He had an A in KCSE 2019 and wants to be a neuro-surgeon! Discuss!

Upuzi thread. Masomo ya Kenya ni fraud iko mtu najua alienda trumpistan na crucified David. Na saa hii yeye ni Daktari.

That is why we are here to crucify the thread together with Davids! Welcome, bro! and tell us why you think it is a fraud… What I would guess is that our education system is not great, then our values are generally non-existent and we are encouraged to be value-less unethical people

A friend who was there confessed that they used to revise KCSE questions the night before

Exams are used as a means to lock out students from their dream karia. Kwanza JAB ilimess watu wengi Sana. My former classmate alichapa REH Ile course aliitwa was Forestry management.
No wonder most people are doing medicine to get rich not to serve the people. Passion comes first the money later. Hizi vibanda zimejaa ATI ni clinic ukienda na homa. They see as an opportunity to milk you. Utakuliwa mbaya mbovu.

Kenya is now living to 20th Century writer Michael Young’s writings on meritocracy. He said that “IQ+effort=merit” hence those who do well in school will get the best career. However, this system has one fundamental flaw as Young said “parents would want to gain unfair advantage for their children”, thus parents are willing to pay more to ensure their children get better lives. Though in Kenya we need doctors, an oversupply would make the career less relevant. The A’s will probably end up taking course in Ivy league overseas universities since their parents can afford. If you do a background on these A students, they are most likely from well off families who could fund them through their learning. I believe people should seek education to better their communities but many do it for status. What Kenya needs is more industrialists and techinians.

You’re lucky. However consider that unless your hustles are recession proof and can’t be replicated due to low entry requirements, it’s a matter of time before someone else eats into your profitability. Kenya and East Africa is set to become a middle income country with a burgeoning middle class who are willing to pay for excellent healthcare services in preventive check ups or treatment of lifestyle diseases ex. cancer, heart disease, stroke. In the developed world, the health care industry is also churning out novel therapies that will require trained professionals. So I think these top candidates are on the right career path because the demand is definitely there.

Boma.

Are you confused or you dont live in Kenya? When was it passed that helb will not pay for arts students who scored As?

I can still bet that there is a number of doctors that our economy can support and properly pay them, after which the returns go south… We need more clinicians and nurses than proper doctors in Kenya… I am sure we have not reached this equillibrium yet but we’ll do so in the near future, so what will the “bright” kids want to become? Same as Starehe Boys… in their heydays, almost all top KCPE kids wanted to join Starehe, now none mention it.

But guys let’s be real we don’t have enough doctors, all As and strong A minuses with straight As in sciences wafanye medicine

FACT! But, I was just theorizing on the “call” version the As… I believe that in some of these careers, you need to have some passion to excel… now it’s main motivation is the return on investment which has its limitations in personal careers like Law, Medicine, Engineering…

[MEDIA=twitter]1207296725897089024[/MEDIA]

CO iko Tu Kenya. Hakuna mahali wanatambulikana. Heri nursing iko kila mahali.

True! BTW How many doctors make more money than many of the traffic cops on our roads? How happy are these cops with their tons of cash?

Wacha Mtu afanye course anataka as long ako na passion of serving the community. Hii system is segregating children ati huyu ni mjinga na Yule mwerevu.
Kila Mtu ako na characters that define him kama Bill Gate angefanya 8-4-4 saa hii angekuwa base ya mogoka. Juu we labelled him a failure.

This is where we go wrong. We put money first that why kuna cases of misdiagnosis. Omba Mungu usigonjeke uendee vibanda za mtaani. Ugonjwa ungetibiwa hospital ya sirkal na Thao. Unaweza tumia Hadi 7k. Saa hii umefanyishwa test hazifai.

In the past yes, lakini siku hizi ni wengi of course relatively - but running a successful clinic is not that easy, those who afford 4k consultation want the specialist not a GP, and studying for those specialized advanced courses in med is an expensive affair.

Med nowadays is not lucrative, of course a med graduate ni ngumu akose kazi, but considering we have jobs in the private sector that can pay many times over, med is not that much of a previledge nowadays.

True!

I have observed that if you take a child to these newish doctors for diagnosis, even with a flu, they will do several lab tests to make a diagnosis! This is where the problem is… and they are always on their “google”, get really annoyed when you tell them that the kid has not had any problem before but a bout of flu! The older doctors are very confident and will make such a diagnosis at ease and in a short while… they never get agitated when you ask questions…

The other day you saw the late Joyce laboso was advised by doctors arudi home. Aspend time na her families. Coz it was her late days on earth. Do you think those British and Indians doctors walishindwa kumkamua. Huko Doctors have ethics if it was in kenya. Angewekwa Kwa life support bill ifike above 150m.

Halafu kazi ni kuinstill fear on patients ati ugonjwa ni mbaya Sana. U see they will overcharge you and sell you expensive drugs. Mimi nikiwa mgonjwa I go to government hospital. Lakini private is a NO.