Governor Sonko's garbage collection plans. Win or fail?

So how are we going to blame Sonko if we cannot be responsible on our own?

As long as garbage is collected. The onus is on us. Kenyans have very low standards but we love complaining and blaming.

The ndunyu close to my place is dirty (organic) during business hours. Otherwise after market day iko safi sana.

Actually they have been made locally, and that could be the main issue. One, no credible design blueprints have been applied. Which means they may not last more than a few years due to corrossion and mechanical failure. Second, they are most likely supplied by insiders or people with close connections to insiders. In such a case, the price triples moving from the fundi to the city government.

that would be a systemic failure and not a policy failure, isn’t it?

True. The intent is noble but the implementation floppy.

someone has to try bro otherwise we cannot forever wallow in the dump…

Niliambiwa that this used to happen in the 80’s in Nairobi.

Anyway, garbage collection ya Nairobi has made people millionaires na ni vita haotakuja kuisha hivi karibuni.

Let’s hope this works.

garbage collection should be a daily thing or once every two days if it is to be effective.

People drop rubbish anywhere without caring or thinking,
Instant fine when found drop litter carelessly, will focus their attention to what they are doing each time they stretch a hand to drop anything.

[ATTACH=full]151552[/ATTACH]

Pia eldy I remember early 90’s Eldoret municipal council had front loading garbage trucks.

And those bins like the one above but bigger which were always collected once a week but over the years things went downhill.

Lol

Each estate should have a specific day of the week set aside for trash collection. For example, Westlands on Mondays, Karen- Tuesdays etc. Each household must place their sorted trash in a trash bag and dump it in these bins which will be located in a central location within the apartment complex or estate. There should be a special bin for organic trash like vegetable peels, and another one for recylables. Steep fines should be issued to anyone caught violating the law.

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Hehehehe Si uko na jokes. Unadhani Westlands na Karen ni ndogo that the residents can have a central garbage point?

People that litter should be arrested na punishment ikuwe ni kuokota takataka street mzima. I guarantee if you do that for 6 months you will see a shift in behavior.

Oops you’re right. Those neighborhoods can have their own bins that city council can pick up with their trucks. If Sonko needs ideas, he just needs to ask wananchi experts.

Next thing you know machokoraa will take over as designated weed smoking joints usiku usiku ivi… EPIC FAIL

Kwani tuko na trash mingi kuliko london tunashindwa nayo?

sipendi kuambia mtu “nonsense” juu si polite lakini ni ulize tu; saa hizi chokora hawavuti bangi?

Kwani umedelete the words ‘weed smoking joints’? What comes with that? Gotta give it to you though, it’s a solution, though not enough.

kuna kitu nimedelete? wapi? hata ningesema fangi

Was merely remarking upon your reply that based it all on weed smoking disregarding what comes with it.