It's not just in Kenya, dairy butter prices have soured even in Europe

Kwani wewe ni bata?

Kiengei kwanza

unaweza tengeneza butter veeeeeeeery easily.

ukichapa cream na electric mixer (ile inakuwanga juu ya maziwa chemsha ikipoa) inakuwa butter in less than 20 minutes.
tafuta YouTube

ukichemsha si itakuwa ghee? Butter is made by churning milk or cream cold. you separate the butterfat from water which becomes skimmed milk.

i meant ile cream inakuwanga juu ya maziwa yenye imechemka then ikapoa

If you skim that ‘cream’ and keep it for two days,it turns into cheese. Very good on bread :D:D:D:D

or sour cream…:D:D:D

by the way cheese is made from milk curds…the remaining watery liquid is used to make whey…

bata mchinga

Back then, butter came mainly from KCC which focuses less on those products. Today in Kenya we lack quality control of milk products, so, production is complex and expensive. As you’re aware Jersey’s cow milk has higher fat content compared to Freisian meaning it can produce high quality butter at a lower cost. On the other hand, Freisian produces more milk, so, people prefer this breed or a crossbreed with local breeds. That said all milk in Kenya once taken to collection point is then put into a single storage unit and transported to the producer. I believe extracting butter from this uncontrolled mix makes it very expensive. The other problem is lack of awareness and demand from the general population so producers do not focus on cheap mass production. Another product that has become expensive is milk powder.

Hio pia hakuna juu butter hufaa kuekwa kwa fridge.

hio inaingiaga asubuhi kama imeisha.Ma mboch huwa wameipangia line

Butter is very cheap in europe

[ATTACH=full]244307[/ATTACH]
It just makes no sense why it is so expensive. It is not even perishable so what gives?