose cost. Si ukitumia the same reasoning you will start advising road engineers that since majuu they salt their roads, we should do it too

Ilikuwa swali. Ujeuri ya nini.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D napenda sana hiyo sweep yako

What if i need a basement

If you need a basement say for parking or any other use, architect atakupatia there are many buildings with them, but if you do not need that space, why should an architect waste your money?

I wish you attended a meeting between a client and an architect you would loose your mind… “Nliona jirani yangu ameeka choo pale mbona usieke apo, na hii nafasi unataka kuacha apa si ni waste ya mawe, pitia zile nyumba mpya hapo next nataka kitu kama hiyo”

Niletee iyo biashara tunukishe kitunguu ya junior

Imefanywa na @Deorro

Guilty as charged. Saa zingine inabidi when you are out of your regular zones as menus can be deceiving

Vile wazito wamesema, 6% of construction cost.

uhhm… did I fuck your wife? Because as far as I can remember we did not declare war against each other

What is the remedy when an architect doesn’t deliver approved drawings as promised? Should they be paid for design work even though the client decided to cancel agreement with architect in favour of another?

Easyyyyy bro

You can never run away from the fact that most architects in Kenya are afraid of pushing the envelope when you approach them with a quirky idea.
Don’t get me wrong,I have friends and relatives in the industry but I have had to politely disagree with them juu I have a design for a holiday house in mind and I know I will build it if I have to do it myself.
I pitched the idea to them in an informal way and the vibe I got was of being pushed to conform rather than for them walking the creative journey with me.
I will build my dream home facing the Ngong hills and it’s going to be a manyata design sitting on a four pillars stilleto and with an open plan living room with glass walls all round.

I have done it all in my head i hope to execute the idea in the next few years.
Just look at this…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZdPqWxnl-Q

this is in Kenya

https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota-ssa.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70

https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota-angelageddes-2.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70

https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota-angelageddes.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70
https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota10-angelageddes.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70
https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota09-angelageddes.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70

https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota05-brucerowlands.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70

https://static.independent.co.uk/s3fs-public/thumbnails/image/2018/05/23/11/gota04-brucerowlands.jpg?width=1368&height=912&fit=bounds&format=pjpg&auto=webp&quality=70

This is what I’m talking about!.. Basic, natural and fitting to the environment.
Why anyone in Kenya would need a chimney or carpets is beyond my comprehension.
Sweet!..

Wueh, wapi huku?

T

There is more to learning how to design.
Architects have an eye for so many things.
This is from experience.