Jubilee Dev- Quest for 24hrs Economy begins as Kenya Power slashed night rates by 33%

We took the hard decision to take on debt to finance this projects. Now we have secured our ports, economy and FDI’s in the northern corridor. The future is bright. Luckly for us KRA collections continue to grow by 10% every year commutatively which boosts our development agenda. When all this private, public projects are completed the transformation of citizens lives and economic boom will justify that calculated risk.

Nice

Point of collection…the line to the LTWP is different from the one to Gibe. As a matter of fact, the one to Gibe is a DC line with converter stations at both ends… This is to minimise losses associated with AC transmission due to the long distance over which power is being transmitted.

Ok. Then which line will they use. 2000MW is alot

I need to confirm the carrying capacity for the 500kV DC line to Gibbe but could be anything above 1000MW. The one to LTWP is 400kV AC line evacuating power from the wind farm (300MW) to Suswa.
2000MW is a lot bearing in mind that our peak consumption is currently around 1800MW.

Technically, it is possible without changing the meter. KPLC computers simply link the clock and the account’s consumption, billing night-time use at a lower rate.

Perhaps we will start small and gradually increase as we continue with last mile connections.

I didn’t know that.

We are only buying 400mw. Tz and Rwanda were also interested thats why it was coming to 2000mw. We might not even buy it soon given that we have enough capacity with Ltwp and geothermal coming online next yr.

We need it, its the cheapest power in Africa. 3 cents is very good deal. We can also now electrify our SGR.

In

CORRECTION.The Kenya-Ethiopia interconnector is different,a 500kV HVDC line from Sodo(Ethiopia) direct to Suswa(Kenya).The LTWP line is a 400kV HVAC line direct from Loiyangalani to Suswa.
The Ethiopia line is well on course,infact one lot on our side will be complete by Dec,the other two by April.The DC-AC converter station at Suswa is what will take longer due to complexity…the contractual completion date is 2019.
What is partially true is the wayleave issues with the LTWP line but worst issue of all was the bankruptcy of Isolux,the TL contractors.Fuckers used to blame KETRACO for the tiniest wayleaves issues kumbe they had no money.It all came to light in March 2017 when they filed for bankruptcy at Madrid.

Infact they have already doubled the existing total length of transmission lines for the 9 years since they were incorporated.

The 500kV DC line is rated 2000MW but initial contract for power import is 500MW.

That 500 KV DC line is which one. Suswa to Turkana to LTWP or are they parallel? The route is confusing to me.

From Suswa,the two lines run parallel,separated by atleast 2km(there is a technical reason for this minimum distance).At Rumuruti is where they separate,LTWP one heading NW towards Loiyangalani and the Ethiopia one Northwards towards Sodo.

Asante sana as usual. Was looking at the Mao’s looking for another line lakini sioni.

1. Aah the interesting debate of Economic Growth Vs Economic Development, bearing in mind this is debt financed operations (which I hope will not be ‘eaten’ kama EuroBond).

2. Then at 10% growth, why does K.R.A miss its collection targets yearly? Even Njiraini & Rotich have acknowledged this deficit.

3. Debt Mgt is key in debt financed operations. All in all its a ‘wait & see’ scenario hapa.

Simple. The target is usually an incredible 15%-20% more every year. Which is very optimistic. Last financial year the amount was 1.4 trillion and target was 1.6 trillion. We got 1.5 trillion. A 100 billion increase but still short of target by 100 billion as well. That is good. This financial year the target was more conservative since it was an election year at it was set at 1.7 trillion. In 2013 our collection was 1 trillion.

They are still charged for the same, after reading the master meter reading placed near the transformers.

This will be development if and only if the manufactures pass the benefit of low tariffs to the consumers.
Kenya Power’s margins have been squeezed. Manufacturers will shift to night time production as happened in 1999.

The night tariff had been introduced in 1999/2000 but squeezed Kenya Power’s margins since all large consumers shifted to the off-peak times with the electricity distributor incurring heavy losses and had to be abandoned.

As a peasant Kenya Power shareholder, this is going to affect the company’s income significantly. I try to avoid GoK owned listed companies because of such directives but the quest for dividends sometimes overrides sense.

The Sh6.4 billion defaulted bill came after the Nairobi bourse-listed utility firm failed to pay Sh6 billion for over 60 days and a further Sh473.5 million for over a year.

In the period to June, the company owed KenGen Sh9.1 billion that was within the 40-day repayment window and classified ‘neither past due nor impaired.’

This took Kenya Power’s debt to KenGen to Sh15.7 billion in the year to June, which accounted for 94 per cent of the Sh16.6 billion sitting on KenGen’s balance sheet as trade receivables.

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/economy/Kenya-Power-defaults-Sh6bn-KenGen-bill/3946234-4203534-704s82/index.html