Employment Problems

Its not about being weak[SIZE=16px] boss. 8 hours per day with people are planning to sabotage your every move is not a joke mazee. I had planned to do that but I want to know how deep some of my colleagues are connected, hii Kenya huwes jua.[/SIZE]

Angalia hapo juu boss. So that we are on the level

Divide and rule. That’s the only way to crash rebellion in a country, at work, in jails, in the streets, name them!

I have not moved around to enquire so that it doesn’t come out ni kama its affecting me.

Fanya hivi, finya watu makei. It might not be possible if wewe ni MTU mdogo kama hao wengine. One time in my new assignment, nilikuwa na upuzi kama hio. Had to sit down niggars we agree on the way forward. Kwa meetings, I would task specific individuals with clear reporting requirements. Groups tasks were communicated via memos a copy of which niggars had to sign to signify that they saw the memos. I would reassign Stubborn ones to other departments.

hehe… labda we ndo uko na shida you alienate yourself and seem to be siding with bosses.

Ulienda kuwaambia wakae kando sirkal ikojoe ama?

Pecking order boss, who are you reporting to?, I read somewhere that those who always try to be nice end up suffering and unhappy, you have just experienced that.

The more you continue playing nice, the more you jeopardize your chances of showing the bosses what you are capable of doing. So get to work, share reports and soon the weak links will be laid bare.

My line is “its work, nothing personal”.

If you continue this way, you will find yourself jobless, and guess who will be laughing at you.

I did not mean you as weak…I was just describing a situation i have ever seen.

Hehe I don’t side with bosses and I also don’t talk as much as them hapo kwa ofisi. I hate office gossip. It may look like am alienating myself.

Hapana niliwaambia wakuje tukojoe pamoja. Ama namna gani?

I must refresh as well. Never heard of dorming before.

I have read through most of the recommended solutions and here is my take.

1. Keep your bosses appraised of the situation and how you’re handling it.

2. Make the company‘s policy your “Bible”. Most notably how to escalate the situation given noncompliance.

3. There are times that you have to micromanage. Give very clear instructions on what you need done even if you have to make them repeat what you said. If possible give instructions in writing.

4. Be fair and objective so that when you do give warnings or take displinary action, the employee will actually have violated company policy by any objective measure.

5. Do not relent. You are not there to make friends but to get the job done and earn a living.

Good luck.

Thank you elder well put. Wacha nianze implementation Sasa.

Vile @Amused amesema hapo juu plus you have also mentioned that you are leading change which is always resisted. Consider trying some change management tips like participation in decision making and celebrating quick wins

Works miracles

Simple break the group dynamics and rearrange accordingly.

Isolate the enemies to weaken them or group them together for effective monitoring?

BONUS: If you assume that everyone is smart enough to figure out you are trying to “divide and conquer”, it may backfire majorly. Mind games will always land you in trouble if you are not in total control of the situation. On the other hand, following company policy to the letter will always save your butt. One thing you can try is to pretend that every sticky situation is a test on your leadership skills. Also, the more you practice following policy, the faster your direct reports will learn to respect your authority.

Nottyboy is giving his colleagues too much rope to mess him around. He should stop paying them any attention in terms of imagining what they could be scheming and just get on with his tasks whilst keeping a record of things and copying in the relevant kahunas into his work for info.

Else utajikuta njeeeeeee ama relegated into some general admin tasks. Learn to bite back in a subtle way and also socialise with them but kiasi. Saying you do not talk much and keep yourself to yourself is not vv helpful. Someone mentioned here that people hate change so you are not exactly everyone’s cup of tea right now but you need their input so rope them in. There is enough advice here to help you sort yourself out.