How can we transform Kenya from a 3rd World to a 1st world nation?

the idea that a small population for developing country is the silver bullet of becoming a first world country is flawed and shallow. in this case your not taking into consideration that a large populations can in fact be very beneficial economically speaking. think of a large domestic market that can support local industries and attract FDI in equal measure.

what u fail to realize is that a large population like we have in Kenya compared to the lands mass, strains all resources and factors of production.

Kenya is not densely populated man UK has double the population and its smaller in terms of area

People should stop this nonsense of benevolent dictator…a dictator will start out benevolent kidogo kidogo munaanza kufinywa makende if you question anything he or his cronies do. Kagame, Mugabe, Castro, Jomo…wote walianza vizuri kumbe the promises were just a ruse.

What kenya needs are strong institutions. When u have people murdering fellow citizens, à la PEV, and the guys that did it just give u the middle finger you know u r fucked as a nation. Wengine walibeba pesa na magunia and we seem to have moved on.

the only factor of production that can be strained by a large population is land. other factor such labour are in fact bolstered by a young an energetic population with an entrepreneurial spirit. in my opinion we should strive to diversify our economy by focusing more on labour intensive ventures in the service industry and ICT sector, where technical skills among the youth would enhance entrepreneurship and enable Kenya to become a skills outsourcing hub. because lets face it, by 2030 Kenya’s population will probably have reached 80 million going by the population growth rate.

Kenyans and our impatience wanting to jump from poor to rich in record time. We need to stop complicating matters, lets start with the basics:

1. agriculture contributes more than 30% of our GDP yet it is underdeveloped, inefficient and benefits the middlemen more than the farmers. Serious focus on this sector alone could see Kenya produce enough food, reduce imports, employ more kenyans and redistribute wealth equitably.

Then there are the manufucturing industries which complement the agriculture sector, textilsles and cotton farming, leather production and livestock farming, animal feeds and raw materials production, beer and barley farming, that is where our manufucturing endeavour should start.

1. fix education, the current system does not produce what the market needs, we need entrepreneurs, loads of them to create employment.

Hii upus imeharibia wakenya wengi kitunguu

[ATTACH=full]113565[/ATTACH]

:eek::eek:wah…it seems N00bs are flooding freelancing websites and probably submitting shitty substandard work instead of first learning the ropes through a mentor before jumping all in.

surely my fren, is corruption the root cause? Fine ,say you are right…name one corruption free Economy, Just one. To reiterate what a talker has pointed out, what kenya needs is Strong Institutions. A stop gap measure. Something to keep itchy fingers in their pockets. Something to be feared and respected at the same time.

Honesty and discipline.

Fix the institutions. Fix corruption. Kenyanns are hard working. They will do the rest.
But when you have people who found themselves where they are coz of their heritage,you are ferked. They have no idea what working to grow means.

Try and imagine for a moment(using the most obvious example) if the cabinet was populated by guys like Kibaki, Matiangi or Michuki and other good guys who are not in the public domain. People who believe in something more than money.
The kind of results we would get in five years would be different from the 3 or is it 4 trillion of borrowed money that we are ‘developing’ the country with… And stealing half of it in the process!!!

can’t really point out a corruption free economy but when billions of taxpayers money go to a few individuals pockets and still no one is held accountable then there’s a big problem

To answer the question on how to make the country a 1st world nation, you first have to understand what a 1st world nation has:

1. Medical Care: Should be of the highest level (compare US, UK, India, Malaysia, Thailand , think medical tourists and ask why, etc) and affordable to all citizens
  2. Security:Crime reduction, a machinery to handle all judicial proceedings fairly and quickly, credible police force, credible and efficient prosecutors and judges.
  3. Agricultural self sufficiency: Especially since we have enough arable land to grow anything, we shouldn’t import any food items, tomatoes, sugar, maize, wheat, barley, etc more so staples.
  4. Education: Best education system from the lowest level. Should teach subjects practically from the start with emphasis on supporting service and manufacturing industries.
  5. Sports: Well developed leagues ( amateur and professional) for all sports. Tonnes of employment opportunities can be created here.
  6. Infrastructure: Greatly improved capacity on electric, water, waste handling services, communications, road, ports etc.
  7. Revenue collection ( taxation and service charges) - Needs to be 100 times better by the government and counties.
  8. Improve tourism - (compare Turkey 40 million tourists/ year, Kenya 2 million). With all our resources- Need tourists from S. America, Asia, not just Europe and UK. Probably create more areas eg Lake Victoria ( only an hour from the Mara), L Turkana, and others. Water sports, historical sites, etc.
  9. Tribalism: Root cause of corruption. Zero tolerance. Transform tribes into cultures. Have a Luo culture day where President goes to Kisumu and is not pelted by rocks to promote business in that area. Other North Eastern towns too. Forgo the culture of tolerance ( wacha tu, …it costs many)
  10. Made in Kenya by Kenyans. Buy Kenya, build Kenya. Roads, malls, rails, bridges, dams, cars, etc.
    ++ many more.

I don’t need to add anything here other than making sure at least each county has one SEZ that employs thousands directly in manufacturing. 1 employed person in an industrial plant means 4 people are employed indirectly in the service sector.

You have a stick small penis…

All due to that ajira digital crap. Before it guys would look for mentors. People even dedicated themselves charging as low as 500 to ensure they teach guys the ropes proper before they register on those sites. Everything was smooth.

Following…

Plausible. Implementation of these points is the biggest challenge. Don’t you know right after independence we had some of the best blueprints, sessional number 10 like the current vision 2030 .All these points that we are discussing had been in the minds of the likes of Tom Mboya and other pioneers. These valid points are attracting dusts in the ministry of planning.

Democracy is overrated.

PERIOD!

In Kenya, the so called democracy protects the big thieves while those trying to have a meal are put in jail in days.

Traditional economics guides us to eight core requirements for Richland:

– military security & law and order

– lack of corruption in institutions

– low amounts of red-tape around employment legislation and taxation

– a technically well-educated, mobile, flexible labour-force

– high-grade infrastructure and good telecommunications

– fair, transparent and competitive markets

– reliably enforceable contracts

– low corporation tax (between 10 and 15%)

Nothing like dictatorship. It works in countries with few tribes or classes. Rwanda is predominantly 2 tribes and 72% of Singaporeans are Chinese. In Kenya, every tribe will want to rule, and this will create chaos