Late Bashir secretly moved mirrions to Somalia.

hakuna kitu ya maana umesema… kinda expected though; your people never have a stand on anything… the real watermelon

Maliza hio Swara…

hii watu ni kama natahiriwa jikoni

The most successful country in counterterrorism is Israel. The mossad and the Shin Bet will tell you that in order to effectively deal with terrorist organisations you go for their top leaders and their enablers. Why play hide and seek with Alshabaab footsoldiers in the jungles while you can get their financiers living and doing business in the open.

The Kenyan intelligence and security forces have been trying to employ some of the Israeli counterterrorism strategy. Its called Liquidation. Basically a suspect is as good as dead once the intelligence ascertains that they are a big enough threat.

You folks should read books written about the Mossad and the details of all their counterterrorism and espionage cases. Then you will realise that Kenya’s intelligence and security system is like child play.

For instance,not many Kenyans even heard about this case but it is the Israelis who helped in arresting these Iranian terrorist suspects.

Killing a leader is used in ending all kinds of rebellions not just terrorism but killing a leader of a well organised group does not work. they will replace him and things will move on like normal

Na huyu Johansen Oduor, how does he sleep at night? After doing postmoterms on countless bodies bearing marks of human brutality and unyama. Does he believe in god, is he religious, does he believe in good and evil…ama just evil pekee yake. This guy should, and must have top notch psychiatrists and psychologists on speed dial and priority basis.

Waah, some jobs banae…:confused::confused:

For once I have liked you,it tells alot about that guy.Iko wapi mabaki ya Idd.Mimi niko mbaya saidi,I mean in terms of money

K

Kimakia funda

How have you not connected the Okuyos to this incident

Enlighten us. We are all ears

By targeted assassination you are reducing the capability of the organisation. Common sense should tell you that a charismatic leader or a big financier are not easy to replace. This fact applies in all spheres of life, not just to terrorist organisations in this case. We have seen numerous corporations go under because of a change of leadership.

So what’s the best strategy according to you?

Bashir may not even have had links with Al shabaab nor terrorist funding. He was probably a major money launderer for top gov officials in som.

The article states he used to receive mills from gov officials in som, then he would channel even more mills back to the same people but in different accounts. He probably collected the extra mills from som business people here in kenya.

The terror links are being touted coz see in som, politicians earn their positions in gov not by the number of votes you bring to the table, but rather the number of guns and gunmen that you control. Basically, how strong is your militia!!

These militias switch alliances the same way that you change your sidechick, and seeing as there was a major standoff in som juzi juzi concerning presi dential term, the negitiations were not done in a boardroom by politicians wielding pens, rather by militia commanders who were willing to switch sides and gang up with al shabaab should the talks fail. You will most likely find that, these militia commanders/owners are the people Bashir was laundering money for.

They killed godane in 2014, it did nor result in crippling al shabaab. See al shabaab is a case study in terrorist groups the world over, theyre the only ones, after the taliban, who conquer territory and actually try to govern it. Compare with boko haram…

Replacing a prematurely killed leader brings alot of divisions during the replacement period leading to sub groups hence rivalry.

The problem with Somalia is that the line is blurred between who is a government official and who is working for Alshabaab. Haven’t you heard of people say that the Somali National Army works for the Government during the day and at night they switch allegiance and turn into Alshabaab fighters.

Just an example, the current head of National intelligence in Somalia is a well known former Alshabaab commander. This man was working for Alshabaab just recently and now he is working for the government. As an outsider, how do you trust such a government? Rumour mills are saying that the Bashir guy had dealings with this Somali head of intelligence.

Alshabaab has affiliates and moles and double agents who have infiltrated all levels of Somalia’s government including the parliament. That is how hopeless and dire the situation is in Somalia.

The fighters are expendable, the financiers… not that much

Exactly my point, this guys switch allegiances like you change underwear, and al shabaabs Amniyat, Intelligence wing, as you said has infiltrated all levels of their gov, there’s no knowing who is who…

Checking on usa public records, Bashir was in 2014 indicted for Food Stamps Fraud alongside 3 other somalis. Most likely in the hundreds of thousands USD’s.

Probably learnt the money laundering game in the states, and came here to continue. Only here, we use handcuffs and courts as a last resort!

I would mourn if my cat or dog was dead, not a Somali. Nobody cares except his family. Admin go get fucked with your speculation

Has the strategy worked for Al shabaab? I am mostly against these killings because we dont get to hear the whole story. We dont know he was working with in Kenya and Somalia. A trial would have helped us unearth more info