Inside Kenya's $175b economy

But that’s exactly what you are trying to say, that we should be taxed highly like Americans or like Nordic states and yet we are not like them. No where like them. We are not even trying to be like them.

That’s why you left Kenya. To look for an equitable society. Everyone picks the tab and wealth is distributed equitably. Not in Kenya. Hapana.

To become a Welfare State we have to re-engineer our politics. Raila has lived in Germany. He claims to be a Social Democrat, which is the political dynamic of Nordic States. I don’t know what kind of particular model he has in mind though.

Kenya is nowhere near a welfare state. A welfare state is not ‘free primary education’ or free high school education… or free laptops…

A welfare state is extreme liberalization aka PRIVATE OWNERSHIP. And Uhuru is definitely not trying to get the Nordic model… he wants the Chinese communist economic model or something akin to that. Tuju is on record saying Jubilee is set to immitate the Chinese Communist party from the ground up.

Like I said in another thread, the Kenya govt. owns everything. The Status quo that is. They own it then hide behind power and fool mwananchi ati it’s his.

They own electricity, water, roads, aeroplanes, retail shops, markets, land etcetera.

To become a Welfare State you have to devolve and divest all those government interests to the citizens! Not to the county govt. but to the raiya!

In the U.S. you can start a gas company and you even get support from the govt. Hapa Kenya watakusoma kwanza for some time, very very quietly…

Wangojee uanzee ndio wajue how profitable it is… akina Ruto hao na Gathecha. Just watching.

They’ll then figure out a way to destroy you and create a law to make it illegal for raiya to distribute “NATIONAL” resources ever again. They criminalize your activity and take over

And then they create a super tax to lock hoi polloi out. Sijui you need to pay which commission 10 million to get a licence to do something…

Kama sasa walipeleka Fibre cable ya Kibaki wapi? Ndio msibenefit nayo. Ni yao!!!

Na wakanyamaza nayo. Inapatianwa kama dawa to the who is who. Enda U.S. na Europe uskie history ya the hoi polloi fellow who networked those countries in the 90s. He was probably a fisherman akaamua tu aanze and today he is a billionaire employing thousand of Americans or Europeans. Haku nyang’anywa na Bill Clinton.

Look at those kids in the villages who build small dams for a few villagers na analetwa news jioni. kplc inaanguka huko within a week, “Wapi licence kijana, tutafungulia wewe mashtaka!”

In the U.S. ni, “That’s a great idea Bill, you say you hacked the government? Hmmm… and what do you call this thing? The Microsoft Windows thigamajig, we love it we’ll buy it!”

A welfare system has zero corruption because everyone has access to anything and everything. Kama ni Finland, the citizen cannot say alinyimwa masomo because education is free and top notch. So how do you explain, that you didn’t go to school and live on the streets? How? Unajitetea aje?

A welfare state is a complete rethinking of how Kenya operates today. Utterly and completely! A complete mental shift.

I watch Raila. He talks the talk. Let’s see if he can walk it. Ama ni ukubwa tu anakuwaga na haja nayo.

Tax refund is NOT a welfare. It is a return to what you have OVERPAID over the entire course of the year. Your employer deducts and remits taxes every paycheck. But they don’t factor in deductibles. This is for you to do. Doing so is advantageous because you are almost guaranteed not owing taxes at the end of the year. And remember some of the deductibles can only be considered at the end of the financial year as per law. So can’t be factored in every payday.

And US has a very stringent welfare system. You only qualify if you can’t work or completely broke. You can’t have an asset besides a car and house you live in, and qualify for any welfare. Most males, unless disabled , do not qualify except for unemployment which runs out after 13 months. Welfare system was generous until fixed by Bill Clinton.

that’s exactly what we need to do. GDP is essentially the value of production. Low production, low incomes, low overall GDP, more poverty, low government revenues.

kama saa hii Gathecha akaulizwa, " As president why are you holding on to Rotich na amekuangusha buda?"

He’ll say, “you know it’s Ruto and that’s his homie, you know we are in this marriage…”

Which is bullshit really. For starters we all know which tribes in Kenya hesabu ikiingia kwa akili haitoki. Tunajua si ati hatujui. Wengine ni proffesor hadi Havard.

@Purple, wacha ukweli usemwe mchana, tunajua PHD mingi zinatoka which corner of the republic and they should be in that docket!!

But because of the status quo and mistrust and hatred, it will never happen. Ati hadi wachukue kiti. Nao wakichukua, ni kulipisha kisasi. Cycle repeats itself.

Locking each other out. Closed society. Not open society. The Nordic Model is an open society model.

There is tax refund incentive in those western countries known as a Tax Credit. Hii hapa:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Refundable_tax_credit

Ya kusaidia wasiojiweza who even after working many hours a week hawana ya kutosha. In the UK for instance kuna moja inaitwa Working Tax Credit and if you are poor you can reclaim it as long as you work 30 hours a week. In the U.S. there’s the Premium tax credit, earned income tax credit etc.

To your second point in the U.S. najua waKenya kadhaa wamekwama kwa welfare and they don’t mind the shameful queues. Ni choice.

But welfare is not about giving people freebies. You don’t get freebies! It is the wealth you create as a nation shared by a MAJORITY and not a minority of powerful individuals.

In the U.S. politicians weaponized the word to make it a dirty socialist word in their continuing tribal/race wars. They forget that their immigrant ancestors who had nothing, benefitted from this system.

This is what a welfare state encompasses, teremka kwa overview:

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nordic_model

This system came about because those Nordic countries were once like Kenya, actually worse with very powerful greedy monarchs and what not. After a a king and his queen had their heads chopped off by the poor people, some of these rulers including the British Royals, realized it was in fact prudent to share the national cake and to turn over executive power to govts. of the people’s choosing.

One could even argue that the modern Welfare State was a continuing discussion started by the French revolution which was in turn inspired by the establishment of the United States of America as a democratic state in the 1700s.

Mama Nginas fiefdom. You have to pay for your stay here.

Yes I know the word welfare is misused. I studied this system in depth. In fact it took several Supreme Court rulings to make the system today, in spite laws being in place Eg right to housing for everyone , standards of living etc. And it is a great program especially when you find yourself poor, sick, in need for advancement, housing, unemployed etc.
Welfare means wellbeing for everyone.

Not true

Sweden income tax is about 30-35%.

Those earning less than 15000 Sweden kronor per month (aka minimum wage) are taxed at zero percent…Yes…0%

Moreover, milk and other basic commodities, including public transport are actually cheaper than Kenya.

Waste of public fund is not an option in Sweden, despite efficient “big government”. There are never any of so-called mega-projects, but everything is very efficiently designed just to fit demand.

What’s taxed expensive is luxury. And therefore there’s hardly anyone driving V8 or other luxury cars that kenyan elite love to show off.

The scandinavia culture actually dictates that people do everything medium. Bigly things are frowned upon.

[ATTACH=full]194398[/ATTACH]

Shida ni ati wameiba karibu pesa yote.

Japan ni scandal gani

https://www.nation.co.ke/oped/opinion/The-real-scandal-in-the-Tokyo-land-case/440808-3367636-tp8omq/index.html