Food insecurity in the Congo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=epYiIMl4W4U

Ata sketch hakuna? :smiley:

Nice documentary to start the day. That white lady just had to much fun with those Russian pilots. At least they are delivering food supplies on camera. Who knows what off camera.

Mimi nimeona box za Supermatch; kumbe huyo Mmeru ananukisha kitunguu hadi DRC

The DRC suffers from forced urbanization. Many people were forced out of productive land in the countryside due to perennial wars and militia activity. Most of these people moved to the major urban centres where they could get some sense of security. Soma hii https://www.theguardian.com/world/2003/jan/16/congo.unitednations

While the East of the country produces a lot of good, it cannot be transported to major urban centres due to lack of roads/rails. For example, there are daily cargo flights from Goma to Kinshasa na wao hubeba potatoes, beef na produce zingine. There are no roads connecting Kinshasa and the East simply because it would be very expensive. The Equatuer and the Kasais provinces are swampy and have a lot of rivers. To interconnect the DRC by roads, you have to build around it’s extremities Kisangani - Bunia/Butembo/Beni - Goma - Bukavu - Kindu/Kalemie/Kasongo/Lumbumbashi - Mbuji Mayi, Kananga, Bandundu and then Kinshasa. In any case, Equateur is sparsely populated.

Hii mambo ya foreigners sponsoring militia is largely exaggerated. The worst groups there are largely Ugandan, the LRA and the ADF. Both are religious sects, Christian and Muslim respectively. They don’t receive any overt international support because they are classified as terrorist groups.

keep the richest country in africa (resource wise) fighting… blame the white man and african ignorance

You can also try this one later on, interesting

sijui kama @Meria Mata amewahi chapa hii job/route

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GslPzhFLyas

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aeJ31sOToWo

One word only: negroes.

Nimeona afia juice imefika Congo.

The pangas that should be used for cutting those bananas are used for violent rapes, mutilations and as weapons.

In other words it’s impossible to cultivate anything on a farm when you and your family can be attacked at any time by some tribal militia being led by the likes of Bemba and Kabila.

South Sudan is 98% arable but has some of the worst food security on the planet.

sadness of life

Thanks a lot for the documentaries folks. I appreciate.

Thanks to @Ice_Cube my YouTube is filled with DRC documentaries. I just watched this sad one and it just summarizes the west blunder of minerals in DRC.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dTwzCy0-RTw

Thanks for this too

You have to wonder why do we even have African Union? This is what African Union should be doing.
AU needs to go in and stop this foolishness. Fixing countries ravaged by wars and rebels should be AUs first and only mission.
What do African Presidents even speak about when they meet annually? I’ll try to follow closely their next meeting and see for myself what goes on there