CRONY CAPITALISM AND STATE CAPTURE: The Kenyatta Family story

I’ve read the damn article like I would read those ‘English Comprehension Essays’ back in high school…kama bado unaitisha summary I suggest you read it like I did.

Anyway, I am glad that Ndii was not swallowed- at least not with his eyes closed- by the Handshake Serpent, like were all other RAO’s sycophants and motormouths akina Otiende Amollo, James Orengo and Norman Magaya.

ebu leta hekaya

This man is a national treasure. He is been backing up his opposition to Uhuruto with figures all along but I guess Kenyans are too stupid to care more about their families than they care for the tribal gods.

Ndii writes from a vendetta perspective rather than from an intellectual standpoint.

No where in his article has he cited the commission of a prosecutable crime, so obviously he cannot call for arrests and prosecutions. Rather he seems more disturbed that he is not getting a share of what he calls the “loot” as he prefers to call the results of capitalism. He is not advocating for communism or socialism so its not clear what his beef is. He is not calling for KCC to expand its reach (cooperative bodies/ people power) to lower the price of milk. Did he note how much KCC charges for milk these days? Being the intellectual he is or claims to be, why don’t his articles have any practical solutions (besides filing Presidential election petitions and coming up with wrong tallies from the sky)

People who worship(ed) the corrupt violent tribal nepotistic Kony should never talk of others. Nefa efa

What Ndii is saying is that the Kenyatta Presidency is not about moving this country to the next level, it is all about expanding the Kenyattas business empire. All policies being made are geared towards enriching the family. Any way, bora uhai.

He could not do simple arithmetic and was exposed by ordinary Kenyans to the extent that he deleted his tweet. Can we trust him with more complex calculations.

[ATTACH=full]182609[/ATTACH]
http://nairobiwire.com/2017/09/david-ndii-finally-releases-nasa-tallying-results-one-big-suprise.html

I did not want to start an argument with you, some of those things he has pointed out are pretty obvious, you can choose to believe him or continue burying your head in the sand as you get dry fried bila lube.

Silence ya itumbi is telling enough.

And there in lies the problem, personality based political attacks. Does he talk about the Raila or Joho family businesses? He only chooses to see what he wants to see. Uhuru does not run his family’s businesses, second even if he did, didn’t the people elect their representatives to parliament to pass laws and regulations?

Brookside is a smartly run business so much so that other foreign firms saw it fit to invest in it for example in Brookside TZ. I would not blame any shareholders in wanting to reap from their investment. They did not put a gun to Sameer when they went around purchasing the competition in Uganda. Its the same way Safaricom vanquished its competition. At the end of the day who makes the policies and who passes them? Can Ndii cite a single law that has solely benefited the Kenyatta family? He whines but never has a practical solution which is the least we would expect from “intellectuals” like him.

There is nothing to argue here, Ndii lost his way a long time ago when he ventured into politics, he should have stuck to his lane. Do you disagree with any of the facts I have outlined? We can pick any other sector and any other capitalist family owned business in Kenya, strike Kenyatta, insert family X and Ndii’s writings would still hold for most of the sectors in common.

If you want my own personal views, Kenya is a society of the haves and have nots. The rich will keep getting richer because of policies that favour them. Any smart investor sees that and invests in the sectors that matter (interest rate cap removal etc are just some examples that one should invest in the banking sector - the Kenyatta family is just a shareholder in one bank, not all of them, but Ndii will work overtime to make it appear that way). From a political angle, personality based attacks will not work in Kenya, the watu wetu phenomenon will kick in. Someone who is running for 2022 realizes this and has already deployed strategists to sell the hustler theme. Until people realize that this is about class and not personalities, Ndii will be writing his opinions through 2032 but with little effect.

I do not defend Kenyatta’s, I just point out misstatement of facts. Ndio advances the following arguments;

1. That expansion of brookside led to reduced competition and price increase, that’s a lie, I was in the supermarket today and the choices of milk from fresha, daima,Mt kenya pascha etc, I didn’t even touch any brookside brand. so choice is there, price is anything between 40-49 so sijui hiyo figure ya 60 sijui ametoa wapi. Farmgate price has also risen in the 5 yrs period. KCC is currently offering 42 bob .
  2. Uhuru’s sister got tender reserved for persons with disability, another outright lie. The tender was open to everyone.
    3)That the affordable housing agenda is meant to benefit the Kenyatta family. This is silly, we should cancel it so that they do not benefit.
    4)family connection to Rai; first, Rai should not be appointed to KFS board, the conflicts of interest are obvious. Whether there is cross ownership in Timsales,I don’t know. But one unstated fact is Rai only imported 18% of the sugar, the important question should be who imported 82%?.
    The rest is just verbose, the back of envelope calculations on a furniture industry in webuye are poorly thought. Furniture manufacturers seek to be close to market not raw material, that is why the funding is in your estate in Nairobi and not in Webuye because final transport cost to your house would be too prohibitive.
    Finally, people will believe what they want to believe, some may see cronyism others will see a hit piece. If you find that you have to fudge facts to make a point as Ndii has done maybe its time to stop making the argument ,nevertheless,to each his own.

Do you really believe that affordable housing has been included in the big four primarily to benefit the Kenyatta family?

I have read the article and it’s very enlightening. those asking for a summary should do the same

Kuna watu hapo juu wanasema ni mauongo tupu.

Obienga = Natty dread/ Spear

Nice try but any one can see the differences if they take a few minutes to look

If you read the above and your conclusion was he’s not talking about Railas business basi umeshindwa comprehension.

Let me repeat it to you: Policy is being made not to advance the interests of Kenyan economy but to provide rent seeking opportunities for Kenyatta family business and their associates.

I don’t think Joho or Raila firms are doing that.

Also about there being no “prosecutable offenses” is a dishonest argument on your part. Any adult knows there is plenty that is technically not illegal but still a crime. Massive conflict of interest above is an example.

Like selling a Sh18b firm 900m to firm linked to the President. Like appointing the owner of a logging company to board of Kenya Forestry Service.

I am sure you can answer this simple question, who is it that makes policy? And when you have that answer, ask yourself how they got into the position of making policy. That how is how you begin to cure this problem, until then we should not complain.

And yes I did read the article, from the title to the conclusion it was a piece obsessed with the Kenyatta family or should I say name? I wonder when he will pen a piece attacking the next candidate on the ballot or is he already on the payroll?

Which firm was sold for 900m absent a willing buyer, willing seller deal? Did any buyer come forward complaining they had valued the business for much more and had been denied the opportunity to pay more? A business is valued solely on its assets and debt, not what it was once valued for.

There is absolutely no dishonesty, Ndii has cited no crime and neither can you. We only need to deal with facts here, not emotional feelings and thoughts. If you can, I dare you to cite which law has been broken.

We have Omtatah who never rests, he had no problem with that appointment and if Ndii was so disturbed all he had to do was M-Pesa Omtatah the funds to file a case. A single board appointee makes no unilateral decision and internal board rules and laws dictate that one should recuse themselves from a decision from which they stand to benefit. Infact his knowledge of the industry is a reason why his expertise and his stakeholder representation should be represented on the board.

Is there a law in Kenya prohibiting appointments made at the pleasure of the President? Just this week the Centum CEO was made a board member by appointment in Laikipia (by a lesser authority) which law prohibits that?

how did he arrive at this valuation for a company that never made profits,has dilapidated equipment, is there a valuation report?

It’s not obsessed with the Kenyatta family.
It is about the Kenyatta family.