Kenya Shouldn't be Trusted With a Nuclear Power Plant

The problem with us is not the technical know-how. There are many bright minds that can be trained to run those nuclear things. What ails us is our work ethic and corruption.

barabara, poor drainage, na kuokota takataka zinatushinda hio ndio tutawezana

So solid waste imetushinda nuclear waste ndio tutaweza?

I wonder if there are Chinese/Ethiopians/Nigerians who trash their country the way fellow Kenyans trash ours?
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn%3AANd9GcRziMgmhNmRbX5U8cijnmEkP6or_AMUNugb6xanvbu6R4ZqpsTt
Because airplanes have crushed in other more advanced countries maybe we KnowNothingKenyans should auction our KQ airplanes to cut down on the risks. That’s the logic OP is using here.
It’s a defeatist attitude that holds Kenya back.

You gotta also understand that technology has evolved substantially since Chernobyl.

Some countries are already building Fusion plants which in 30 years will slowly phase out fission plants.

If Kenya wants to tap Nuclear energy they can do so with a small reactor producing 1000-2,000MW.

Also Kenya if it advances in Nuclear Science this is also a big boost for Nuclear Medicines especially for for treating various cancers and uses of nuclear isotopes in medical labs.

And finally we gotta stop this trend of low self esteem. Kenya has at the moment 40 students studying nuclear science in China and South Korea these guys will be the ones ensuring our future success.

600 billion for a nuclear power plant for Kenya is stupidity of the highest order, while other countries like the UK, USA and most of Europe are struggling with nuclear waste that lasts hundreds of years- they being technologically advantaged than us and have more money than us. Even the water cooled reactor our government is proposing has already been proven to be inefficient in terms of it requiring expensive uranium fuel which we will import and it is quite frigile such that small mistakes can result into a meltdown. First, if we are going to have nuclear power, it should be a molten salt reactor which is safer and doesn’t need large amount of water like what they are proposing. Secondly, it uses fuel which is readily available in Kenya and there is no chance of a meltdown ever occurring. Generally, nuclear power is not a good idea for Kenya especially since we have not exhausted other renewable forms of energy such as wind, solar and geothermal. The nuclear waste

the most crucial catalyst that, that moves countries from third world countries to the status of developed countries is energy production. the most effective way of keeping countries poor is by making sure , that their energy sector is under developed.

Nuclear power for Kenya ni ujinga, we don’t need it and we have alternatives plus do you trust Kenya to store and look after the waste for about 300 years, plus why are we running towards nuclear power while most of the countries who have it say it’s a mistake and they are making efforts to move away from it? When others have made a mistake, we should not do the same

But we have not exhausted our alternatives

Wacha kelele mingi naniii. Kuna kitu huitwa trend. The trend in this country has been to mismanage everything but you expect us to somehow master nuclear power? Hata hiyo kusema nuclear energy will be cheaper ni pang’ang’a. That’s what has always been said about geothermal, hydro, the recently proposed coal and the recently launched wind farm. Bei ya stima haitashuka, coz of the many brokers involved.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0c4xk5dB014

How to Make Petrol or Gas from Crude Oil.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Py8-Xy9MKo

Hey I know you aiming me with this . Yes Kenyans can’t be trusted .

1. Something as simple as nyama, you still put poison in it ,
  2. something as simple as stima you find a way to steal tokens ,
  3. something as simple as medication , you find a way to import fake ones from China , 4. something as simple as water you cant supply Nairobi with water despite being blessed with abundant rivers ,
    5 something as simple as food , you find a way to grow them in sewage water
  4. Something as simple as land , you sell same land to 100 people only to find all of them piled up in court
    7… (list goes on and on)
    Most companies that succeed in kenya are ones run by someone who is infusing foreign culure of responsibility in them . Michael Joseph, Bob collymore. Weka kalembe Ndile ndio uone shetani amevaa diaper

For hii idea ni poa

Self negroe hatred, kama wewe huwezi wengine wataweza… stop spreading your inferiority.
If we don’t start now we will never even attempt later

No one has a problem with the technical capacity of Kenyans. What we are raising is the lackadaisical approach to issues adopted by Kenyan civil servants. A typical Kenyan civil servant is a lazy, uninspired, thieving person prepared to cut corners at every turn. You do understand that civil servants and politicians will want to be involved for obvious reasons.
Now you can do that with roads, bridges and hospitals as you have an opportunity to salvage situations. With nuclear energy, you don’t have the luxury of salvaging a situation. You and I know that our technocrats will go for outdated technology in order to raise their cut then boom!!!

Uncle Tom’s, it was claimed that the newly independent African countries could not be allowed to have fighter jet since it was beyond them technology wise.
Seems you aren’t far off what your grandfather’s thought.

How do you explain why we haven’t been crashing airplanes if we are so obtuse?
I would expect Kenya Airways airplanes to be killing people every other week going by your logic and the logic of the OP because he says

After seeing Chernobyl, I’m not sure Kenyans can be trusted with a nuclear power plant. A minor negligence issue can cause a nuclear meltdown.

And so many Kenyans today have private planes and helicopters (2014 we had over 400 Kenyans) and we can go for months before hearing accidents.
Wealthy Kenyans push number of registered planes to 1,268 - Business Daily

But in Kenya its corruption which is keeping us poor.

So you’re comparing civil servants who are lazy with trained people?

Even right now they’re men and women maintaining the Olkaria wells which produce electricity for this country. They’re trained people who must ensure plant operations are safe so accidents like a pipe exploding and killing people with flash steam.

On the matter of nuclear power plants and staff running them need to be professionals with security clearances. It’s not a joke. Kenya will have the necessary staff to run them when the time comes. If not the people who’ll build the plant will hire people to run them…