Jubilee government and local media

Patriotism at the expense of truth and objectivity is exactly how fascism begins. Two sides have to be reported on. And don’t give me that BS that ISIS reports are not considered by the press. When ISIS takes responsibility for an attack they report it. They don’t sweep it under the rug. They reported on the torture taking place in Guantanamo bay, when Bush was in power they reported the soldiers who killed innocent civilians, they reported on drone attacks killing innocent bystanders.

All these things are unpatriotic according to your definition of portraying the government in a bad light. Just like Trump you say anything that is against the gov is fake news and try to discredit them. Any wrong done is twisted to make it look less bad.

I have seen some Jubilee supporters dismiss anything that goes against the gov because the truth is they don’t care about a well run gov all they care about is the illusion. So the problem for you is not where the numbers came from it’s that the attacks were even reported.

I think you are wrong. The PD distributes ALL its printed copies. One of the reasons why so many always grab a copy are the betting ‘things’ at the sports pages.

Are you stupid or just pretending? When the Standard reported - straight from the Al Shabaab website - that 67 soldiers had been killed, was that moralor even ethical? WHICH NEWSPAPER IN THE WORLD BASES ITS HEADLINE ON A TERRORIST WEBSITE AND IGNORES THE INFO FROM ITS OWN GAVA?

There is a reason why Babuon’s ‘kasin’ who is now in charge of the Std, Joe Odindo, was kicked out of NMG…

You’re missing the point by a mile …
The “problem for me” is that the local media is neither truthful nor objective:D:D
Now pray do tell, what was truthful and objective about the initial reports on the Kulbiyow attacks?:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

the adverts belongs to the govt, and it can publish them wherever they want. Media houses can’t dictate how and where the govt can publish their ads. And media houses has a right to accept or decline any business deal.
Media should understand they are in business, and you can’t do business with a client hold a gun at his head. Your client is your boss not the other way round as long as you need the job

The end of the corrupt media cartel under the name “media owners association is over” When narc came to power they bought, colluded and acquired licences for their stations across the country. For all those years getting a licence to rival them was harder than getting a casino gaming licence. Next up was corrupting ipsos ratings such that a standard fee is paid to them to keep their high ratings within the membership. If you manage by some stroke of favour get a licence and start broadcasting, you still get 1-2% rating. That meant all advertising never reach you and you soon fold up. In came CS Matiangi and he pushed and implemented digital migration which had been stalled by the cartel for almost a decade. Suddenly licences were available and with a few millions one had a TV station to rival the cartel. So far 80 stations are here and over 1000’s direct jobs created. Content is key and all of a sudden local t.v productions came up to fill the demand. More 1000’s of jobs there created. More choice, knowledge and entertainment to the public. More taxes to the government.

Now what remained is the advertising hold by the cartel to end. For example the top 5 media agencies in Kenya are paid off to get business by the cartel. If not strange to have account managers, media planner, media buyers and top executives of the top advertising businesses colluding. A seminar in Naivasha or Mombasa will do, millions change hands and all of a sudden this station has all the adverts for this product and new entrants nothing. Sometimes they even fight among themselves for the same. What government is doing is not just its own initiative but it’s acting on complains from the new, smaller stations. For example 5 stations took 90% of IEBC advertising spent and same to other government spend. The other 75 stations formed an association to push government for affirmative action to spread the spend fairly as it’s public funds. Government wants to have its own newspaper publication just as it has KBC TV and Radio. It’s own advertising spend can easily maintain them.

Another cartel system under siege.

Guka,

And like a fucking moron, you thoughtlessly adopted the Standard’s fiction as the basis of one of the most premature inshas ever written on Ktalk. You literally plagiarized the numbers and factoids in that story to design your own layman’s blueprint of how the KDF and Jubilee should conduct their military activities.

It is hypocritical of you to suddenly turn against your sources.

Am also wondering what this nonsense is all about. Where have you ever heard a business forcing a client to spend with them? All this ranting and whining is total BS…but of course they are wondering how to plug the gap left by the exit of a very lucrative govt ads.

^^^Kwani you were not here when NMG, Citizen and KTN tried to blackmail the gava - and Kenyans - not to make digital migration? The sense of entitlement with these guys is at another level. I once worked with them as a specialist writer and what I saw, wacha tu.

They treat their workers like shit (a graduate correspondent could take home less than Sh15,000pm, imagine) and can sack you at the drop of a hat. Sexual liaisons between interns and their supervisors was the order of the day and incompetent people would get promoted on the basis of tribe.

Can you imagine drivers would be expected to drop papers as far as Kisumu and Malindi driving on bad roads without medical cover? Yaani you crash into a trailer and you are taken to the nearest district hospital to rot (pay for deres was 10K when gava minimum was 9K!) and yet you work for a blue chip

What you see them write in their editorials is just window-dressing.

Hence my long-running tiff with them.

http://www.capitalfm.co.ke/business/2014/07/people-daily-offers-free-newspaper/

Soma hapo kabla uongee sana. That’s from 3 yrs ago. Somebody here mentioned the current PD numbers as being the highest among local papers.