Kenyans loathe hospital staff.

I once stopped for hours at the A&E section of one of the hospitals and i can tell u its extremely gory, graphic and traumatic…how these nurses and docs manage to eat and sleep…wacha tu. But all in all…its their calling, its their office wacha waendelee na job bila kuongelesha raia vibaya.

It is true that health-care specialists (especially doctors and nurses) have to deal with a lot: nasty wounds, dead bodies, infectious diseases, intensely emotional situations (like a dying patient for whom nothing can be done - double sadness if it’s a child), puke, shit and other bodily fluids, heavy workloads, little salo and lots of rude patients. A thick skin must be acquired if one is to cope.

Having said that, though; you must also acknowledge that some are veeeeery rude and vent their frustrations on their patients. Maybe you (and a great many more) are truly committed to your work and its ideals; sadly though, it is in human nature to use the lowest common denominator when judging a people and/or situation. Don’t take it to heart, it’s not only health-care professionals who are unappreciated - matatu people, boda-boda guys, cops… there’s enough to go around.

Kenyatta hospital

I don’t expect non-medical professionals to resonate with this. We go through such every day,it is only God’s sufficient grace that ensures we are calm despite lack of appreciation of numerous and countless sacrifices many medics make to patients and clients.

Tell us exactly what you lack ,are you overwhelmed, underpaid, do you lack equipment. …is it politics
May experience or my view is
1 health care shouldn’t have been devolved
2 National government don’t value our health care personal
3 the neighbouring counties machakos , kajiando etc invested in buying ambulances to ferry patients to Kenyatta
4 the transition Authority should have ensured all the 47 counties have structures put up for referral hospitals and the National Government equip these hospitals before devolving the health sector.
5 …add on these !!

Every profession has its challenges, and when few problems are amplified, it affects even the good/ hard working/ innocent ones. Take an example of the police force, specifically the traffic dept; can you claim you’ve never been pissed by them, and generalised their mistakes? We all label them as corrupt; even when there are probably exceptions within them; are the hard working/ good ones frustrated by that? Probably yes… But then what, should that make you do exactly what you’re being accused of (lazy, ignorant, arrogant etcetera)? Will that make you feel better or worse?
Cha muhimu ni kuchapa kazi; you are not doing it for others to appreciate you but because it is your job…

No,no mulizoea nini,opening side hassles, chemists. .kuona watu wakifa ? Please fungua roho !

Most health care professionals are rude.

story of my life, i go through this to earn my daily bread, and I must add that its hard earned cash.

True… Non medics will never understand our predicaments…

Hata sisi pia tunapitia shida kama hizo

I can fully support you on this. They tend to look down on patients most of the times. I have noticed a great difference between public hospitals and church-run hospitals. And this has nothing to do with the workload because they behave the same way whether they are attending to just a few people or many.

were it not of my fear for blood and stitching people i would be a plastic surgeon .

I agree. Nurses comprise the largest percentage of HRH. They tend to project their frustrations on the people they should be taking care of. But it is rare for a Doc to be rude to a patient, caregiver or guardian. But then again, we draw our health care workers from the general population. Just the same way we have careless, inconsiderate, loving, kind etc people, the same are found in health care.

Health care professionals ought to be taken through a compulsory mentorship programme immediately after college before being posted by the government. This mentorship should be in selected hospitals where finesse is practised and aimed at purely interpersonal skills. Its only in public hospitals that you find a medic who is within the first hour after leave and is acting all tired and rude already.

The problem is under-staffing and those old women. They are the rude ones. they should be retrained. Doctors have never been rude to me. those others(COs and nurses) have the potential to be rude. COs can be especially rude.

Nyinyi waganga? o_O:confused:

Iko mnyama anaitwa “stool sample”

Yet to meet a medical professional who does not address you with so much condescension you feel like slapping the hell out of them…for Christ sake nobody forced you into this profession…bure kabisa…

Huyu Si ni mchawi